We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Lakeside Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Lovely Lakeside Lodge”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Every year my husband and I (and now our two children) celebrate our wedding anniversay by staying at Lakeside Lodge. We have, for the last 10 years, never been disappointed by the service, the accommodation, the facilities, the spectacular setting and the abundant bird life. We consider the lodge our very special home away from home.

Room Tip: The honeymoon room is heavenly and ideal for couples. We always stayed there before our children cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GudrunRudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    12
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
50
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was an amazing B&B. There were four of us travelling in our group and we found Lakeside Lodge to be so friendly, clean with an abundance of birds for our 'birdwatching' friends. Jean and her husband could not have been more helpful and informative, making us feel very relaxed and completely at ease. I can not recommend this place enough. Thank you for making part of our holiday so special. Jo, Dean, Vron and Ricky.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BedfordshireChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Lakeside was our Garden Route gem. We travelled all the way to Sedgefield from Capetown in one day. We took a detour en route to Ronnie's Sex Shop- it's not what you think!! Well worth a visit.
Our welcome at Lakeside was splendid. A glass of sherry in beautiful surroundings within minutes of our arrival. Our rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean and the sunken bath a delight after a long journey. We spent a pleasant evening at a local restaurant which had been recommended and booked for us by Jean, our hostess.
It was difficult to tear ourselves away from the abundance of birds and amazing view the next morning. After a very hearty breakfast, we made our way to walk with the elephants not far from Lakeside. A very worthwhile trip where we felt the elephants were being properly treated. Onwards to Plettenburg Bay for a delicious lunch before returning to our b&b where we made use of the residents lounge. A very relaxing end to our hectic day.
For 'twitchers' this is a superb place to while away some early morning and late afternoon hours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acrepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

One of the most stunning places on the Garden Route. You really can't beat waking up to a view at Lakeside Lodge. The staff are fantastic, very accommodating, friendly and full of great tips and advice on what to do around the area. Only a few minutes away from the beach and about a half an hour away from Knysna and George, its perfectly placed. I really can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bozsedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I spent 2 days and nights at the lodge with my family and boyfriend (who is from Europe) and it was unreal! Best way to show off what SA has to offer, coupled with excellent hospitalilty! We had an amazing time and will most definately be returning to the lodge int he future!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem pretty perfect to me with an excellent view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We recently spent a night at Lakeside Lodge (my wife, daughter of 7 and son of nearly 4, and I). Wow, what an exquisite setting! Service was excellent, breakfast superb and activities varied. We played tennis, "golf" and canoed; sat around soaking up the surroundings, braaied in the shade, swam in the pool; even played billiards. One night away felt like a week. Returned fully charged and enriched. Can highly recommend it. A real jewel of the Garden Route. Peacful and exquisite!

Room Tip: All rooms are well situated – with views over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travels_on_dirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Lakeside Lodge is located on a beautiful lake, near Knysna and George. The location makes it easy to take day trips and return to the quiet and reinvigorating lodge.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3900Highland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
21.0 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
11.9 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
16.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
18.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
17.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Lodge & Spa

Property: Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Address: 3 Lakeside Drive | Swartvlei, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the magnificent Wilderness National Park amidst lush vegetation, Lakeside Lodge & Spa literally is situated on the banks of the beautiful Swartvlei Lake. The Lodge & Spa is unique and offers luxury accommodation. Lakeside Lodge & Spa is truly a wonderful place to escape from city life so simply kick back and enjoy. We offer the following facilities: We have the Benguela Brasserie at the lodge. The Brasserie is open 7 days a week from 8 am for breakfast right the way through the day until 9.00 pm. Serving a delicious local menu and wines at cellar door prices from The Benguela Cove Lagoon Wine Estate. Lakeside Lodge & Spa is fully licensed for your enjoyment. The rooms are all luxurious and include full bathrooms, free standing baths and 2 of the rooms have spa baths. Every bedroom has a large walk in shower. Complimentary luxury toiletries and soft fluffy white towels fresh every day. The rooms all have king size beds, beautiful linen, flat screen TVs, minibar, safe, air conditioning, fans, Nespresso coffee, alarm clocks and music. The bedrooms are all beautifully decorated, with luxurious linen and every bedroom is Lake facing. The Lodge has its own spa so why not treat yourself to a massage? In addition to these facilities Lakeside Lodge & Spa being a water retreat has its own jetty and hotel guests are welcome to bring their own boats (sail, power, jet ski). The lodge has shallow water launch facilities and deep-water facilities close by. Secure boat parking. The lodge also have a number of mountain bikes for the complimentary use of our guests as well as canoes, kayaks, windsurfers, a pontoon boat, a speed boat and fishing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakeside Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing