We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Pine Lake Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Lake Marina
Ranked #5 of 12 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I recommend that your front line staff should be better trained in order to handle guest bookings especially in terms of listening what the guest's needs are. Also follow up on email requests and sending confirmation of bookings is poor. I booked on 29/01/2014, paid m y deposit and by 4/2/2013 had not received any confirmation as yet. I had to phone in to confirm my booking.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tilly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Tilly O,

Thanks for letting us know about your experience. As I am sure the reservations staff have informed you we switched to a new reservation system late in January, during this process there was a lot of work required to ensure the existing bookings were brought across correctly.

This caused our reservations staff to respond more slowly to enquiries than is the norm. Things are settling down now and our first class personal service should have resumed.

The new system should automatically have sent an email confirmation to you and if you had not received it, we apologise as this would clearly have been either a system glitch, or perhaps a reservationist noted down the email address incorrectly.

We hope when making your next booking with us the experience will be a much smoother one!

Kind regards,

Team Pine Lake Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 160 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

What a great place the new years bash was great at the beach front it must be seen so go over the season time and experience it.the only thing is you get about all the the problrms in your life and enjoy the view the air and so on

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmDVDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear MalcolmDVDS,

Thank you very much for your kind review - we are glad you enjoyed New Years with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Pine Lake Marina used to be such a lovely and popular resort. It is still hosted in such a lovely area wich offers amazing scenery.

During our recent visit we were really disappointed with the level of service.

On arrival we were never informed that cleaning services are additional. We arrived on a Friday and no cleaning was done over the weekend. Monday the 16th was a public holiday and yet no cleaning was done. Tuesday we went out for the day hoping/ expecting the unit to be cleaned on our return, only to found that nothing was done. On further enquiry on Wednesday I was told that cleaning was not included. I only afterwards noticed from the T&C that cleaning is excluded. I assume that Pine Lake Marine is still affiliated to RCI but I have to add that the standard and services are very unlike RCI.
To our total dismay we were also bitten by lice and decided to rather leave on the Thursday. We will never ever visit this resort again. It is such a pity as it used to be such a lovely place. At first I was quite surprised to see that the resort was relatively quiet especially considering the time of year. I now realise that it is probably as a result of the standard of service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RouxvanVuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear RouxvanVuren,

Thank you for your review, we apologise that you did not read the terms correctly and thus there was an expectation gap regarding the cleaning. Whilst Pine Lake Marina was wholly timeshare let cleaning was included (and still is for our existing timeshare clients).

However for short term reservations cleaning is optional and can thus be added seperately. The first half of February was actually very busy, with a large function included during that period.

We use an external pest control company - to monitor and service the resort continually. We hope your claims were reported at the time, which would have allowed us to investigate and rectify the situation.

We disagree with the standard of service you mention, as we always aim to keep our guests happy and do anything within our power to keep guests happy.

Inspite of your complaints we hope that these minor issue will not put you off visiting us again and hope to make your next experience with us a good one.

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Pinelake offers beautiful scenery, lots of water activities,and activities for the kids.The pools are great too.My kids really enjoyed fun on the lake.But what puts this down is the chalets and the service you get.We arrived on an extremely hot day only to find the fans only work on a low setting.It has webs and spiders galore and the damp was alot too.The rates are extremely high for bathrooms that dont even have any tap mixers or even a hand shower.We were made to move rooms because of our room being booked, but no one actually came to stay there,.We were requested twice to pay an outstanding amount , which had already been paid few weeks before we arrived.The staff clearly dont know what is goin on, they dont return phonecalls when you need anything and cant assist you in any way.Chalet pictures on website are deceiving.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zubair786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Zubair786,

Thank you for your review - we see you have a flair for the dramatic with that headline.

The chalets are kept in good condition and if their was a problem, we hope you reported it and the matter would have been resolved quickly.

Regarding the outstanding payment requests - this related to an incorrect reference number being used on your payment reference and thus caused problems linking these to the correct booking.

There is always someone available and willing to assist on our number 044 349 2200 - please use this number if you do not have the correct one.

The pictures on the website are actual photos and have not been altered - therefore we completely reject the idea that these are misleading. There are also 185 chalets, which makes depicting them on a website quite a challenge, considering we have 13 different styles of chalets.

We hope you return in future and that the rest of your experience in the Garden Route was a good one!

Kind Regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Pinelake Marina is a good alternative to a hotel, especially if you have kids with. The place is large, has sufficient activities and amenities to keep the Kids occupied on off days from exploring the surrounding areas. It is about a 20 min drive to Knysna, a 5-8 min drive from the Wilderness and about a 40 minute drive from Plettenberg Bay. All in all, it was a good place to base ourselves for exploring the area.
The Marina is wonderful if you have your own boat, as the lake is quite large. If not, book very early or you will not be able to secure a rental boat when you check in. There is an excellent Gym, Games Room, Warm Water Pool and a Spa. You have to pay for the gym. For the price we paid, I felt that access to the gym should have been complementary.
The resort is also very family oriented and safe for children.

Room Tip: The Chalets L1 to L13 Lack privacy as they are along the main road of the Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 987293872983riufwenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear 987293872983riufwenc,

Thank you very much for your review. Since we are located in the heart of the Garden Route, it allows our guests to easily explore this beautiful part of South Africa.

We charge the nominal fee for the gym usage for two reasons, firstly it means people respect the equipment and are less likely to abuse the area. Secondly it also helps us recover the access cards, which people tend to walk off with when there is no charge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon!

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

There really is something to do for everyone(young & old)-we really enjoyed our stay.The shop provides you with everything you forgot at home at reasonable prices. Next time we will definitely stay longer. Thank you Pine Lake Marina for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moemeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Moemeena,

Thank you very much for your kind words and time taken to post a review of your experience at Pine Lake Marina.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the activities on offer. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

It is our second year at Pine Lake Marina. It is a wonderful holiday resort for the whole family. Very secure environment!!!! Ideal for boating and jet-skiing. Friendly, helpfull staff. We shall come back every year. Try it!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Dalena F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and encouraging others to try a holiday with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
17.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.7 mi away
Lake Pleasant Living
Lake Pleasant Living
#3 of 22 in Sedgefield
182 reviews
7.5 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 22 in Sedgefield
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Swartvlei Equestrian Estate
Swartvlei Equestrian Estate
#4 of 22 in Sedgefield
14 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bushbuck Camp
Bushbuck Camp
#9 of 22 in Sedgefield
10 reviews
4.1 mi away
Shearwater On Sea
Shearwater On Sea
#11 of 22 in Sedgefield
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Marina

Address: Pine Lake Marina Resort | N2, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range: $50 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lake Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Lake Marina (SATOUR 3 star graded) is a self-catering family orientated holiday resort situated on the banks of the spectacular Swartvlei Lake, outside Sedgefield - in the heart of the Garden Route, South Africa. Rates include a variety of activities, for example, tennis, squash, kayaking, pedalos, mini-golf, etc. that can be done on site, whilst the location means it is a short drive to explore all that this wonderful area has to offer! Swimming beaches are close by and the area offers an abundance of activities to enjoy including Mountain Biking; Bungee Jumping; Paragliding; kite-surfing; Trail Running; .The newly completed conference centre and restaurant offers a beautiful setting for weddings and other functions at very affordable rates.Across the road there is an associated short golf course, The Sedge Links - where you can improve your short-game or learn the game for the first time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Pine Lake Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Marina Hotel Sedgefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing