We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Pine Lake Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pine Lake Marina
Ranked #4 of 12 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Me and my family have been coming to pinelake now for 3years running and is still coming again and again.The service we receive were always awesome and don't let me start on the scenery as well as the accomadation.Its a place away from home where u always feel at home.I will recommend this to everyone cause me and my family will be coming back to pinelake marina for many years to come.Thanks to all the staff and management of pinelake marina for making us feel like family.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear DavidX3,

Thank you very much for your kind words - we really do appreciated such great feedback and we are really glad to hear you enjoy your time spent with us!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    30
    16
    4
See reviews for
104
18
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

There is a great deal for the family to do and the facilities are very clean and tidy. The units are small. The one-bedroom "Giraffes" have a sleeper couch in the lounge. Their info clearly states that the couch is not meant for 2 adults but even 2 children will find it uncomfortable. It is a fold-down couch with a steel bar about a third of the way across which means everytime you roll into the groove with the bar, you wake up. Children under 6 might find it more comfortable. Then because they keep the bedding for the couch as well as the broom, mop, dustpan, bucket + ironing board in the wardrobe downstairs, there is no space for the children's clothes. You can either keep it in your suitcases or have the bedding and cleaning equipment all over the place. Tight squeeze into the upstairs shower - the floor pan is 62cm2 measured from the inside.The property was deserted during the Easter school holidays. Very eerie to have to walk around at night with lamp lights too far apart as no other lights from units were available. We were the only occupied unit in our "circle". Staff go out of their way to avoid eye-contact and a greeting -from housekeeping to those riding around in their golf carts. The latter glare as if you are trespassing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bapetikosweti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Bapetikosweti,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Pine Lake Marina. We have discussed your remarks regarding the sleeper couches and we are taking action by lowering the suggested ages for people sleeping on them.

Regarding the space for the children's clothes we will have a look at this, although the shelves in the downstairs wardrobe should be sufficient, we will have a look at the other items mentioned that are kept in this wardrobe and see if we can possibly arrange it differently to provide more space for storage.

Thank you for your note on the cleanliness - we have worked hard on this and we are happy that it is being noticed.

We will have a look at the street light issue and are considering solar-street lamps as we do have electricity constraints and need to keep consumption in mind, but it is a good point. We have also endeavoured to place guests closer together when the resort is more quiet as this will improve the atmosphere and feel of the resort.

We have addressed staff about the perceived attitude you mentioned and are quite surprised by your experience, since they are usually one of our greatest assets - with their friendly and warm attitude receiving regular praise. We will however reinforce the message that a smile is free.

In summary thank you for your notes we have truly taken them to heart and hope the next time you visit we will have made the necessary improvements and that your stay then will be 100% satisfactory!

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Good facilities, plenty of accommodation to choose from, good activities for whole family. plenty of water recreation activities however weather or wind dependant, best time during week can become a bit crowded over weekends., closed to big towns or cities like Knysna and George.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place has a lot to offer. Relaxing holiday spirit is there in abundance. People at reception are friendly and helpful, the place is clean and there is so much to do!

We enjoyed it very much and plan to go there again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were a family of six and had the most awesome time at Pine Lake Marina. From getting there a few hours early we were warmly welcomed and was given access even if it was not our time to book in. All the facilities was fantastic and my kids cant stop talking about it. The money we spent on this holiday was money well spent. We would definately be back this year between 6-12Dec if still available.
The only problem that we had was that it was too hot in the top main bedroom and couldnt sleep. Our room number was A04. I suggest that airconditions be installed in the top rooms.
Well done all staff at Pine Lake Marina ....

Room Tip: Airconditioners to be installed in top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farouk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, General Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Mr Farouk and Family
Thank you very much for the kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Pine Lake Marina and hope to see you again soon.
We are continuously upgrading the resort to make the guests stay even more enjoyable. Unfortunatly we will not be able to install aircons as the resort has electricity supply constraints. It was also exceptionally hot in December.
We wish you and your family a brilliant 2013.
Kind Regards
Leon Vermeulen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Poor service received telephonically whilst enq about the housekeeping. The staff assisting at "pinevibes" restuarant and the grocery store are impolite and seemed irritated when helping customers. For the amount of money one pays to reside here and travelling from far one's expectations are higher.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tkd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, General Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear tdk78,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback it is greatly appreciated.

We have taken up the matter regarding the attitude of the staff members, in the departments you mentioned. It may have appeared that they were discorteous, but we assure you of their best intentions at all times, they really do try to keep our customers happy and in fact we have received glowing feedback from a number of customers based solely on our staff's behaviour and helpfulness.

However we will use your feedback to ensure that there are no slips in our standards and will endeavour to improve our customer service standards further this year.

We hope that next time you visit you will notice a marked improvement. We hope you visit us again soon!

Regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love Pine Lake Marina, everything is one place. Bicycles, clubhouse, 2 pools, gym, kids playground. Love to be on the paddle boats and just sit in the middle of the lake and watch the cars go by on the highway. Restaurant is awesome. It's close to Sedgefield, Wilderness, George and an enjoyable day outing to Knysna Heads. If you don't want to leave the resort you can because everything is there, and if you want to drive out every day, you can do that to, Mossel Bay is not too far off, and try to go to Jukani Predator's park, just outside Mossel Bay. Chalets are always clean, and the wonderful ladies who cleaned our chalets didn't hesitate to bring extra blankets. We always leave big tips, because they make the stay worthwhile. There's nothing better than smelling all the BBQ's (oops I mean braais) at night. After living outside the country for 9 years, it's always nice coming back to Pine Lake Marina, even my American husband enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H-Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
100 reviews
4.1 mi away
Shearwater On Sea
Shearwater On Sea
#8 of 20 in Sedgefield
41 reviews
4.1 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 20 in Sedgefield
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 20 in Sedgefield
425 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sedgefield
71 reviews
17.4 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#33 of 104 in Knysna
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Marina

Property: Pine Lake Marina
Address: Pine Lake Marina Resort | N2 (Swartvlei exit), Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lake Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Lake Marina (SATOUR 3 star graded) is a self-catering family orientated holiday resort situated on the banks of the spectacular Swartvlei Lake, outside Sedgefield - in the heart of the Garden Route, South Africa. Rates include a variety of activities, for example, tennis, squash, kayaking, pedalos, mini-golf, etc. that can be done on site, whilst the location means it is a short drive to explore all that this wonderful area has to offer! Swimming beaches are close by and the area offers an abundance of activities to enjoy including Mountain Biking; Bungee Jumping; Paragliding; kite-surfing; Trail Running; .The newly completed conference centre and restaurant offers a beautiful setting for weddings and other functions at very affordable rates.Across the road there is an associated short golf course, The Sedge Links - where you can improve your short-game or learn the game for the first time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pine Lake Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Marina Hotel Sedgefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing