We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything in one place”
Review of Pine Lake Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Lake Marina
Ranked #4 of 12 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything in one place”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love Pine Lake Marina, everything is one place. Bicycles, clubhouse, 2 pools, gym, kids playground. Love to be on the paddle boats and just sit in the middle of the lake and watch the cars go by on the highway. Restaurant is awesome. It's close to Sedgefield, Wilderness, George and an enjoyable day outing to Knysna Heads. If you don't want to leave the resort you can because everything is there, and if you want to drive out every day, you can do that to, Mossel Bay is not too far off, and try to go to Jukani Predator's park, just outside Mossel Bay. Chalets are always clean, and the wonderful ladies who cleaned our chalets didn't hesitate to bring extra blankets. We always leave big tips, because they make the stay worthwhile. There's nothing better than smelling all the BBQ's (oops I mean braais) at night. After living outside the country for 9 years, it's always nice coming back to Pine Lake Marina, even my American husband enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H-Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    30
    16
    4
See reviews for
104
18
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had the recent pleasure of spending a week at Pine Lake Marina. Sadly it was our last after 27 years. It was also a celebration as this holiday proved to be’ THE’ holiday of a lifetime.
The water pipes in another unit were being fixed and the water turned off in the surrounding units. Unfortunately the plug was left in the basin upstairs, the tap was not properly closed and we received a call that our Unit had been flooded after the water was turned on.
We arrived back to find everything had been dried, all the downstairs furniture removed and the non-personal items transferred to an adjacent Chalet. Assistance was also offered to help transfer our personal things across.
My wife has an allergic reaction to feathers, and this attention to detail was appreciated as the new unit had already had non feather- bedding fitted. Hooray for the personal touch and the attention to detail!
The facilities are still very good and the new boathouse block will be enjoyed by this family as our grandson who has his Springbok colours for sailing, will be sailing at Pine Lake in December.
Our time-share contracts have now expired but we shall definitely becoming back to rent a holiday. Well done Pine Lake, definitely a “Home from Home”
Michael & Jeanette Magee

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, General Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Michael and Jeanette,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback! It is great to hear that a potentially negative situation could be resolved quickly and make for a positive experience. We are very proud of our friendly and helpful staff - their spirit is what makes the resort different from many other places!

We are excited about sailing on the Swartvlei Lake and hope that the new centre will help to make those events memorable and help to develop sailors that can in future compete at the Olympics! The SA RS Tera team have done brilliantly at the World Championships this year and last year and we hope that their progress can contnue! We are hosting the RS Tera World Championships at Pine Lake Marina in 2014 and will do our best to make the event a huge success and promote South Africa as a sailing destination for Northern Hemisphere sailors (perhaps during their winter time).

Good luck to your grandson with his sailing endeavors, we hope he does well in December.

We look forward to seeing you at the resort again soon!

Regards,
Team PLM!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Fantastic. Everything was perfect. I will recommend this to everyone

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words, I will pass on your message to all the staff, who will be happy to hear their efforts are appreciated.

We hope to see you back here soon!

Regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I'm really surprised to hear any negative reviews about Pinelake Marina as my wife and I just spent 2 wonderful nights at the resort and it was absolute bliss !

We did arrive during the off-season and most guests had already left by that time, but the resort and room facilities, as well as the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff made it such a pleasure to stay at the resort. With the host of activities, scenic splendour and overall affordability - this was one little break that will definitely feature on my "Places-to-return-to" list.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoekiesass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

What is it about Pinelake that attracts kids? I am tired of visiting Pinelake, but the kids just want to keep on going back. The kids have a habit of comparing Pinelake to other places we visit.

I am very disappointed as Pinelake recently closed the restaurant on the lake side. No more buffet sea food.

What I like about Pinelake is that it’s so peaceful yet has so many activities within the resort for both adults and kids. Outside of the resort I spend hours exploring its many mountain biking trails. The locals in Sedgefield and Wilderness really go the extra mile caring for the tourist visitors. They pros at working the tourist dollar. Also it’s very safe for the kids. They only report back to Chalet when they hungry. The staff at the lake also takes good care of the kid’s safety when they canoe or peddle boat.

In Wilderness I visit a tourist information shop located next to a Caltex garage opposite the Spar looking for a map of biking trails. The shop did not have any maps, but the assistant called a friend who directed him to a website to print a map from the internet. Free

Nice

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank excitetaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We found the accomodation very comfortable, the kitchen was really well equiped - they had though of everything. Nice bedding and towels. Staff were very friendly. Lots ot do with our little one - pools, playgrounds - even took him out on the boat. Had a wonderful facial at the beautician.

We were there off season so the resort was really peaceful in the week we did find it a bit noisy on the weekend, cars hooting, loud shouting all before the quiet time of 11 but after we had put our little one down for the evening. The one other thing that did bother us a bit was that there was no supervision by the heated pools - kids were running and jumping into the crowded pool where our little one was swimming with us. Also found people swimming in their underwear and clothing rather than a bathing costumes a bit off putting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Its a great place to enjoy a get away,its siuteable fr the hole family,great ficlities for the hole fal,and u can ejoy what they offer u there,its always nice enjoying the geta way at Pine Lake .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chakeera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
100 reviews
17.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.1 mi away
Shearwater On Sea
Shearwater On Sea
#7 of 21 in Sedgefield
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 21 in Sedgefield
260 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sedgefield
71 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lake Pleasant Living
Lake Pleasant Living
#3 of 21 in Sedgefield
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Marina

Property: Pine Lake Marina
Address: Pine Lake Marina Resort | N2 (Swartvlei exit), Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lake Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Lake Marina (SATOUR 3 star graded) is a self-catering family orientated holiday resort situated on the banks of the spectacular Swartvlei Lake, outside Sedgefield - in the heart of the Garden Route, South Africa. Rates include a variety of activities, for example, tennis, squash, kayaking, pedalos, mini-golf, etc. that can be done on site, whilst the location means it is a short drive to explore all that this wonderful area has to offer! Swimming beaches are close by and the area offers an abundance of activities to enjoy including Mountain Biking; Bungee Jumping; Paragliding; kite-surfing; Trail Running; .The newly completed conference centre and restaurant offers a beautiful setting for weddings and other functions at very affordable rates.Across the road there is an associated short golf course, The Sedge Links - where you can improve your short-game or learn the game for the first time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Pine Lake Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Marina Hotel Sedgefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing