We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good activities but the accomodation is a big let down.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pine Lake Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pine Lake Marina
Ranked #4 of 13 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Good activities but the accomodation is a big let down.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Please bare in mind that I'm not a person that stays in 5*accomodation when I go away on holiday. Overall we enjoyed pinelakes only because, they have water sports, more than one swimming pool and indoor games ....so there is lots for children to do...they don't get bored.
Also the staff are very helpful and friendly.
What let it down was the apartments......the windows were filthy! The kitchen stove was full of fat and grease, the cutlery had dried food stains on there - so your 1st day is spent cleaning up and settling in.
They have a dampness problem, it looks like the apartments have not been painted in a long time
The showers are rusty. There are spider webs everywhere.
I have been to other self catering cottages that are now old, but have been maintained well and kept clean....so for that reason I won't be returning to pinelake marina. Maybe stay some where else and spend the day there.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazminkarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
shazminkarim - Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

We are glad you enjoyed the activities at Pine Lake Marina, we recently acquired some new kayaks which makes exploring the Swartvlei Lake a lot of fun. We have some new pedalos on the way to, but they will only be arriving in May from overseas.

We appologise for the cleanliness issue - this is not the standard we expect to set and we have informed our housekeeping department and they have dealt with the matter accordingly. There must have been some slip up, because all the windows were cleaned just before your stay for a large group who had their conference and team building here.

We have embarked on a maintenance programme and the waterfront cabanas are in the process of being painted, tiled, etc. We hope that these changes will improve your experience at Pine Lake Marina in the future. We have done a lot of work on the overall resort in the two years since we have taken over and we are trying to make it a value for money experience.

Hopefully see you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    33
    30
    14
    4
See reviews for
99
16
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have never experienced bad service at pinelake each and every time we holiday there. We have now made pinelake our family holiday destination as it has everything to offer. Service is great! Always willing to go the extra mile.. I'm sure once a person has been to pinelake u'll get hooked.. Like our family.. If we think holiday/weekend get-away we think Pinelake!
We have just returned a few days ago back from our week long holiday at pinelake and I am already thinking about booking our next stay soon ;)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aamierah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

I would choose this holiday resort out of 10 as my no.1 place. It is relaxing and amazing view as well astheir activities for all ages. My rate out of 10 is definately 10 out of 10... Pine Lake Marina you ROCK!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rifies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

You must be the SADEST people alive!!!

I’ve been visiting Pine Lake Marine for the past 22 years! It most definitely has changed for the better and NOT AND I REPEAT MYSELF NOT FOR THE WORSE since the new owners have taken over the last 2jaar years.

My kids love Pine Lake Marina. They have lots of things to do there to keep them busy. There’s a new gym, heated pools and a fabulous restaurant. They even have a De Vette Mossel (they have 18 dishes to choose from). What more do you need???



I would recommend Pine Lake Marina to anyone! ;-)

Room Tip: Tis place is the BEST EVER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

The resort has changed very little since the first time my family And I visited it 20 years ago. The cleaning staff is very polite and helpful; the reception staff is not friendly and upon visiting the reception they would continue with whatever they're doing without looking at us. Most of the time the jacuzzi's were not working and dirty because of poor maintenance; in fact, one jacuzzi was permanently out of use. Water and electricity supply was disrupted on two occasions without prior notice or apology. The sliding door in the unit was faulty and even though it was reported it was not attended to. The equipment at the lake such as the paddle boats, life jackets and canoes is either broken or poorly maintained with little or no control by staff on the issuing of boating equipment and lifejackets. This is a safety risk and must be urgently addressed. The braai areas at the units are basic with no protection from the sun or rain.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cedricfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Cedric - thanks for letting us know about your stay, even though there is definite room for improvement.

I would have to disagree with your comment that the resort has changed very little! There is now a brand new conference and restaurant facility, the piazza with shop, sports bar, new gym, heated pool, etc. Not to mention clean water inside the units (with the installation of a reverse osmosis plant), new putt putt course, new kiddies play room, irrigation for improved gardens, new kayaks, De Vette Mossel restaurant on the beach at the front, etc.....

We have talked to the ladies at reception about their actions to guests and they have appologised and will try their best to improve in this regard. We managed to locate the problem with the Jacuzzi - when the supplier installed heatpumps for the heating of the Jacuzzis, they did not connect the pipes properly - but this has been rectified.

Appologies about the electricity issue, but it was unforseen and we tried to minimise the out-time.

Thank you for your note about the safety - we have taken this up with our recreation team and they will rectify this.

We are systematically trying to improve the resort as we go along, so advice from our guests is valuable to us.

Hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed at Pine Lake Marina during Jan 2012 after hearing about the place for many years. The kids were kept busy but the giraffe 4 sleeper unit was horrible. My son and I joked and called it "compact" meaning extremely cramped. The bathroom was disgusting with a toilet that had your legs up against the bath; a cracked basin and a bath in dire need of a do over. The grout was non existent in places and filthy everywhere else. It was definitely a bath with slops on place.

It seems that the resort needs a make-over as well for the price asked. Motorboats; pedal boats were constantly in need of repairs. We paid for my son and nephew to try water skiing and after waiting nearly an hour after our appointment time; they set off. My 10 year old son was then told in the middle of the lake that the guy had not packed the right ski size for him so only my nephew could go out. Of course no other bookings available before we left and no staff member cared that he had missed out.

While we were there the sewerage plant was also giving problems (yet another maintenance issue) which resulted in our evening meal being spoilt every night by the over powering stench. No chats around the fire for us as the stench drove us inside. Again the attitude by staff was that we should "suck it up".

The resort has an excellent marketing team with a brochure that truly defies reality; dont be fooled.

Room Tip: Avoid the a bedroom 4 sleeper giraffes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I suppose that if you come from Outer Mongolia, and you have never ever stayed in anything but a leather igloo, then you well find Pine Lake Marina nice. Otherwise, avoid the place at all costs. I must say that the unit we stayed in was very spacious, but that where the positive aspects stop. It was dirty, if not filthy. Windows have not been cleaned in years, the bathroom was disgusting and we found pubic hairs in the bed, on the windows and in the shower. Also, the place is overrun with ants, attacking any food placed in the kitchen cupboards. As for the resort, it is set out in the format similar to that of an over populated concentration camp. Management has taken the opportunity to cram as many units as possible into a square kilometre of mother earth, with the end result of you getting to know your neighbour pretty well, whether you like it or not! Facilities are a joke as well, especially the so called “marina”. The boats and canoes should all be condemned and most of the time we were there, they were under repairs. Therefore, we never got onto the water. We stayed there over the festive season and the resort experienced continual power and water cuts. This is unacceptable! We paid a premium for our dirty, basic chalet with no view or vistas. Luxury accommodation a few kilometres away with breath-taking sea views is more reasonable. Also, the place is not serviced. You have to pay extra per day for this! We did get it serviced, but this did not help the dirt problem. Towels were not changed for days and the maid actually left her filthy cleaning cloths in our bath. Pine Lake Marina has a very good marketing team. This is evident in their excellent web site and brochures produced, which is not evident in what is actually available at this resort. Brochures show pictures of beautiful beaches (the place is nowhere near the beach), stunning pool areas (which is not the reality) and even a leopard in a tree. Good grief, no leopards have been seen in the area for over 100 years! This is downright false advertising. Avoid Pine Lake Marina at all costs!! We left a few days early when we had already paid in full. That is how bad it is!

Room Tip: Avoid Pine Lake Marina. Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobB447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
11.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.1 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 19 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Shearwater On Sea
Shearwater On Sea
#7 of 19 in Sedgefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swartvlei Equestrian Estate
Swartvlei Equestrian Estate
#4 of 19 in Sedgefield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
7.5 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 19 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Marina

Property: Pine Lake Marina
Address: Pine Lake Marina Resort | N2 (Swartvlei exit), Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lake Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Lake Marina (SATOUR 3 star graded) is a self-catering family orientated holiday resort situated on the banks of the spectacular Swartvlei Lake, outside Sedgefield - in the heart of the Garden Route, South Africa. Rates include a variety of activities, for example, tennis, squash, kayaking, pedalos, mini-golf, etc. that can be done on site, whilst the location means it is a short drive to explore all that this wonderful area has to offer! Swimming beaches are close by and the area offers an abundance of activities to enjoy including Mountain Biking; Bungee Jumping; Paragliding; kite-surfing; Trail Running; .The newly completed conference centre and restaurant offers a beautiful setting for weddings and other functions at very affordable rates.Across the road there is an associated short golf course, The Sedge Links - where you can improve your short-game or learn the game for the first time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Lake Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Marina Hotel Sedgefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing