We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family weekend getaway!”
Review of Pine Lake Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pine Lake Marina
Ranked #4 of 12 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family weekend getaway!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

It was our first trip to Pine Lake Marina Resourt and we were wowed by this place! We are already planning the next getaway!
It really is the perfect family holiday destination. The kids enjoyed themselves to bits and so did we. You feel so safe at the resort - your kids can play at the playpark, without you having to worry about them. We were also lucky enough to be right in front of the playpark. You wake up in the morning, with the most beautiful view of the sun shining on the lake. It really gives you that holiday feeling. With restaurants, loads of activities for everyone - this place is just too convenient for words! I am really glad we discovered this place. Pine Lake Marina will definitely see more of us in future!

Room Tip: Unit 804 is the perfect unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    30
    16
    4
See reviews for
104
18
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was at pinelake for the first time, the weekend of 21 October 2011 with a group of 17 friends and we had the most refreshing, relaxing, entertaining holiday. The accommodation was one of the best i have been too and the service from the employees were exceptionally well and helpful. Pinelake is definetly on the agenda for 2012. If you want to make good memories with family and friends, visit pinelake

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jotham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My family and I spend many beautiful days at the resort.The one most important draw card for us as parents is the safety in which our children could and can enjoy themselves, running around, hiring bicycles, playing put put with relatively limited supervison. Any unhappiness was dealt with speedily and professionally by those responsible for the resort. Pine lake will never become to expensive and I will come back year after year.

Pity I don't own the place - lol-

Melvin and Nicky Jefferies

Room Tip: Rooms close to the gym,bar area and sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1963Melvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have been visiting Pine Lake Marina since 1994 and would not spend our holidays anywhere else. We adopted our son in 1997 and daughter in 1999, and they equally love the family centered approach that Pine Lake epitmomises. Our son is disabled, handicapped and has autism, and this is the one place where he feels totally at home, he talks about Pine Lake from the time he leaves until his next visit! All the staff know and love him, the boat house 'crew' are particularly wonderful with him because of his love for boating, every day rain or shine Matthew is out in the red boat with his dad. He is able to feel free and has some independence at the resort due to the safety of security guards at the gate, and as parents we can relax just a little knowing that he is safe as he rides around on his customised tricycle. I recommend Pine Lake to all my friends and have sent many to this home from home holiday destination

Room Tip: all the chalets have their own special ambience thanks to the layout of the resort, for wonderful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Pine Lake Marina is an amazing holiday destination, which I highly recommend for families with children, be them teenagers or toddlers. Ever since I can remember we've been going to Pine Lake Marina as an annual family holiday destination, and every year PLM just gets better and better.

It's a safe and child-friendly resort with a playground, boathouse, shop, ATM, gym, tennis and squash courts, a games room, trampolines, a restaurant (Pinella, good food, great service), swimming pools and DSTV (though they should have more channels for children.)

The resort's Maintenance Staff are always around to fix things, from bad DSTV connections to a sleeper couch that stunk.
Hats off to Management and their staff!

Looking forward to my next trip!

Room Tip: No matter where you stay, there will always be a good view and it will be in walking distance of all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15bex02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Pine Lake Marina is a truly magnificent holiday destination. My family has been privileged to have visited this resort on numerous occasions over the last couple of years and each time has been very special. Pine Lake Marina is an idyllic family getaway, offering loads of relaxing and destressing entertainment for both young and old. Nestled between scenic hills along the inviting waters of the Swartvlei, the resorts boasts watersport activities from waterskiing, canoeing and pedallos to a sunset cruise on the relaxing "Loose Goose." There is a foefie slide, jungle gym, putt-putt, trampolines, bicycles, hiking trails, sparkling swimming pools as well as a romantic jacuzzi. Even if the weather is foul, the fun continues with table tennis, pool tables, indoor play area, a fully equipped gymnasium, squash court, TV and an interesting library, thus striking the balance between activity and relaxation! Definately an affordable breakaway considering that almost all the activities offered are included in the price, that, together with top class service and warm hospitality by friendly and highly competent staff, guarantees excellent value for money. All needs are catered for in the resort such as the affordable and well-stocked convenience shop, the laundry which enables mom to keep holiday washing under control and even an ATM to ensure dad has a constant flow of cash. You, and your beloved furry friend (so pet-friendly) enjoying a juicy chop together under the stars from the outdoor braai, to winter nights spend around the cosy and toasty indoor fireplace, to memorable nights spent at the restaurant offering magnificent views of the Vlei, Pine Lake Marina creates memories that last a lifetime. After a long, satisfying day, there is nothing better than slipping between the crisp white linen and reflecting on quality family time all within a safe and secure environment, knowing that on departure, the kids' tears will be flowing and the nagging and begging phrase, "When can we come again" will start! Pine Lake Marina has become our beloved home-away-from-home and our preferred holiday destination. Nothing can compare to Pine Lake Marina, and we shall recommend it far and wide as we return time after time. Thank you Pine Lake Marina.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2011

As a group we always get away when big soccer derby is on (Pool v Man U. We enjoy Pinelake as it offers a lot in the form of child friendly facility. In our group the men spoil the ladies as we perform all the cooking duties. The ladies are left to either chat and enjoy the facility or make up on lost sleep. The kids thorougly enjoy the time together and play from early the mornings to late at night. Our kids are always sad when we have to leave but there is hope for another weekend. Pine lake rocks

Room Tip: We prefer to be close to all the ammenities, in pool, shop, trampoline, tennis courts etc. Its very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedgefield hotels
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
100 reviews
4.1 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 20 in Sedgefield
259 reviews
4.1 mi away
Shearwater On Sea
Shearwater On Sea
#8 of 20 in Sedgefield
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 20 in Sedgefield
425 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sedgefield
71 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swartvlei Equestrian Estate
Swartvlei Equestrian Estate
#5 of 20 in Sedgefield
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Marina

Property: Pine Lake Marina
Address: Pine Lake Marina Resort | N2 (Swartvlei exit), Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lake Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Lake Marina (SATOUR 3 star graded) is a self-catering family orientated holiday resort situated on the banks of the spectacular Swartvlei Lake, outside Sedgefield - in the heart of the Garden Route, South Africa. Rates include a variety of activities, for example, tennis, squash, kayaking, pedalos, mini-golf, etc. that can be done on site, whilst the location means it is a short drive to explore all that this wonderful area has to offer! Swimming beaches are close by and the area offers an abundance of activities to enjoy including Mountain Biking; Bungee Jumping; Paragliding; kite-surfing; Trail Running; .The newly completed conference centre and restaurant offers a beautiful setting for weddings and other functions at very affordable rates.Across the road there is an associated short golf course, The Sedge Links - where you can improve your short-game or learn the game for the first time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pine Lake Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Marina Hotel Sedgefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing