We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Getaway”
Review of Pine Lake Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pine Lake Marina
Ranked #5 of 12 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean View, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Getaway”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I just came back from my third visit to Pine Lake Marina. Things have changed a little bit. Some good and some bad. The good: the shop is upgraded. The bad: no channels to keep kids entertained at night.(Disney channel etc). We were excited to use the new heated pool but was disappointed , to find that the heat pump was not working. The units have everything that is needed. I love the laundrey. No dirty clothes when you get home. The thing that really make me come back is the freedom the kids have at the resort......

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qwjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Company Representative at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hi There,

We are glad you came to visit us and that your kids had a wonderful time, we try to keep them as occupied as possible.

We are having a look at the children's channel issue at the moment, since it has been raised a few times. We have started negotiations with DSTV about the matter and a lot will depend on what can be arranged with them.

We sincerely appologise about the heated pool situation. Our supplier let us down big time, we had already paid for the extra heat pump to be added, but he took his time and caused a lot of unnecessary agrevation. Luckily the matter has now been resolved and everyting is working well.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    30
    16
    4
See reviews for
104
18
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

My wife and I needed a break after a long holiday season and drove here for a couple of nights in mid/late February. It was off season so it was quite quiet. The room was excellent, with everything we needed. There was lots to do (water activities on the lake, a pool) and our room was well equipped for self catering as well (we cooked a couple of our meals on site).

The value was superb as well -- we expected much less for the price we paid.

We'd definitely go back, given the opportunity.

Room Tip: It's much quieter in the off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mbjonesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

My wife and I are from New Zealand and visited my father in SA for Christmas. As a gift he took us to Pine Lake Marina for 5 days and 4 nights. I feel awful for him having spent all that money. The experience was crap. We had a unit over looking the lake by the pool, unit 911 i think. This is why:
The unit was not clean, with dirty in the bathroom. It was so noisy the "local" have no clue on how to behave themselves with kids screaming and running and mothers shouting instructions to the offspring from way on the other side of the pool yard. The pool was infested with jumping and cannon balling kids so us as adults had no chance to enjoy or cool off in the African heat. And this continued till 2am in the morning !!!!. Not a sign in site telling people to respect other peoples rights for enjoyment. The site is beautiful but the people ruin it totally because they have no idea on how to behave.
We wanted to use the boats .... the room documentation said the boat shed closes at 7pm, we went down at 5pm and were told "we are closed", I rang reception they were totally apathetic didn't apologize for the error again just rubbish service. In general we found service in SA to be lousy with badly trained staff. So in a nutshell in never return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewSaxby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
We appologize that you did not enjoy your trip to South Africa and in particular with us. We try to keep our guests happy at all times. Some of your complaints are however out of our control, like the noise from kids - we are a family orientated resort and as such we hope the kids have a great time.

The Piazza is an over 18's only area where adults can relax by the pool and enjoy a beer/ cocktail from the bar without interruption from children. The rest of the resort is accessible by anyone.

If the bathrooms were not up to scratch we hope you reported the matter quickly, so that we could've sent someone out to remedy it a.s.a.p - please provide feedback on this point.

We took over the resort in February and have done a significant amount of work on the resort - starting with the public areas. We upgraded the restaurant, built a conferencing facility, built the Piazza with improved gym, shop and bar facilities; installed irrigation, installed a Reverse Osmosis Plant, with fresh water to all the units, installed DSTV in each unit, built a parking lot, upgraded reception.... Our next priority is to systematically refurbish the individual units.

While there will always be hiccups we greatly appreciate feedback so that we can improve various areas and think of new ways of improving your holiday experience.

We look forward to seeing you here again if possible.

Regards,

Pine Lake Marina management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. Okay there was the wind, but one cant place the place for that! The lake proved to be a lot of fun, especially the little paddle boats, that was great fun. Waking up in the morning and having tea with the guinea fowl right in fron of the door was really great. Worth its money, and a great place to chill and have a break.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zakuuumiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

This was my wife's first third visit to Pine Lake Marina and my first. My wife convinced me to take us with our young nine month old baby to Pine Lake for a family holiday.

After hearing her stories of great holidays spent there by her, I was looking quite forward to my relaxing time away with the great resort and facilities.

I was impressed with the resort facilities and the location. We arrived there finding our unit a bit dusty, but thought not too much of it, since it had been raining. We found a couple of ants inside the unit as well, but swept out the place and packed out.

By the next morning the rain has cleared up, but the ants haven't. I went to the front desk to report it. I mentioned to them that the door had a bit of a gap in it as well, and I suspect the ants might be coming in through it. She said they will have a look into it.

After spending the morning at the beach we came back to our unit for lunch, only to discover that there were ants everywhere and over our food. I was disgusted. No one had come to inspect the issue. I found a staff member and reported it to them. After a while they brought me a insect spray for the ants. I was appalled. I wasn't going to spray the room with insect spray when my little one is crawling around. Also I felt that it wasn't my issue to sort out.

To make a long story short, I reported the issue to the front desk again. They came to clean the unit, but never took care of the problem. After moving furniture to clean the unit a bit more I discovered dirt, dead ants and insects. I spent my mornings and evenings sweeping out ants and I must admit the best part of my holiday was leaving Pine Lake.

I am totally dissappointed and would not go again. My wife admits that the quality of service definitely went down, since its under new ownership.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dewald1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We seldom holiday with other people but for our stay at Pine Lake Marina we (2 adults, 1 toddler) joined two other couples and 1 couple had a kid.

We stayed in a 3 roomed cottage. It was very spacious and clean. The beds were made up daily and the place cleaned so we were able to truly enjoy our stay without the effort of cleaning up.

The facilities are perfect for families and there's something for everyone.

Games, Tennis, water-sports and many other sporty activities.

I thoroughly enjoyed the week we spent at Pine Lake Marina and would love to return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheAbduls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
100 reviews
17.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.1 mi away
Shearwater On Sea
Shearwater On Sea
#8 of 21 in Sedgefield
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 21 in Sedgefield
260 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sedgefield
71 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lake Pleasant Living
Lake Pleasant Living
#3 of 21 in Sedgefield
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Marina

Property: Pine Lake Marina
Address: Pine Lake Marina Resort | N2 (Swartvlei exit), Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lake Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Lake Marina (SATOUR 3 star graded) is a self-catering family orientated holiday resort situated on the banks of the spectacular Swartvlei Lake, outside Sedgefield - in the heart of the Garden Route, South Africa. Rates include a variety of activities, for example, tennis, squash, kayaking, pedalos, mini-golf, etc. that can be done on site, whilst the location means it is a short drive to explore all that this wonderful area has to offer! Swimming beaches are close by and the area offers an abundance of activities to enjoy including Mountain Biking; Bungee Jumping; Paragliding; kite-surfing; Trail Running; .The newly completed conference centre and restaurant offers a beautiful setting for weddings and other functions at very affordable rates.Across the road there is an associated short golf course, The Sedge Links - where you can improve your short-game or learn the game for the first time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Pine Lake Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Marina Hotel Sedgefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing