We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Craving for Chilly”

Wild Oats Community Farmers Market
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wild Oats is a local farmers and food market open every Saturday morning until 12 noon. We are located on the western outskirts of Sedgefield at the turnoff to Sedgefield Island. An award winning Garden Route landmark we are not to be confused with the Scarab Craft Market to the far east of Engen Petrol Station or the Mosaic Flea Market across the road from Wild Oats. As a food market, our open times are limited due to the short shelf-life of many of our LOCALLY PRODUCED products which include: Free-range chicken, beef, pork and lamb, free-range eggs, multiple cheese, dairy and baked products including fresh gouda, cheddar, blue-cheeses... milk, fresh fish, fruits, free-range & organic vegetables in season, many traditional and exotic bottled goods, organic olives, berries, rusks, koeksisters, biltong & wors, famous artisan breads, award-winning cheesecakes and goats cheeses... and on and on and on. Also a fabulous range of hot-off-the-grill breakfasts, coffees, teas and fresh-squeeze juices and smoothies. FOOD HEAVEN! Come face-to-face with our local food producers every Saturday morning, come rain or shine.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Graaff-Reinet, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Craving for Chilly”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

18 months ago we stopped at the Wild Oats Farmers market just outside Sedgefield. I found THE LITTLE HERB GARDEN stall and bought a variety of goodies including their Chilly Relish. This product adds Devine flavour to ANY dish. Had I known how delicious it was I would have bought the entire stock to take home.
We returned to the market in January on our way to Plettenberg Bay, to my dismay, there were only two bottles left. The solution, I placed my rather large order and collected it on our way home!

This relish does not destroy the taste buds but adds a fabulous flavour to any dish.
One taste and unless you fill your pantry with a good stock, the craving will get you.
The good news is, I hear they are opening an on-line shop. No more panic attacks for me!

If you are headed down that way, and if you would like to take my word for it, place your order ahead of time. This sounds like an add but trust me, I am not employed be them.

The market has a fantastic atmosphere, plenty of seating where you can just relax, people watch and feast on all the delicious foods available.

This is a must for anyone who enjoys fresh produce, plants, herbs, breads, cheese, you name it, they got it.
Enjoy!
Email...dames@mweb.co.za

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 633pennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    90
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Saturday morning must do!!!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

If you are on holiday in the area then it is a must visit, on your list of things to do. The atmosphere, the items available to purchase and the breakfast options, are worth the visit and overall experience. We stocked up on fresh breads, cheeses and other homemade treats. The craft market across the road also offers one the opportunity to get something for the home, friend or family. The relaxed atmosphere and music just enhances the holiday mood. Its all part of the little bit of paradise on earth.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This is an ideal place to stock up on a variety of locally produced fresh produce varying from veggies to cheese, to speciality breads to meats. The prices are very competitive and the quality excellent.

Tip : go early and have a sumptuous farm breakfast while you are there!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

En route back to Cape town we met old friends at Sedgefield for breakfast. This market is a fantastic venue, it covers a large area and is primarily dedicated to fresh food grown or made by local producers. The range is huge from perfect bread to pates, jams, hams, cheeses, etc etc. its a bit like the world's biggest delicatessen.

The market opens at 7.30 am and by 8.15am it was hoaching with people and dogs.

Turning to the breakfast, in the central area there are a number of tables and stools concocted out of logs of wood, the trick is to grab a table and then hunt around for sufficient logs, we were six so this took awhile. Next off to the nearby stalls to purchase the scrambled eggs, bacon or whatever, all was delicious, made even more so by the friendliness of people around and the pleasure of eating in the open early in the morning. The coffee was good too!

The logs are a brilliant idea, being diabolically uncomfortable, nobody lingers long.

According to our friends this market has had a hugely beneficial effect in the area and is still run very efficiently by the two founding ladies.

Not to be missed, (the market not the ladies).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tourist172013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Garden Route trip will be incomplete without a visit here”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Wow. An amazing market and certainly the best I have been to. Come as EARLY otherwise there will be nothing left and you may drown in a sea of people! Bought freshly baked rolls, farm butter, eggs, cold meats, cheeses and veggies. Everything delicious and fresh. Only downside is that this market is only open on a Saturday!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarikeStrasheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Oats Community Farmers Market also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Wild Oats Community Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing