We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable B&B - basic and clean.”
Review of Pelican Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable B&B - basic and clean.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Fair value. Good overnight stay with some rooms and units suiting families. Sleep quality not that great. Breakfast was good with really friendly kitchen staff. We had a misunderstanding with the management regarding our booking change that resulted in a cancellation fee. Fair enough - but left a sour taste as we are annual guests - and we won't be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB1976, Owner at Pelican Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, it has been a great pleasure each year to have you and your Golfing buddies visit us, and I was saddened to hear that you won't be coming back due to some of the guys leaving for Australia. You always looked like you had such fun, and where possible my team and I went out of our way to make this a fun place for you all. Fond memories

Kind Regards
Ian Perryman
Pelican Lodge Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
27
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

A pretty basic place but really good.
The owner was really great as were the staff and since there isn't much in the area I would definitely recommend this place.
Decent size rooms and the room was well kept.
The Internet worked pretty well as well which is a big plus in Africa ..
If you are there on a Saturday check out the market for some awesome local foods!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank addingvalueguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB1976, Owner at Pelican Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay, we're really glad we were able to assist you on a recent over nighting, and that it covered all your needs.

Kind Regards
Ian Perryman
Owner Pelican Lodge Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay at Pelican Lodge earlier this month. Ian and his staff made us so very welcome and made us feel so at home. Our breakfasts prepared by Thandi most days were so enjoyable and we could not fault the quality of the food and presentation. Not to forget Ian's family who also were so friendly and helpful offering advice where needed. We will certainly be going back to visit Pelican Lodge for a breakfast or two when we move to Sedgefield in the very near future.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB1976, Owner at Pelican Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Sedgefield very soon.

Kind Regards
Ian Perryman
Owner Pelican Lodge Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good Thunder, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Pelican Lodge is nearly a magical place to stay. It's conveniently located--easy to find but feels very much off the beaten path. Sedgefield itself is a fantastic town, but the Pelican Lodge topped it off. The staff greeted us like family, and treated us as if we mattered.
Each room is unique, and each is homey and elegant, comfortable and clean. I loved my balcony, and loved both the view of stars and of early morning light. The patio/courtyard and braai pit area are comfortable places to gather.
The gourmet, healthy breakfast was spectacular. It may have been among the best breakfasts I have had in my life. LOVE this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyFjellandDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB1976, Owner at Pelican Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback, we look forward to welcoming you and your academic team back again next year.

Kind Regards
Ian Perryman
Owner Pelican Lodge Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Luca and Drue say this is where you will get the best French Toast in the world. Grandpa and Nana think so too. Great breakfasts and good service with a smile. Will be back for sure. Thank you Ian. You are doing a great job to keep up the standard

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB1976, Owner at Pelican Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hey Guys,

Thank you for the feedback, Always good to know when we're getting it right. Thank you to the grand children for placing us so high on the accreditation board for " Best French Toast in the Whole Wide World"

Kind Regards
Ian Perryman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The unit was a little cold, it could have done with more heating considering it was winter. DStv would be a good addition. Wifi connection was a little tempermental, but it was invaluable and great to have.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB1976, Owner at Pelican Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Chris,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, I'm sorry you didn't let me know as I could have sorted out additional heaters to the panel ones in the room. I have now placed a Gas Portable heater in the Suite for extra heat as standard for the winter, and have also this week purchased DSTV decoders to add to the 2 Self Catering Suites as a value additional.

I do hope you return to experience the new additions.

Kind Regards
Ian Perryman
Pelican Lodge Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ian, I thought that perhaps you gave me special attention but, I was wrong. The way you welcomed me and went out of your way to make me comfortable is obviously the way you treat all your guests. I just loved my spotless room with the balcony and the breakfast was scrumptious. I am just sorry that I could not spend more time there to fully enjoy the garden. The one night I spent there while on a hectic business trip resuscitated and energised me for the rest of the trip. Congratulations!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB1976, Owner at Pelican Lodge, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Cynthia,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback, it's good to see you enjoyed yourself while visiting us for the one night. I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards
Ian Perryman
Owner Pelican Lodge Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
11.7 mi away
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
4.9 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
100 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Afrovibe Beach House
Afrovibe Beach House
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
15 reviews
15.7 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#14 of 127 in Knysna
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Lodge

Property: Pelican Lodge
Address: 43 Pelican Lane, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Lodge is a tasteful haven of peace and comfort on the outskirts of Sedgefield on the Garden Route. A perfect base for visitors to the area, a 5 minute journey in any direction will take you to the beach, the lagoon, the Groenvlei, the mountains and the central business district. Set amongst well tended lawns and flower gardens the lodge is a modern built structure with spotless, airy, well lit rooms and all the home comforts you need to make your stay a happy one. Pelican Lodge welcomes and enjoys the company of an eclectic mix of guests, ranging from travelers on the coastal route, to local holiday makers to international clientele many of whom become regulars after their first visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing