We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, spacious, clean and very relaxing !!”
Review of Pelican Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ian, thank you for your kindness, generosity and making us feel so welcome in your lodge during March 2013. What a lovely and breathtaking place you've got with perfect location. You made us feel so welcome and went to so much trouble in ensuring that everything was perfect for us - we felt totally spoiled!! We'll definitely be back !!

Regards
Leon & Susan Nel
Richards Bay

Room Tip: The bedrooms are all elegantly designed and decorated with lovely spacious en-suite bathrooms ... g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanN491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB1976, Owner at Pelican Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Good Day Susan,

Thank you for the your valuable feedback, it was so lovely to meet you both and thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Ian Perryman
Pelican Lodge Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 76 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Ok we have not even had breakfast or checked out but I have to comment as I have done allot of travelling in general and this trip is coming back to Cape Town. Having done Tsitsikamma lodge & spa, Mansfield Game Reserve, Addo Gateway Lodge, we thought we would "Just get a room" before our final stop in Stanford tomorrow.

Well I was blown away - relaxed flexible warm welcome, we were offered breakfast if we changed our mind ...really great as every where else you kind if feel pressure about (what time you want breakfast) and till 10am!

When we walked around around the corner and were shown what is more like a tucked away private little suite, we were delighted! Then we looked inside and the finishing touches - what taste! Delicious home made rusks, flat inch TV, AMAZING shower and the bed WOW, honestly it feels more like a luxurious private cosy personal rest away, not "just a room" first experience of proper bath towels even thou there is only a shower!

Ian came in from a outing with friends visiting from Cape Town, as his dad Chris checked us in, Ian took the time to have long chat and game me his full attention like nothing else mattered and he is clearly passionate about what he does.

I would highly recommend this and will definitely be back and promote. So stay tuned fort breakfast review folks!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kar89300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB1976, Owner at Pelican Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi Karen,

Thank you for your immediate and prompt update on Trip Advisor.

It's really valuable to receive this feedback as it lets us know we are doing it right.

I look forward to your return and hope the remainder of your holiday was as enjoyable
as at Pelican Lodge. I have emailed the rusk recipe as promised.

Kind Regards
Ian Perryman
Pelican Lodge Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked a night in the self catering part of Pelican Lodge. As we were shown round it became apparent that there really was too much room for the 2 of us, especially as we were now aware that our spending money was going further and we could dine out more. We were offered a double room instead which had balcony and a.c. and were more than happy to take this. We were asked our interests (bird watching and beach/swimming) and then advised of some great places to visit and what to expect for our stay of just one day. This was most welcome. An unfortunate hiccup was the safe in the room wouldn't open as we prepared to leave, but this was dealt with promptly as a locksmith came round within 30 minutes and we were not inconvienced by having to hang around too long. A wonderful hotel with excellent contacts

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB1976, Owner at Pelican Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us, it is greatly appreciated. I'm delighted you
enjoyed your stay with us, and apologize for the Safe Hold up. "We'll find any excuse so that you get to stay another night."

We have since replaced that safe to avoid problems going forward.

Kind Regards
Ian Perryman
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our first stop on a trip from Cape Town to Adoo Elephant Part and we were happily accommodated in an attractive room, good standard of accommodation and comfort at a reasonable price. We were made very welcome and breakfast was very good, home made rusks are a good touch. It was really easy to find and Sedgefield is a quiet and safe feeling place, we went for gentle walk before eating in the good restaurant directly across the road from Pelican Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB1976, General Manager at Pelican Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for your review of Pelican Lodge Guesthouse

It's shame your visit was just a short one, Let me know if you would like the rusk recipe?

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting the the Garden Route.

Kind Regards
Ian Perryman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Pelican Lodge in Sedgefield. From the moment that we submitted an enquiry on the website, owner and host, Ian Perryman responded promptly in a professional and efficient manner.

Booking and confirmation was seamless, and when we arrived after a 15 hour drive from Durban, we were warmly welcomed by Ian.

The room was very comfortable, with sufficient cupboard space, keypad safe, modern bathroom, comfortable bed and our own balcony with a view of the forest and Sedgefield. The room has a coffee / tea station, and the most divine home-made rusks.

Breakfast was a delight. We chose a table outside, and sitting comfortably under the generous umbrellas, we enjoyed a mouth-watering breakfast, made from fresh, quality ingredients. The staff are friendly and make you feel right at home in the beautiful surroundings Pelican has to offer.

Pelican Lodge also supports local community upliftment programs, such as mosaic workshops and career guidance & education of the scholars of a nearby settlement.

The lodge is located 5 minutes drive away from the lagoon, river mouth & beach.

Nestled between Knysna and George, we were able to enjoy the best of both areas. We took short daytrips, and the abundance of activities, markets, beaches and restaurants kept us busy all day long. Areas that we visited: Tsitsikama Forest, Storms River, Knysna, Buffalo Bay, Wilderness, Dolphin Point, George, Glentana, Klein Brak, Mosselbay.

Ian was a fantastic host, with great attention paid to detail (one evening it was raining, so we decided to watch movies in the room, and Ian delivered fresh popcorn for us to enjoy while watching the movie)

Our stay was a real pleasure, and we look forward to returning in December 2013!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB1976, General Manager at Pelican Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about Pelican Lodge, and taking the time to write what reads like a magazine article for Pelican Lodge and Sedgefield.

After searching through many accommodation places before you finally found Pelican Lodge, I'm so glad you selected us, and the experience you had from start to finish was a pleasant one. I'm chuffed that both of you enjoyed your holiday and returned home with your batteries recharged. It's not long and December 2013 will be here.

I look forward to welcoming you both back soonest

Kind regards
Ian Perryman
Pelican Lodge Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This lodge, 4* quality masquerading as a 3*, is a delight. The resident owner, Ian and his wife, will give you a very warm welcome. The rooms are large and well-equipped, the showers strong and the breakfasts fantastic (yummy home-cooked muffins). It has the advantage of being opposite a great pub - the Sedgefield Arms. Greatly recommended. If you stay on a Friday night check out the Sedgfield Market the next morning - allow yourself plenty of time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rph9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB1976, General Manager at Pelican Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you for posting your review, it's so lovely when Guests connect with us and the Guesthouse, and truly enjoy their experience.

My Friend Rosie will chuckle when I tell her we're married, and it seems our team work really shows our true unity.

We always look forward to welcoming a friendly face and hope you will return to our home in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards
Ian Perryman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I was on tour with my group and they were booked in at the Lake Pleasant Hotel, and as we dont, as guide, normally stay at the same hotel, we are accomodated at one of the local guesthouses in the area.
When i arrived at the Guest house i was warmly greeted by the manager and shown my room. it was a very comfortable room with a TV + dvd player, coffee and tea and a small fridge which is very handy.
Now across the road from the guest house is a restuarant called the Sedgefield arms, which served a good plate of food with friendly service.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay and i recommend it to any traveller needing a comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: For wheelchair bound people there is a room set up for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
1.3 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
159 reviews
15.7 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#11 of 129 in Knysna
212 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#20 of 129 in Knysna
330 reviews
14.7 mi away
Abalone Lodges
Abalone Lodges
#69 of 129 in Knysna
108 reviews
15.3 mi away
Lavender Hill Guest House
Lavender Hill Guest House
#44 of 129 in Knysna
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Lodge

Address: 43 Pelican Lane, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range: $54 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Lodge is a tasteful haven of peace and comfort on the outskirts of Sedgefield on the Garden Route. A perfect base for visitors to the area, a 5 minute journey in any direction will take you to the beach, the lagoon, the Groenvlei, the mountains and the central business district. Set amongst well tended lawns and flower gardens the lodge is a modern built structure with spotless, airy, well lit rooms and all the home comforts you need to make your stay a happy one. Pelican Lodge welcomes and enjoys the company of an eclectic mix of guests, ranging from travelers on the coastal route, to local holiday makers to international clientele many of whom become regulars after their first visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing