We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility at its best”
Review of Teniqua Treetops

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Teniqua Treetops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2011

What a treat and a brilliant find! Will definitely be back for another visit.

Pack your books and cards for relaxed evening entertainment under African skies. A pair of walking shoes, which you dont mind getting wet and stock up on your food supplies (including charcoal) before arriving as you wont want to leave once you get there. Teniqua is simply stunning and such a peaceful, soulful break from society and all its madness.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 451 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2010

On a trip along the garden route we stopped here for two nights. It was a nice retreat - very remote and nice for private romantic getaway - but no convenient food, pretty messy common areas, okay service, and fairly dirty room (big spiders even in the bedroom).

I was a little puzzled when we were charged 50% deposit while still on the phone booking and then the remaining 50% before we could even see the room. Once we checked in and saw the room I had immediate hesitation about having paid both nights, and considered staying only one. The good side is that these are really spacious suites with kitchen, living room, porch and bedroom that have beautiful views. The story of the place and its eco-friendly construction are also really impressive. But we were a little disappointed by the brown water - okay, its river water, but we don't want to bathe in water the same color as our tea - and the giant spiders (as well as warnings of various neurotoxic death-inducing ones) in the bedroom didn't help us sleep well.

I thought this was pretty pricey for the quality, remoteness, and lack of food (there wasn't even cooking oil in the kitchenette).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GregPasquali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We booked for one night but stayed two, so that's a recommendation.

The setting is lovely in the forest, and the rooms, whilst simple are fun. An open bathroom and kitchen and a superb balcony and perch at the top of the ladder in tranquility allow you to enjoy the setting, and the bedroom, in the tented part is zipped up to keep the creepy crawlies out.

Don't go if you are scared of the wildlife, you are in the forest with the thngs that live there, but do go if you want a fun, different kind of stay.

We had a young child with us, who thought it was superb sleeping in the forest. The walk down the valley was hard for a toddler, but do go walking in the forest, its great.

The owners were friendly and helpful, and the pool was simple but good. Our 3 year old also enjoyed the trampoline and climbing frame.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gardengamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed for two nights, and enjoyed this truly unique experience. However, be prepared, you will be sharing your tree house with all of the other wildlife that lives in the forest, including midges and the occasional hairy spiders. Make sure that you read their website, it gives a good honest account of what to expect. Our sleeping area was in a tented canvass inside the tree house and we had a mossy net on our bed, ensuring that we went to bed alone! it is great fun, and a chance to feel totally at one with your surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

All Treehouses have a brilliant views from the bathroom to the bedroom. I would recommend taking a walk down the valley to the river to really appreciate the beautiful surroundings. There are lots of quirky green features in the Treehouse such as rain water bath/sink and composting toilet. It is a little pricey but cheaper than more well known places and worth the money for the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

What a tree house. We stayed in Philosoper's Perch. Two bedrooms, kitchen/ lounge, bathroom and even barbecue area- all on platforms in the trees.

In July it was cool in the evenings but barbecuing in the dark, half way up a tree was a bizarre adventure. Kitchen amazingly well equipped. Bathroom with corner bathe baisn shower and loo (but no walls or roof just the forest).

There are only a handfull of the tree houses so you are quite private and have a great feeling of being alone in the forest. The design is quirky- a real labour of love, with little animal carvings and fairy lights.

Well equippped play room available for when it rains. We were bowled over when we arrived and did not get tired of it. Prices very reasonable in the winter particularly.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank EdinburghLinda_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Teniqua treetops is fantastic. Would recommend to anyone who loves nature, and wants to get away from identikit hotels. Our treehouse had bags of character, an amazing veranda with views across a pristine forest valley. The views from the bath are out of this world.

Owners are very friendly, and there is a simple swimming pool and kids play area.

Not necessarily recommended for those who are scared of creepy crawlies, or who demand perfection. But definitely recommended for those who love a bit of character, and something different.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank jamin662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
15.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
842 reviews
12.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
13.2 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 107 in Knysna
344 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Pleasant Living
Lake Pleasant Living
#3 of 22 in Sedgefield
182 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bridgewater Manor
Bridgewater Manor
#6 of 107 in Knysna
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teniqua Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Address: Foot hills | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range: $110 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree house accommodation. Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing