We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky treetop hideaway”
Review of Teniqua Treetops

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Teniqua Treetops
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Funky treetop hideaway”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very interesting hideaway in beautiful area; woke up to a tree full of Knysna trogon. Well equipped; enjoyed a visit despite a very rainy weekend. Make sure you bring along a flashlight if you arrive after dark.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Manager at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
OOOH I am envious a Narina trogon.... I have only seen one
The birds here are fabulous, over 20 endemic birds and 120 varieties , we are really priviledged
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    148
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
117
254
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a great place providing you understand what to expect. If you are uncomfortable with the thought of large spiders and other insects sharing you living quarters, one to avoid (though it's nothing like "I'm a celebrity"). If you are a nature lover though this will provide a great experience in glamping (glamorous camping). All the local bugs and beasties are well explained in the room literature. Staff are very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. BBQ (braai!) facilities in the room/tent/log cabin with a fridge, hob and other creature comforts. Buy a six pack and watch the sun set over the mountain in style.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hi, pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is a forest and while there is nothing dangerous insects abound. I am from a city it took me a while to get used to it
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Loved everything about Teniqua. The tented rooms, the green fields with horses, the walking trail straight out of a fairy tale, the loeries and swimming in the rock pools at the bottom of the ravine. Magical Place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracy-lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Manager at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you, hope to see you again in the future
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I recommend the Gorge View cabin. It is amazingly luxurious but still keep the illusion of camping in the forest. Everything is green and the human footprint is kept to a minimal. The river walk is just challenging enough to give a sense of accomplishment once completed. Don't forget to just take a moment to take in the awe inspiring surroundings. You wont regret staying an extra day just to sit on your deck and admiring the view while reading a book.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wiets W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thanks Wiets, I think we are so fortunate to own a piece of paradise. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Good Location, Nice View out of the rooms, Good bathroom, it was very lovely , Many birds , nice Sundowner, very silent, good bedroom , good sleeping, good staff, we will come back ervery time in a other seosans



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Reiner T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi Reiner, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you come back. We get a few really hot and really cold days, but generally our climate is mild and its wonderful all year around. Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay there. But dont´except climbing until the top of big trees and having a night there, the hut are built on piles in a forest on a slope. Expensive for what it is, even if very nice. The hiking path is not maintained with care, that make the walk no so pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sabie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi, thanks for the input on the path, we will go and recheck it. Its summer and a forest and its been wet so trees grow fast and keeping a path open without damaging the trees is an ongoing maintenance issue. We clearly need to go down again this week and check on it. We keep the path as an adventure, so you will need to climb over and under branches and down rocks. And it is narrow. But it must be open and navigable and wild
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was the best place we stayed in the whole of Southern Africa.
As soon as we got onto the property it was so peaceful and beautiful.
It was awesome being able to see the stars while we slept and being able to have a Braai in the outdoor living area was great.
I loved the bathroom too. The walk down to the river to swim was also a highlight

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you Sarah. Our resort is unique and guests tend to have strong emotions about it. Its wild and yet we hope really comfortable. I am pleased you appreciated it. Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
15.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
25.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
534 reviews
11.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
7.5 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
100 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teniqua Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Property: Teniqua Treetops
Address: Foot hills | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree house accommodation. Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing