We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique place for nature lovers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teniqua Treetops

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Teniqua Treetops
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“unique place for nature lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Best place you can find on the garden route if you want to be isolated and enjoy nature. each chalet is secluded and has an amazing view on the forest. Highly recommended to couples and stressed businessmen.



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MariaAndrea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    140
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
107
238
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Staying at the Treetops was an experience! I strongly recommend that anyone with a love for the outdoors and need to escape city life do. I will definitely be back and tell everyone I know about it! !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, Teniqua Treetops is a different experience and time to recharge your soul and relax back into the natural world. Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

we (a young couple) stayed for two nights in this special, awesome place. the owners first showed us around - we felt with how much love and how conscientious these treetops were built.
surrounded by nature, having great views over the forest and "first row seats" for the sunrise and sunset, with a outside bathtub, lot of privacy, birds singing and flying around - just a perfect place to be.
we also did not have any (smelling) problems with the eco compost toilet.

the hike down to the river and the two pools (don't miss two swim in them) is worth going for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. The tree houses are all really private and we spent a long time selecting where to build them to maximize the sun and the view. Regards Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

My two friends and I did not know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised to see the spacious living area (two bedrooms booked) and how everything was in harmony with the young forest. I had to get used to the idea that there was no front door to lock, but after the first night, I felt in tune with the surroundings and the quietness around me. The happy birdsong in the mornings was a treat and my friends who enjoy bird watching were in their element. We saw the beautiful Knysna Loerie at the swimming pool. The walk to the Look Out was easy and the view of the Karatara River far below us in the valley was breath taking. The facilities were very good. We had to get used to the fact that the "philosopher's perch" (toilet) in our tree house was not exactly private, but with three female friends travelling together it was not such a big problem. We were impressed by the ethos of sustainability that was evident everywhere. The owners have to be congratulated on this special tree top resort that they have developed. It is necessary to take mosquito repellent with you. We needed a doctor and found the one in Sedgefield very good. It was the only thing that we thought was missing in the tree house, namely a list of emergency numbers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, I will include a list of emergancy numbers on each tree house, I used to and am not sure how that fell away. Thanks for reminding me
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The tent we stayed in was absolutely lovely. Having a nice bath was looking at the stars and cuddling up on the "lovers seat" listening to the forest around us was glorious. The only issue was that we only stayed for one night, would have loved to stay longer. The walk to the river and subsequent splashing about was definitely more than worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi, I am pleased you ejoed your stay. The river walk is tough, but I also beleive its worth it. We are fortunate that the forest and river are in such pristine condition. Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a great time at Teniqua Treetops. It's a romantic place in the quietness of pure nature. It was also an absolute highlight to have our own BBQ on the balcony while looking at the stars. Highly recommended!


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi, with no light pollution the stars are remarkable. I never understood before coming here where why it was called the Milky Way. On a clear night it is so distinct. Regards Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Fantastic location, very eco-friendly with innovative ideas. Comfortable rooms and knowledgeable and friendly hosts. Dislikes: drinking water in cottages and communal area did not taste or smell right. Suggestion would be to provide bottled drinking water. Communal area was fun with lots of facilities but should be cleaned up before guests arrive for breakfast. Staff did forget to do beds once or twice. Suggest that tea tray be supplied daily and not only on arrival.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Francoise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Francois
Sorry it was not perfect. It should have been. I know over the peak heat wave we found one tank of water was not up to scratch. I am sorry it impacted you. I suppose there has to be a first time for everything. But its no excuse, we have never had anything but fantastic water so were unprepared for it and unaware until informed of the problem. So I do apologize. I am surprised about the beds too. I will talk to my staff. It should not happen. We must always learn from our mistakes. its just terrible that it spoilt your experience
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
16.0 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
7.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
9.2 mi away
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
14.9 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 102 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teniqua Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Property: Teniqua Treetops
Address: Foot hills | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing