We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and Natural”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Teniqua Treetops

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Teniqua Treetops
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy and Natural”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tucked away in the bushes, your very own fully functional Tree House. Every child's dream realised (even as adults). Really great set up, totally chilled, spacious and comfortable. Great walks and bike rides. If you want to see other people, you can, if you dont want to, that's cool too.

If you like being in the bush but dont like having to rub sticks together for fire or dig a hole to.....you know, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for family suite, two seperate "suites" ample space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do try and make them as comfy as possible within the limitations of them being eco-friendly tree houses. So thanks.
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    143
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
111
241
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I just finished a two week road trip in South Africa and Teniqua Treetops was our most memorable place along the way! Set 15 km off the highway between Sedgefield and Knysna, up in the surrounding forest with trees over 1000 years old, this is a must see, truly unique experience. Each treehouse was carefully constructed by the owners without damaging a single other tree in the forest. They have full kitchens, king sized beds, bathrooms, and a full bathtub, carefully built with a special "treehouse" feel. The living area and porch opens out onto the forest canopy where birds fly by and you are surrounded by trees. The view extends over a beautiful gorge and if the sky is clear a great place to view stars. The owners have gone to great lengths so that everything is eco-friendly. Water is collected from the stream below and purified, solar energy is used for heat, and the septic system is completely dry, clean, and eco friendly to the forest below. We spent two amazing evenings waking up in our bed to the forest canopy and birds below. A 2 hour hike into the gorge is one of the many hikes that are available. Entering the grounds along a dirt road, horse graze which we stopped and played with. This was truly an amazing experience for us as a couple interested in the outdoors. There are game rooms and other areas geared for families as well. The treetops represent a way of living, and are more a work of art than just a place to stay. We give it our highest recommendation!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davejessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi, I am pleased you loved it. We aim to provide guests the opportunity to interact with completely unspoilt nature in a safe space. Thanks for the encouraging review.
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night in May (winter, off-season). We arrived later than we had planned and had intended to check in and then go back into town to eat dinner at a restaurant. After travelling far out of town, down paved roads with no street lights, and then down a long single lane gravel path to Teniqua we decided to make peanut sandwiches for dinner that we had been carrying with us for making lunches. It is really in the middle of nowhere! A grill was provided on the deck but it was completely self-catering - bring your own charcoal etc. I do wish that there was an option for the owners to provide a basic dinner of some sort like we had at other cottages/B&Bs on our trip.

The facilities were basic but complete - dishes, cookware, soap, fridge, wine glasses, etc. The "bedroom" was comfortable and the zipped up canvas felt secure at keeping the bugs out. The canvas walls don't provide much sound protection (birds flying overhead and rustles in the bushes kept me awake!) and flapped a lot in the wind. I didn't get much sleep so I was glad we were only staying one night.

The owner was welcoming, although disorganized - he didn't have proper records of our deposit/payment and tried to make us pay more. I don't think he was trying to scam us, but was simply disorganized. He was helpful with advice for the next leg of our journey.

We couldn't see any other cabins from ours - it is certainly secluded. The hike down the gorge to the river was enjoyable.

I'm glad I had read reviews on here first because I was prepared for tea-coloured water to bathe in and the potential for bugs/spiders/snakes. Otherwise I would have been rather surprised! The bath/washing/toilet water comes from the river and is tea coloured, and the drinking water is filtered rain water and was completely palatable. The hot water is heated by a solar heater and we used it all up having a bath in the evening but by mid-morning we had no problem getting hot water again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floatie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi
I am pleased you could come experience or bit of paradise. I find that for city people, the silence can be overwhelming. I find the longer the guests stay the more they relax into the sounds of nature and the more they enjoy the experience. Its a pristine indigenous forest and the tents allow all the forest sounds through. Sorry if we were disorganized when you came, I know it should not happen, but realistically it does. When we first moved here we were told of the 'Outeniqua Rust' that locals experience, which slows one down and relaxes one. Its no excuse, but its real. No city hustle and bustle to keep one on your toes. Regards Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

A wonderful location with "treehouses" perched at the edge of a beautiful gorge - one of the few remaining areas of South Africa's indigenous forest, which has been preserved thanks to the owners of Treetops. The tents are a great balance of eco-friendly design and luxury. We had no problems with the compost toilet and eight-legged visitors that others complained about. Our stay was relaxed and comfortable and I would highly recommend a few nights chilling here. It's a great combination with beach locations if you're heading down the Garden Route.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Jane, I am pleased you enjoyed your trip. 'Pristine Paradise at Tranquil Teniqua' - thanks...Regrds Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Spent a beautiful, thoroughly relaxing, and Enjoyable long weekend with friends at Teniqua Treetops.. The elevated "tree top" tents are magnificently constructed, right in the 'heart' of the forest, oh-so cosy with 'sumptuous' beds, and all the mod-cons one may need (hot runing water and baths/showers; fridge; stove; kettle; microwave and toaster) for a very comfortable stay - all the while being ensconced in beautiful Mother Nature.. Gorgeous views right into the trees and the vistas beyond - even from the bath.

Being very environmentally conscious myself - I Love what the owners have done here - with the emphasis on recycling and re-using in a perfectly nature-friendly, safe, and healthy manner.

Gorgeous walks and hikes on your doorstep, and a lovely pool area (incl jacuzzi) and adjacent entertainment area/ games room for any kids.. Sedgefield is less than 20 Km's away should one wish to go to town, and other than the last 1km or so along the path leading up to Teniqua - it's all tar road - the N2 and the forest road.. The idea was a chill, quiet, relaxing weekend in the beautiful forest canopy - with some fun in Sedgefield itself - 'mission accomplished' on all counts.. :)

I can seriously recommend for people looking for a beautiful breakaway in absolute peace and tranquility - while not foregoing too many of the home comforts we are used to.. Perfect for a honeymoon night or two, too.. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickHoutBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks, we try and respect the environment. Living on a farm, with a section of pristine indigenous forest forces us to take green issues seriously. Our goal is to ensure the long term sustainability of the environment and I am pleased you could see our attempts to do so
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Teniqua has the most beautiful setting and the scenery is stunning. The tent itself is really nicely constructed and all recycled building materials. Beautifully decorated, and a nice little balcony with a weber to bbq. All in all, it seems like the perfect place to spend a relaxing couple of days, with walks in the forest and just enjoying nature.

However, we had originally booked for 2 nights but left after the first as the entire first night we were concerned about the rickety tree-house. Especially as out Tree-house was balanced precariously over the river gorge... which meant if anything were to happen we had a LONG way down.

Every step you take inside creaks and shakes, and then the wind picked up and it rained which lead to a few leaks and more shakes and swaying throughout the night.

We had no issue with the self-composting toilet, we've done Orange river and Breede river trips before where there is no toilet so it didn't make much difference to us - the only complaint we had was that it was only half enclosed. So in the winter season, midnight loo trips are a very cold and wet affair, and you find yourself constantly checking for the giant rain spiders. I'd suggest either not having it enclosed at all, so if you do discover spiders you aren't trapped inside by the waist high walls. Or enclosing it completely so that the chance of the spider encounters can be somewhat reduced.

Also if you want to have a romantic bath for two... start running the water when you start cooking dinner and it may be deep enough by the time you have finished eating. We let it run for 30min before giving up and just having a quick shower, as the bath had only filled up by 5cm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ElanaBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi, I am sorry it was such a windy weekend. The tree houses are tented tree houses with great views that have been designed by an engineer and are very secure. but I do know that in the wind they can be scary. They are not going anywhere. But it can feel like it may. We get occasional spectacular winds and they have been designed to withstand that. But I apologies that you did not have a good time. Thanks for letting me know about the bath water. I have no idea why it took so long, there should be huge water pressure in that tree house. Tomorrows job will be to go to each tree house and run a bath and see if there are problems and rectify.
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My worst experience. Arrived in a dump yard, climbing over welding machines and building rubble to reception, workers sitting in kids play ground, smelling of alcohol. Found wooden block with long nail within the long grass in playground. Our lodges was far apart, not reachable for our kids. Full payback or this will appear in many tourism magazines.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kobus Geldeblom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
I am so sorry you did not enjoy yourselves. We have been upgrading our general entertainment area to improve the experience for all our guests, unfortunately it has taken longer than expected, but is now nearly finished. We have 8 tree houses spread over 35 hectares so they are far apart and provide maximum privacy. The fire-circle in the playground is now complete. If the male staff working on the project smelled of alcohol I apologize and will be taking it up with them. I know the area we live in has the highest rate of alcohol abuse in South Africa, and alcoholic consumption is not permitted at work. You will be refunded. Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
15.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
7.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
11.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
14.8 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 100 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
7.5 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 13 in Sedgefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teniqua Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Property: Teniqua Treetops
Address: Foot hills | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree house accommodation. Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing