We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect way to say hello to 'wine'”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robertson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fraai Uitzicht 1798
Ranked #5 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The perfect way to say hello to 'wine'”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Heading for Stellenbosch we were absolutely lucky to have found this Fraai Uitzicht guesthouse and winery. The access from the parking area to the entrance of the main building promises the best there can be and indeed... dreams come true.
We were three couples and stayed in great rooms with all possible comfort and amenities. Also free WIFI !!
We had dinner in their restaurant that serves excellent food both for quality and presentation.
The host and his staff are most friendly and even entertaining.
Breakfast was fabulous with a bottle of pink quality sparkling wine served. Heaven !!
The establishment is perfectly located amidst its vinyards and with great views of the surrounding mountains.
Excellent value for money. We would recommend this place to all who visit the area.

Room Tip: Try to have a room close to the main lounge. Some rooms are a bit far from the 'heart' of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umberto-Huby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    25
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
138
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sea Point, Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

On our annual pilgrimage to Robertson's Wine on the River festival, we decided to revisit Fraai Uitzicht, where we had stayed early in 2011. We were taken across the garden to our accommodation in one of the one-roomed garden cottages, all of which are named after wine grapes. Ours was called Shiraz .The gardens are extensive and beautifully kept, with a small lake, stocked with koi, and a variety of bird life. The cottage was simply but elegantly furnished and very comfortable. The bedroom area has an extra length bed with feather and down pillows and individual duvets. The sitting room area has armchairs and a sofa with wide screen Digital Satellite TV and a fireplace. The large bathroom has underfloor heating. There is a separate shower wet room and loo and a private outside shower area. The restaurant has a fireplace to keep it cosy in winter. Wooden country furniture makes it feel very warm and comfortable. Fraai Uitzicht has its own vineyards and Karl Papesch - who owns the property with his wife Sandra, who is the chef - makes his own wine. We enjoyed a very limited release Viognier as well as his Merlot and Shiraz with our dinner. After an amuse of Chinese beef with sesame, Lynne had Singapore coconut chicken soup with noodles and John chose Carpaccio of warthog. For our mains, Lynne had Asian salmon trout with jasmine rice and stir fried vegetables and John enjoyed his Bread wrapped venison with parsley mousse, served with truffle mash, juniper jus and broccoli. For dessert, we had a perfect gooey chocolate fondant and a delicious Lemon panacotta. For breakfast, after a restful night's sleep, John had muesli, yogurt and fresh fruit, scrambled egg with chives, while Lynne enjoyed a cold meat and cheese platter, toast, a warm almond and a freshly baked chocolate croissant, Served with home made lemon jelly and raspberry jam. Our liquid needs were satisfied with freshly squeezed orange juice, Graham Beck Brut and plenty of good strong black coffee. Could one ask for more? The morning was bright and sunny at last and, after a lovely breakfast and many, many thank yous, we travelled back to Cape Town with a couple of wine-tasting stops on the way.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdamastorBacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusshof
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Hi There,
This April we have been again with Sandra and Carl Uwe at Fraai Uitzicht. What shall I say? What Sandra and Carl have built up there is just a dream. they are fantastic hosts. Sandra is a genious in kitchen and Carl Uwes Merlot ist just... ahhhhhhh wow.... It is alway a pleasure to come back there. We always stay in the cottage. You have enough space, like a little house. Also the dogs are amazing. After easter it was pretty calm there, therefore we went with Sandra and the dogs on a morning walk, ok, once we got nearly lost but we found the way back (remember Sandra....). and after such a walk a nice breakfast... live is wonderful. We will certainly come back again. All the best to Sandra, Carl Uwe and their team.
Alberto and Anita

Room Tip: Cottage is amazing to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossigina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durbanville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We visited the Fraai Uitzicht establishment once more. Its character, service, accomodation and food are still what one is looking for when escaping rom Cape Town; superb. Food and wine are outstanding. This dosen't take into account the wonderful surroundings of the Robertson area. when travelling from overseas, this is a must.

Room Tip: no preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfonsDurbanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at Fraai Uitzicht for one night in March but would loved to have stayed longer. The cottages are beautiful and so much attention to detail has been given. The gardens are immaculate and the setting is just wonderful in between the vineyards. Dinner was an absolute treat with the owner Sandra as chef and her husband Karl able to give you tips on wines. Definitely a place to go back to!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa1024752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

A wonderful location set among vinyards.The food is really excellent and very well presented.The 'house wine' is made in their own historic cellars and it is well worth having a bottle or two with your meal! The grounds are perfect for a relaxing day by the pool or a walk before dinner. The only downside is the lack of food service at lunch time on certain days of the week.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We were six friends spending two nights here, and what a stay! The rooms, the food, the service, the friendliness, the location, the wine. . . We will definetely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linawo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
1.1 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
12.8 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 25 in Robertson
366 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 25 in Robertson
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 25 in Robertson
143 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
4.2 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 25 in Robertson
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraai Uitzicht 1798? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraai Uitzicht 1798

Property: Fraai Uitzicht 1798
Address: Klaas Voogds East, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraai Uitzicht 1798 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Fraai Uitzicht 1798 Hotel Robertson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing