We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to unwind after a long road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to unwind after a long road”
Reviewed June 7, 2010

After spending a few days on the road, I finally got a chance for a break. I travel around South Africa reviewing accommodation venues for our website, so i can say with absolute certainty that Rosendal is the perfect place to unwind after a long stretch of work.... the perfect weekend getaway.

Will certainly visit again :-)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHunterGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    108
    38
    18
    12
See reviews for
60
259
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2010

My wife and I were impressed by Rosendal, especially the spa treatments. We travel a lot in South Africa, and this was a real getaway - we got far away!

The accommodation and winery at Rosendal was great. The rooms were spacious and the wines were good. Not the best in South Africa, but very good. The farm is quite far to travel, which is a hassel, but at the same time, it wouldn't be a good getaway if it was too close to Cape Town.

The spa there is the best part, we felt. Good treatments made us really relaxed and we could forget our jobs for a while. I would recommend going to Rosendal for the Spa part, and staying in the Spa Suites accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Imagine waking up in the morning to see the mountains blue sky and vineyard….AMAZING!! Then off for a tasty breakfast. WOW…..
Spa treatment mid-morning then a bit of wine tasting, light lunch, relaxing early evening walk then a superb dinner with the best wine in the world of course!!!! Then back to our super stylish comfortable room with a night cap.
If this doesn’t sound like heaven on earth I don’t know what will be!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinjvrensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2010

16 Triathletes travelled to Rosendal from London for 10 days of swim/bike/run training including the Argus bike race.
The staff could not have been more helpful and never was the complex left unattended as per previous suggestions.
Food was outstanding. If you could find fault then I think you are looking too hard!
Rooms were spacious, cleaned daily and immaculately.
The Pool and views were a delight. We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimfortri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

This spa and wellness centre suffers from not having the owners on site. For example at the pool area towels and sunloungers are not taken in in the evening but the following morning resulting in the loungers being wet if it rains during the night. There were not enough umbrellas for the guests using the pool area. The rooms are only quickly cleaned and towels and sheets only changed when requested. The staff need direction and some training. We were recommended by friends who had been there two years ago and when I told them my complaints they were not surprised. The spa area needs refurbishing as parts appear to be out of order. All in all this was our most disappointing venue we stayed at during our holiday

peter bailey

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rannoch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Dear Rannoch2,
I am most sorry that Rosendal didn’t deliver what we should do. I have taken note of all your points some time ago, and we have implemented new routines for our staff. We have also gone to great length to train our new staff and remind our old staff of what Rosendal is - and what we need to deliver to our guests.

In the winter season we did a refurb again with new decor in the spa as well as a new covered bar room downstairs in the restaurant.

We do hope you will give us a chance again. Thank you so much for your feedback; which is the only way we can keep improve our establishment.

All the best,

Geir Tellefsen
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights on the 'De stress' package at R2390 each. Just under £420 in total. This included a spa room, 1x2 course dinner, 1x3 course dinner, 2x breakfasts & 1x lunch plus 2x 1hour treatments each. A bargain! The only extras were drinks and a few things on the menu had a supplement.
The food was excellent, the only wine we had was their Cabernet Sauvignon & this was fine & reasonably priced. Yes, the breakfast buffet was limited as per the previous review but there was something for everyone plus the cooked options.
The bedroom was spacious with walk in shower & the bath in the bedroom. The room was incredibly hot even with the ceiling fan & a floor standing fan. Air conditioning is a necessity here. We understand that the problem is lack of enough electricity due to the remote location but it really does need to be sorted.
Spent a very hot day (43deg C) in the shade by the beautiful pool, interrupted by massages etc in the spa. Very relaxing.
The staff were so friendly, Elize never stopped laughing & Bernie was a star. Lidelle on reception couldn't do enough for us.
We would definitely return if it was ever possible.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excraftybakers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Rosendal winery is situated in the beautiful, secluded, mountain-framed winelands of Robertson. They have a lovely infinity pool looking out at breathtakingly beautiful mountains and vineyards, with a lovely restaurant overlooking a beautiful little dam.

The restaurant is incredible, the Belgian chefs there really know what they are doing - be it fillet, prawns, or ostrich! The buffet breakfast is unfortunately disappointing - it offers the bare minimum of cereal, ham, cheese, juice, and eggs, bacon, mushrooms. Not really what you would expect from a 4-star establishment. The waiters there are really pleasant, we just loved Bernie and Elize.

My husband and me are very interested in wine and loved touring the area with the hundreds of interesting wine farms! We wouldn't recommend Rosendal's wine though, although the Rose isn't too bad.. The spa was okay, but the jacuzzi doesn't look like it has been used for a very long time.

Unfortunately the service just wasn't 4-star, guests aren't really looked after or made to feel special. We stayed for 3 x days and ended up just helping ourselves to coffee from the kitchen or just fetching the menus ourselves. The restaurant's outside area really needs a proper clean, there are old spiderwebs adorning the tables and roof. The pool area and deck chairs one gets fixed really late in the morning. It is really unpleasant to start the day there with the previous day's clutter.

We also arrived there one day at about 16h00 and needed something cold to drink after a game of golf on a really hot day, only to find the entire lodge deserted with absolutely no one to help us!

We stayed in one of the farm rooms - the room was absolutely tiny and extremely hot, with only a divide between the bed and bathroom. The ceiling fan does very little to cool you down, and the mosquitoes have a field day if you dare open the door.

All in all Rosendal winery absolutely doesn't deserve their 4-star grading. It really just doesn't offer value for money :( It is an absolutely beautiful and peaceful place, but we would unfortunately not recommend it to anyone that is used to South African hospitality and certainly not to anyone paying in ZAR.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCECapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Dear MCECapeTown,

First of all thank you for your feedback and positive words about our location and restaurant.

Since you were at Rosendal we have done extensive new training of our staff - as well as brought in some new staff. We do believe this has improved our service level. In August we also did a refurb of the property, seeing new decor in the spa (the Jacuzzi area are now under refurb and will be changed into a spa relaxation zone) and new reception and bar downstairs.

We do put a lot of effort into our property, and we are sad to hear about your experience. There is never an excuse for a unhappy guest - but I do hope you will visit us again, so we can show our improvements to you.

In general was our customer satisfaction in your time period at a high level (98% very happy or happy with 75% response rate), so I do think you might have been very unlucky with your stay.

I wish you all the best, and again, I am sorry that we didn’t deliver what we should.

Best regards,

Geir Tellefsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
7.7 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
556 reviews
12.1 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
360 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#2 of 25 in Robertson
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
5.9 mi away
The LemonTree House
The LemonTree House
#12 of 25 in Robertson
45 reviews
5.9 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat

Property: Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Address: Klaasvoogds West | The Rosendal Wine Farm, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosendal wine farm has a four star wellness retreat with accommodation, spa and a french country restaurant by day and fine dining by night.The facilities are located on the Rosendal Winery farm just outside Robertson in the Western Cape.We offer five spa suites, three farm rooms and one family room. All with en-suite bathrooms, private patio and facilities you would expect to find in a four star establishment.The Thervine-focued spa has three separate treatment rooms with qualified spa therapists. We specialize in treatments based on the skin and pit of a wine grapes, high in antioxidants.The property also hold a fantastic rim-flow swimming pool with bar service steam room, a wine tasting area, a private tasting area in the cellar on request of staying guests.Our farm offer wine tasting for free from our wide range of red and white wines. Together with Lindt we also offer a wine and chocolate tasting. The restaurant by David Godin, a michelin awarded chef, serve french inspired country food. Lunches are lighter while the restaurant are transferred into fine dining by night. Our signature 5 course meal with wine pairing is a high light for most visitors.Activities in the area include more than 50 wine farms in the area, mountain biking, game drives, river cruise, art and craft and exciting cuisine. The farm got new management and chef in May 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing