We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Most relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights on the 'De stress' package at R2390 each. Just under £420 in total. This included a spa room, 1x2 course dinner, 1x3 course dinner, 2x breakfasts & 1x lunch plus 2x 1hour treatments each. A bargain! The only extras were drinks and a few things on the menu had a supplement.
The food was excellent, the only wine we had was their Cabernet Sauvignon & this was fine & reasonably priced. Yes, the breakfast buffet was limited as per the previous review but there was something for everyone plus the cooked options.
The bedroom was spacious with walk in shower & the bath in the bedroom. The room was incredibly hot even with the ceiling fan & a floor standing fan. Air conditioning is a necessity here. We understand that the problem is lack of enough electricity due to the remote location but it really does need to be sorted.
Spent a very hot day (43deg C) in the shade by the beautiful pool, interrupted by massages etc in the spa. Very relaxing.
The staff were so friendly, Elize never stopped laughing & Bernie was a star. Lidelle on reception couldn't do enough for us.
We would definitely return if it was ever possible.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank excraftybakers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    100
    33
    16
    10
See reviews for
56
234
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

Rosendal winery is situated in the beautiful, secluded, mountain-framed winelands of Robertson. They have a lovely infinity pool looking out at breathtakingly beautiful mountains and vineyards, with a lovely restaurant overlooking a beautiful little dam.

The restaurant is incredible, the Belgian chefs there really know what they are doing - be it fillet, prawns, or ostrich! The buffet breakfast is unfortunately disappointing - it offers the bare minimum of cereal, ham, cheese, juice, and eggs, bacon, mushrooms. Not really what you would expect from a 4-star establishment. The waiters there are really pleasant, we just loved Bernie and Elize.

My husband and me are very interested in wine and loved touring the area with the hundreds of interesting wine farms! We wouldn't recommend Rosendal's wine though, although the Rose isn't too bad.. The spa was okay, but the jacuzzi doesn't look like it has been used for a very long time.

Unfortunately the service just wasn't 4-star, guests aren't really looked after or made to feel special. We stayed for 3 x days and ended up just helping ourselves to coffee from the kitchen or just fetching the menus ourselves. The restaurant's outside area really needs a proper clean, there are old spiderwebs adorning the tables and roof. The pool area and deck chairs one gets fixed really late in the morning. It is really unpleasant to start the day there with the previous day's clutter.

We also arrived there one day at about 16h00 and needed something cold to drink after a game of golf on a really hot day, only to find the entire lodge deserted with absolutely no one to help us!

We stayed in one of the farm rooms - the room was absolutely tiny and extremely hot, with only a divide between the bed and bathroom. The ceiling fan does very little to cool you down, and the mosquitoes have a field day if you dare open the door.

All in all Rosendal winery absolutely doesn't deserve their 4-star grading. It really just doesn't offer value for money :( It is an absolutely beautiful and peaceful place, but we would unfortunately not recommend it to anyone that is used to South African hospitality and certainly not to anyone paying in ZAR.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCECapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Dear MCECapeTown,

First of all thank you for your feedback and positive words about our location and restaurant.

Since you were at Rosendal we have done extensive new training of our staff - as well as brought in some new staff. We do believe this has improved our service level. In August we also did a refurb of the property, seeing new decor in the spa (the Jacuzzi area are now under refurb and will be changed into a spa relaxation zone) and new reception and bar downstairs.

We do put a lot of effort into our property, and we are sad to hear about your experience. There is never an excuse for a unhappy guest - but I do hope you will visit us again, so we can show our improvements to you.

In general was our customer satisfaction in your time period at a high level (98% very happy or happy with 75% response rate), so I do think you might have been very unlucky with your stay.

I wish you all the best, and again, I am sorry that we didn’t deliver what we should.

Best regards,

Geir Tellefsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springerinne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

Our stay at Rosendal was just perfect. I had huge expectations since Im Norwegian and the owners also are from my country, and I didnt get dissapointed.

The Winery is not too easy to find at first, but when we found it we got so surprised about the wonderful athmosphere. Everything was so quit. Just perfect for a couple of romantic days.

The service was splendid, the food tastefull, the rooms wonderful and the price not bad. The restaurant price ers maybe a bit high, but the food tasted exellent.

I dont have so many negativ things to say, but if you are a person who likes big shoppingcentres, 10 different restaurants and so on this is not the place. But if you wants personal service, local food and drinking, quit and peacefull days, and a spa retreat Rosendal is the perfect stay for you.

AND for the running and cycling people: Its good opportunities to have a training sessions from the hotel. Just run out the door and enjoy an hour tranining!!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank springerinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

My husband & I stayed at Rosendal to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Due to limited availability we had to stay in the Spa room the friday evening & the Farm room the saturday evening - this was not really a problem for us. The Spa room was wonderful, the main feature being the bath in the room! We don't really have any complaints, except that we both woke up with sore backs after our night in the Farm room, as the mattress was not the best quality! Also the quality of the towelling robes that we were given the in Farm room left much to be desired - they were clean, but had holes in them. Not what you would expect from a 4 star facility. One other thing - we went for massages on the saturday afternoon - the ladies were very nice, but afterwards it didn't feel like we'd been for a massage! But that is just our personal feel - we should have maybe chosen a different type of massage. On the positive side, the food was AMAZING!! I would go back there JUST for the food!! It was really really great! Compliments to the chefs!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micahs_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

We went to Rosendal to stay for one night but on arriving and seeing the amazing location surrounded by vineyards and mountains, plus the amazing service, fantastic food and wine meant we stayed for three.
Lidelle the General Manager could not be more professional, helpful and smiley. In fact all of the staff were great (Elize a shining star in the restaurant)
When we arrived it was very quiet so for the first day had the pool almost to ourselves and the sunshine, views and wine made the perfect setting for my boyfriend's 30th birthday. We moved rooms after our second night and although no bath in the room (which was great) we had a four poster and still the great views from our little veranda.
Can't compliment the food highly enough - and the massage I had was great too.
Full marks all round. Thank you from Nat and Bob. xx

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bishalish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

This is our 4th visit to Rosendal and it didn't let us down! This is truly an amazing place, and people visiting Cape Town should definitely take a couple of days break from the city and visit Robertson. And if you do decide to go to Robertson, then the only place to stay is at Rosendal. It is quiet, personal and beautiful. The staff are friendly and helpful and the Spa treatments are fantastic. For someone visiting from the UK, you can have the most amazing massage for 1/2 the price you would pay in the UK - so take advantage of the opportunity!

The rooms are lovely, with a 4-poster bath (you need to see it) in the bedroom and lots of room to spread out. You also have your own private terrace that overlooks the endless pool, lake and most importantly - the sunset.

One thing that we think should be better promoted is the restaurant at Rosendal. They have an absolutely amazing chef who creates some of the best cuisine I've ever tasted (and i've been lucky enough to travel and sample a lot in my time). My personal recommendation would be to try the Tiger Prawns in either Rosemary or Garlic - they are unbelieveable.

All in all, the combination of: Robertson's wonderful vineyards (with free tastings!) and Rosendal's beautiful setting, rooms, service, spa and restaurant - make for a wonderful experience that we would recommend every time.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — No aircon
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Floozette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

My wife and I stayed for one night at Rosendal Winery and although it was pretty clean and tidy it was quite basic.
I guess that we were expecting a little more luxury for the price we paid.
We were undecided about the spa facilities and when we arrived we diceided not to take advantage if these facilities, we were put of by the Jacuzzi which looked like it hadn't been used for a while.
There's nothing to do on the estate and the town of Robertson is a fair distance away.
It rained the day we left and the car park was very muddy and made the car filthy inside and out.
The only saving grace is it's restaurant, for which I give full marks to the Belgium couple that run it. The food was excellent and well presented.
Without this restaurant this stay would have been very disapointing.

  • Liked — The Restaurant
  • Disliked — Lack of things to do, basic accommodation
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etypejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
7.7 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
12.1 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 24 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 24 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
3.9 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.8 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat

Property: Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Address: Klaasvoogds West | The Rosendal Wine Farm, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosendal wine farm has a four star wellness retreat with accommodation, spa and a french country restaurant by day and fine dining by night.The facilities are located on the Rosendal Winery farm just outside Robertson in the Western Cape.We offer five spa suites, three farm rooms and one family room. All with en-suite bathrooms, private patio and facilities you would expect to find in a four star establishment.The Thervine-focued spa has three separate treatment rooms with qualified spa therapists. We specialize in treatments based on the skin and pit of a wine grapes, high in antioxidants.The property also hold a fantastic rim-flow swimming pool with bar service steam room, a wine tasting area, a private tasting area in the cellar on request of staying guests.Our farm offer wine tasting for free from our wide range of red and white wines. Together with Lindt we also offer a wine and chocolate tasting. The restaurant by David Godin, a michelin awarded chef, serve french inspired country food. Lunches are lighter while the restaurant are transferred into fine dining by night. Our signature 5 course meal with wine pairing is a high light for most visitors.Activities in the area include more than 50 wine farms in the area, mountain biking, game drives, river cruise, art and craft and exciting cuisine. The farm got new management and chef in May 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing