We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place and people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Lodge Guest House
Ranked #10 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Weert, The Netherlands
1 review
“fantastic place and people”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We really met a great couple. Lynne and Paul are very friendly hosts, go out of their way to make one feel ever so welcome in a beautiful place. Comfortable and perfectly clean room, with everything one can wish for. More than 3 stars I would say. On our travels we have stayed at many 3 star B+B but none topped this B+B. Some places should get lessons from this couple.!Breakfast was not only delicious, also presented with flair. Our hosts made us feel quite at home and I would recommend everyone to visit Cedar Lodge Guest House for a great stay as well as experience the friendliest couple around in the B+B business. Excellent in all ways. Thanks Lynne and Paul.

Room Tip: This home is great so go visit this guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machteld v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bugjem, Owner at Cedar Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We hope to be able to host you again at some future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
45
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our stay at Cedar Lodge was a lovely experience. A warm welcome,spotless room and a
nourishing breakfast is just what a tired traveller needs.We will definitely be staying there again.
Lynne and Paul Goddard really go all out to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as only they know how. Once again a lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bugjem, Owner at Cedar Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Beverley and Malcolm,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your stay at Cedar Lodge. We really appreciate it ! Hope to see you both again soon when you are next in Robertson. Kind regards, Lynne and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a wonderful welcome from our hosts, Paul & Lynne, when we unexpectedly arrived looking for accommodation during our recent tour from Durban to Cape Town. The accommodation was very comfortable, with a large and very comfortable bed that took up a large part of the beautifully presented room. Everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained. Breakfast the next morning was really excellent and something of a social occasion while we chatted with Paul & Lynne.
Pity it was only a single night stopover in the beautiful Robertson region. If we pass that way again it will be my first choice for somewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor if you have a problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnoe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bugjem, Owner at Cedar Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your stay at Cedar Lodge. We really appreciate it !
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Lynne and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

if ever i'm staying in the robertson area again i will be back. our family stayed overnight after a wedding in the area. my brother and i stayed in the groundfloor room and my parents stayed in one of the 1st floor rooms. both were lovely. super comfy beds. crisp linen. squeaky clean. the rooms are small, but not uncomfortably so. the upstairs rooms have a lovely balcony/patio and downstairs you walk straight into the garden with pool. i can imagine for longer stays it must be lovely to lounge around the garden after a day's sightseeing.
hosts paul and lynne is just the right balance of friendly but not too friendly. and paul serves up a splendid breakfast.
i can't find anything to fault.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck-ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We loved our time in Robertson, although not a planned stop we were welcomed warmly. The owners really went above and beyond the call of duty. We would highly recommend staying here. The rooms are great and the food is delicious, particularly the fruit salad!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Cedar Lodge's owners, Paul and Lynne, were fantastic hosts during our stay in Robertson this weekend.
We had requested an earlier check-in as we were in town on business - not a problem! Lynne and Paul were happy to oblige. Our room was on the top floor with a stunning view of the mountain range. The room was clean and well equipped. We certainly did not want for anything.
The gardens/pool area are beautifully manicured.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We were staying somewhere else in Robertson for the weekend but decided to move and found Cedar Lodge through the tourist information office.

The rooms are very nice, yes they are a little on the smaller side but we had 4 large bags and had no problems! Everything was clean and new looking, no AC but the breeze from a large celing fan in the room keeps you cool (it was almost 40 degrees outside).

The owners put an exceptional amount of effort into making you feel welcome and the breakfast was simply superb. We have stayed in various other places in Robertson in varying price brackets and know where we will go the next time we visit!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
0.9 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 25 in Robertson
557 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
0.6 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
0.4 mi away
De Oude Opstal
De Oude Opstal
#6 of 25 in Robertson
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LemonTree House
The LemonTree House
#12 of 25 in Robertson
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge Guest House

Property: Cedar Lodge Guest House
Address: 23 Cedar Avenue, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where the Rest is Best". Upmarket accommodation in a quiet residential area in the Heart of Route 62 (longest wine route in the world). Private tropical garden setting with pool and abundant bird life. Three double rooms and a family suite, all with private entrances and verandas, tea/coffee trays, fans and heaters and wifi internet facilities. Enjoy sumptuous breakfasts as well as evening meals (by prior arrangement) prepared by Chef Paul. We stand by our motto - best beds, best meals and wine - the rest will speak for itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing