We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find. Your home away from home. only better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Ranked #1 of 24 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real find. Your home away from home. only better.”
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We've been travelling around the cape region for three weeks straight. We've stayed in all kinds of places -camped out, spend nights in fancy hotels as well as selfcatering apartments, but this great guesthouse was the best find of them all. Beautiful, spacious rooms with a great eye for detail and design, food to die for (try the champaign-breakfast to start your day in style :-) an enormous, wonderful garden with swimming pool, and a stylish room to relax. to top it all off: hilde and luc- the couple running the place- are warm, convivial and helpful people , making this your perfect place to explore the region. wonderful nature, and fifty winehouses to choose from.

if they 'd have a fanclub, i 'd join. :-)

bart (& annelies)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bart_steenhaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    55
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
388
11
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We had heard the best about Ballinderry Guest House before we left Sweden. We spent
the two first days and nights there during our visit in South Africa. It could not have started in a better way. The warm welcome from Hilde and Luc was outstanding. Once you entered the Guest House you did not want to leave it.
Part of the best memories are the tasteful breakfasts (with champagne!!) and dinners
without comparison.
We tell everyone who wants to listen to go to South Africa and stay at Ballinderry Guest House. Inger and Ulf Forsberg, Sweden

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hultet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

What a lovely couple. Hilde makes evening meal and there is absolutely no need to go out. The meal could not be surpassed in any top restaurant in the area. Absolutely outstanding decor, cleanliness, friendliness, helpfulness. Wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRowntrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Had a one night stop enroute from Cape Town to Sanbona Wildlife reserve and we could not have picked a better place to stay. Robertson itself is a lovely small town with some excellent places to visit and was worth a longer stay if we had time. The guest house itself was very comfortable with a lovely garden and pool with excellent service from Hilde and Luc. Hilde's cooking at breakfast and for the evening three course meal was also excellent. A great value for money one night stay and we should have stayed longer !!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We decided to stay at Robertson to break up our drive back to Cape Town on Route 62.
The Ballinderry proved a great choice. Luc and Hilde are very welcoming and the Guest House is lovely. They also organised a trip to the local stud farm and that proved to be a fantastic trip. The breakfast was great and it was a shame we didnt eat dinner in the Guest House as Hilde's food smelt great.
Thank you

Christian and Lisa

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate,UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We decided to give Robertson a try, having restricted ourselves to Franchhoek and Stellenbosch previously and were not disappointed. It is a "working" town but with lovely tree-lined streets, and as previous reviews have said the wine tasting is friendly and free -worth a visit in their own right, but the main reason the stay is so memorable is Ballinderry.
We had a garden room and it was spacious, light, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The owners, Luc and Hilde, are consummate hosts and nothing seemed too much trouble. We ate there the first night and the food was exceptional - decided to explore the next night and regretted that we missed the dinner. Make sure this place is on anyone's itinery!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggles023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

From the moment you arrive there is a degree of pampering which is wonderful.

Great welcome, great local advice and most of all carefully and tastefully prepapred food.

This second visit gave us the chance to experience an other room and the experience was a further proof that Ballinderry is a quality experience.

Fellow guests from Scandinavia, the United Kingdom as well as locals are treated to a special brand of service by the owners for whom there seem to be no difficulties in pleasing their guests.

The champagne breakfast is not to be missed.

We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sopw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
5.8 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
0.4 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 24 in Robertson
535 reviews
6.9 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 24 in Robertson
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
7.9 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 24 in Robertson
328 reviews
13.2 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House

Property: Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Address: 8 Le Roux Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique guest house in a quiet residential area. Unwind in a relaxed atmosphere of luxury and inspiring decor. Indulge your senses with mouth-watering food and fine Robertson wines. Enjoy unsurpassed hospitality and service excellence. Ballinderry has five double/twin rooms and two deluxe garden suites, all with air-conditioning, satellite TV and all other modern comforts. Facilities include pool and big tropical garden, top quality bedding, tea- and coffee facilities, fans, hair dryers, safes, WiFi and secure off-street parking. English & Continental champagne breakfast included in our rates. Don't miss Hilde's mouth-watering home cooked dinners, inspired by her Belgian roots and love for the Mediterranean cuisine. A feast for foodies and wine-lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing