We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saggy Stone

Saggy Stone
Ranked #8 of 28 Restaurants in Robertson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I love to explore gravel roads and came upon this gem of a place. Beautiful and tranquil setting - we must have spent 3 hours there, just soaking up the scenery and lovely atmosphere! Great service and friendly staff, who welcomed us with a smile. Delicious food and great (craft) beer! My only complaint (a VERY small one) would be that the Hamburger bun (toasted ciabatta) wasn't buttered & a little more sauce would've been great. Thick home-made patty was yummy and the 'rustic chips' fantastic. We will definitely be back - with friends!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    50
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Robertson, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lets do it again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Enjoyable meal on a warm day! Beer fantastic and a big tasty burger. Delicious coleslaw and chips too. Child friendly. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertsonRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson Wine Valley, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Some unique Beers to taste at Saggy Stone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Worthwhile to do the drive to them. Book to be safe. Excellent venue and very scenic. Take a mini bus and make it a group effort

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GEM IN A LOVELY TRANQUIL SETTING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a lovely find. Good beer & food. We were there on Saturday, arrived @ noon so still quiet but constant flow of people thereafter. There were 5 of us. We had eisbien, lamb shanks, beef & ale pie & fish & chips, roast veg & chips, all excellent. Only slight complaint, the batter on fish was too much & rather oily (would have preferred the choice of grilled). Lovely atmosphere with sufficient shade & good friendly service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Venue, Tasty Food, Great Chef.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a lovely venue more suited to a lazy lunch or brunch over the weekend. It is a laid back venue for the entire family, with okay service, but who cares on a lazy sunshine day. Food is well presented and tasty - don't expect a huge menu but what they offer is great and certainly their special of the day is something 'special'.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelProCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRobSaggy, Owner at Saggy Stone, responded to this review, May 24, 2015
Hi Jodi. We knew the pizzas would be the right way to go after having yours at Buzbar. Being friends for so long I would have hoped that you would discuss the service issue in person. We have extremely busy days and may be caught short staffed at times. It is something which we try to improve on, but as you know, the labour pool is a little shallow in Robertson. Chat soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saggy Stone also viewed

 
Robertson, Western Cape
 
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Been to Saggy Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing