We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed!”

Mo & Rose at Soekershof
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Robertson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Discover MO & ROSE’s country getaway for exploring the Robertson Wine Valley – situated on perhaps the world’s longest wine route the R60/R62 just outside of Robertson in scenic Klaasvoogds West. Nestled at the foot of the Langeberg mountains, enter a magical world – a sensual secret garden inhabited by legions of succulent plants and trees silhouetted against the vast South African sky. At the centre of this marvel reside the boutique country house and a superb wine bistro.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Closed!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had planned a lunch here when we arrived into Robertson before driving to McGregor.
The tourist info centre gave us the directions and said it was open, the wine route list said it was open but then the other booklet./info said it was closed!
They need to make sure the opening times in the tourist adverts is correct!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilkleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika S, Owner at Mo & Rose at Soekershof, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Lucy,

we are very sorry that we were not open when you visited and apologize for the inconvenience! Although we are open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner from October until 5 May 2013 (Sunday evening only with prior reservation!) we were closed on that one Thursday, the 10th of January for private reasons. Sorry again that it was exactly on that day and that we didn't inform the tourism office, that was of course a mistake!

We invite you to visit our website www.moandrose.co.za for our opening hours during summer and winter-time.
From 13 May until 29 September 2013 we will be closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays.

Kind Regards,
Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    37
    20
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hosts and incredible cuisine!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I, along with two close friends of ours, managed to get the last table at the new years eve party hosted by Axel and his extremely efficient team. The night was a resounding success and nothing short of one of the best new years eve dinners/parties we've been to in a while. Mo & Rose is a hidden gem and well worth the visit for the food alone, not to mention the beautiful setting and flawless hospitality. The quality of champagnes and food served on the evening were on a par with some of the best best establishments I've been to in London. A job well done and a great start to 2013!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scots in Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Food and service were excellent. We went for dinner and loved it so much we went back next day for lunch!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MRCScotsinSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Make sure you have lunch or dinner here when in the Robertson Valley”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were taken here by some locals while on holiday. It was one of our memorable lunches of the holiday. The food was exquisite and beautifully prepared. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
We sat outside on a beautiful summer's day, admiring the beautiful surroundings. I had probably the best I have ever tasted. We had a wonderful long lingering lunch. The food was so good we had to have 3 courses! The wine list is local to the Robertson area and very reasonably priced
If you are in Robertson, or just passing through on the R60, then make a point of stopping here

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exquisite setting”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

A perfect setting for a light lunch - the antipasti and charcuterie platters and salad were divine, accompanied by a great selection of wines by the glass and great hosts - Axel and Monika

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GingerMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo & Rose at Soekershof also viewed

 
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Been to Mo & Rose at Soekershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing