We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service throughout! and 5-star accommodation!”
Review of Orange Grove Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orange Grove Farm
Ranked #2 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent service throughout! and 5-star accommodation!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

From my first contact with Orange Grove Farm (Lorrin) via phone and email, I felt the warmth and yet professional vibe of this place, but arriving there, this was simply confirmed - meeting Carlos, Lolly, Lorrin and JJ. Wouterspan was such a great experience and everything (but everything!) works, is spotless and so well managed. Thank you ALL for our special experience - we do sincerely hope to be back!

Room Tip: The loft at Wouterspan was great! but Marthie loved her groundfloor bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Owner at Orange Grove Farm, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and pictures - we certainly value your feedback and it will encourage us to continue improving our guests' stay experience and service delivery. It was great to have you here as our guests and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Orange Grove Farm. Happy Travels, Carlos & the OGF Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    36
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
114
171
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We spent a wonderful two days on Orange Grove Farm. Our cottage was just perfect and the service was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The breakfast was delicious (probably the best breakfast hampers in South Africa). Carlos took us on a 4*4 ride and we really enjoyed the hike! We plan to return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Owner at Orange Grove Farm, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we sincerely appreciate your kind words and we are glad that Orange Grove Farm met your expectations. Your valuable feedback will inspire us to continue improving our guests' stay-experience. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Orange Grove Farm! Happy Travels, Carlos & the OGF Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The stay at Orange Grove Farm was our highlight during our 3 week South Africa vacation. Everything was perfect, the landscape, the quality of the interour and exteriour of the houses (private pool and barbacue!), the services offered by the owner (hiking, picknicks with 360° views, really lovely food and wine, homemade). Thank you so much, we really enjoyed every day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Owner at Orange Grove Farm, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words - we enjoyed having you here as our guest and we are glad that you had a great holiday experience at Orange Grove Farm. Happy travels, Carlos & the OGF Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We took our parents away for the weekend and stayed in Wouterspan cottage which has 3bedrooms and their own bathrooms. We fell in love with Orange grove Farm for various reasons.....the beauty, the friendly and efficient staff, the fantastic produce in the breakfast baskets, the stunning gardens, the care with which the farm is looked after and the great 1812 products. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: Wouterspan has 2upstairs bedrooms. If you are taking elderly people, it may be a problem to get up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvettevanAntwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Owner at Orange Grove Farm, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review - we are glad that Orange Grove Farm met your expectations and your enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly work on improving our product and stay-experience; your feedback is important to us. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Orange Grove Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We spent a peaceful night in this well equipped and spacious cottage which is large enough to live in permanently. The views are fabulous over the vines and olive trees. We were prepared to self cater and had a successful braai before night fell. There was a power cut from 8-10.30 which we were warned about but the promised extra torch/ lantern didn't arrive.
There is no ceiling or free standing fan supplied although maybe if we had asked one might have been provided.
The breakfast basket was beautifully presented with flowers attached and a whole loaf of fresh baked bread. However at 250 rand pp so it should be. Having found there is a fully equipped kitchen area it would have been easy to take supplies with.
The Longlands cottage we stayed in was sufficiently remote not to want to leave it until check out but there are restaurants not too far way in Robertson or even the winemakers at the turn off to the farm.
There is opportunity to buy some of the sweet smelling toiletries they supply .
The disclaimer form you have to sign is a bit disconcerting. Even if you were bitten by a venomous snake, why would claiming against the farm be a consideration?
We didn't see any dangerous wildlife only lots of lovely birds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Owner at Orange Grove Farm, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us - we value your honest feedback. Orange Grove Farm takes great pride in our service and constantly work on improving it. We trust that your next stay with Orange Grove Farm will proof to be even more exceptional. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Orange Grove Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Orange Grove farm was the perfect getaway for us. We stayed two nights at Mosesberg cottage.
The accommodation was perfect with lots of attention to detail.
We were impressed with the friendly and efficient service from the moment we made our reservation.
We felt privileged to relax and enjoy the fantastic panoramic vistas that surrounded us.
It was great to be able to cool down in the private pool.
The Peerboom trail was a great walk for us and it was lovely being surrounded by nature.
We also enjoyed the bird life.
We would certainly like to return!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Owner at Orange Grove Farm, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and taking the time to share it with us. We are glad that Orange Grove Farm met your expectations and that you could enjoy a great stay experience with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Orange Grove Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was our second visit to Orange Grove Farm, and once again, we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Wonderful views, lovely walks, stunning accommodation - we felt very spoiled - we will definitely be back in the near future !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 109JANET109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Owner at Orange Grove Farm, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and kind words. We are glad that Orange Grove Farm met your expectations once again and that you enjoyed a great stay experience with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Orange Grove Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
12.1 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
6.5 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 25 in Robertson
544 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
14.8 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 25 in Robertson
328 reviews
9.3 mi away
De Hoop Cottages
De Hoop Cottages
#2 of 20 in Robertson
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Grove Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Grove Farm

Property: Orange Grove Farm
Address: PO Box 972, Noree, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Orange Grove Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic mountains, crystal clear waterfalls, and abundant fauna and flora - at Orange Grove Farm guests can discover the wonders of nature, choose from a vast range of outdoor activities, or succumb to the peace, quiet and tranquility.Orange Grove Farm is a working wine and olive farm situated in the heart of Robertson's valley of wine and roses. The farm is less than two hours from Cape Town and is the ideal place to relax and rejuvenate.Our luxurious cottages, available in self-catering or B&B options, are named after the areas where the owner mined diamonds, and each has a unique story to tell. They combine comfort and beauty, offering a setting in which to linger and relax. Each cottage is fully serviced daily by our friendly staff, leaving you only to concentrate on unwinding and enjoying the magnificence of your surroundings. Your private veranda and swimming pool provides a relaxing vantage-point to take in spectacular mountain views, the overwhelming sound of silence, and the truly prolific bird-life. At night the crystal clear sky, and no artificial lights, will spectacularly display the breath-taking canopy of our southern stars. It will simply take your breath away!Our cottages are located far enough from each other so as to provide maximum privacy for our guests. Access to each is via your own private road.If you are looking for a romantic, elegant country setting and personalized service, visit Orange Grove Farm. We look forward to welcoming you to one of our luxurious cottages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Orange Grove Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing