We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orange Grove Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orange Grove Farm
Ranked #2 of 23 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cape town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a wonder place to relax and enjoy!

Stunning setting in the vineyards and first class accommodation. We stayed in Mosesburg cottage, perfectly furnished and equiped, down to an egg boiler, own private plunge pool, perfect for a romantic getaway!

Carlos, the owner, pays such special attention to his guests which makes one feel so at home. We went for a breathtaking 4x4 drive and followed this up with a prepared picnic.

A BIG BIG thank you for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    35
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
108
165
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We visited in February and stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage, it was equipped to an excellent standard and is a great place to chill and relax, dipping in and out of the pool to cool off, perfect! We will return for sure....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have visited Orange Grove farm twice and its absolutely amazing!! The attention to detail, hospitality and friendly staff made our stay so much more enjoyable. Its really a place to just get away from the city. With your own pool, what more do you need? Definitely a place to visit again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

What an absolute find! My husband & I stayed at OGF for the last 4 nights of our 2 week Honeymoon & we couldn't have been happier!

We stayed in the Mosesberg Cottage (sleeps 2), the cottage is very spacious, lovely open lounge area with TV/ sofa, huge sumptuous bed with immaculate linen/ towels all provided, well equipped kitchen & a large bathroom (huge shower but no bath). All of the bathroom toiletries are made with produce grown on the farm - wonderful touch!

The cottage has a thatched roof so super high ceilings, no a/c so it did get a little hot during the night (temps hit 40 degrees in Jan) but not that much of a big deal really & very cool during the day.

Though the cottage is gorgeous we didn't spend much time inside as the outside is what really makes this place special! Orange Grove Farm is set on a working farm, a huge area that grows vines for wine, olives & fruit attracting the most wonderful wildlife (nothing too scary - that we saw anyway!), all with the dramatic backdrop of the mountains. Sunsets on the terrace are truly breathtaking & so romantic, you have a private plunge pool & a braai with a lovely seating area for breakfast/ dinner.
The cottages are all set apart from each other giving the perfect amount of seclusion but close enough to the main office if you need anything at anytime.

There are various local hikes & other activities such as canoeing/ biking etc that staff at OGF can help you arrange. We did not have a car so were able to borrow bikes (for free) which was a great way to explore. The closest winery/ shop & restaurant is Rooiberg Wine Estate which is about 20mins on bike (5 mins by car), great lunch spot with a deli for take away items to take back to the cottage, other than that Robertson main town is about 15mins by car (a bit too far far to bike in the heat) with lots of shops/ restaurants etc - we went Ruben's at The Roberston Small Hotel for dinner one evening, absolutely wonderful!
We can't recommend local tour guide/ driver Mark Powell (mark@awesometour.co.za) enough, very fair rates & such a wonderful guy with vast local knowledge!
We also recommend doing the Viljoensdrift River Cruise - grab a picnic basket from the deli, a bottle of wine & cruise the Breede River for an hour, such a lovely way to spend an afternoon in the sun.

Overall a truly wonderful end to our Honeymoon, excellent, friendly staff, safe & stunning grounds, divine views & total comfort - thank you OGF team for creating such a special place, we'll definetly be back!

Room Tip: The fresh breakfast baskets are wonderful, R 150 & are delivered to your door at anytime you req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horton-Clarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Owner at Orange Grove Farm, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
It was an absolute delight to read of your pleasant stay here with us at Orange Grove Farm, in the beautiful Robertson wine valley. We feel honoured that we were chosen to host and accommodate you on the last few nights of your honeymoon and that we were able to meet your expectations. We sincerely trust that you had a pleasant two weeks of travelling and that you are well.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Orange Grove Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This farm is amazing. Beautiful surroundings with stunning views. Out group had the 2 & 3 bed cottage and both are fabulous with beautiful decor and original features. The owner Carlos was so accommodating and brought us all on a 4x4 drive through the surrounding mountains. A fantastic experience and we are already planning our next trip later this year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Owner at Orange Grove Farm, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing Orange Grove Farm for your recent stay in the Breede River Valley. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience with us and that we were able to meet your expectations.
It was a pleasure to have you as our Guests and I hope to welcome you back to our beautiful valley in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The cottages are beautiful with all the perfect little touches. The views are wonderful and the kids were kept very busy between riding their bikes and swimming in the private pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful.We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VdBijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here fore 3 days during our honeymoon in the Western Cape, and it was by far our favourite place. The Mosesberg cottage is fantastic, Miguel, our host could not have been more pleasant and we had a relaxed and memorable stay. The cottage is furnished luxuriously with high quality fittings and furnishings and is very private, with stunning views up and down the valley and its own private plunge pool. The views of the sunset were really spectacular from the front deck.

We ordered a breakfast basket the one morning which was delivered with a bunch of flowers and everything you could wish for in a breakfast. Fresh eggs and bacon, freshly baked bread, homemade preserves and butter, muffins, fruit, yoghurt and muesli, orange juice and milk. We also ordered a sundowner picnic and were taken up the mountainside to a beautiful deck by a stream. It was a private and beautiful setting. Again, the basket of food provided more than we expected, and more than we could eat between the two of us, as well as wine made from the grapes grown at the farm. There was a real committment to using local produce, and even the complimentary soap and shampoo etc in the cottage were made from olive oil from the olives grown on the farm.

Our car had a flat tyre while staying there, and Miguel arrived to save the day with all tools we didn't have, and actually ended up changing the tyre himself.

We really couldn't have asked for more, and we will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahruthsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
6.5 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 23 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
12.1 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
6.9 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
7.0 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
12.0 mi away
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
#3 of 20 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Grove Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Grove Farm

Property: Orange Grove Farm
Address: PO Box 972, Noree, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Orange Grove Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic mountains, crystal clear waterfalls, and abundant fauna and flora - at Orange Grove Farm guests can discover the wonders of nature, choose from a vast range of outdoor activities, or succumb to the peace, quiet and tranquility.Orange Grove Farm is a working wine and olive farm situated in the heart of Robertson's valley of wine and roses. The farm is less than two hours from Cape Town and is the ideal place to relax and rejuvenate.Our luxurious cottages, available in self-catering or B&B options, are named after the areas where the owner mined diamonds, and each has a unique story to tell. They combine comfort and beauty, offering a setting in which to linger and relax. Each cottage is fully serviced daily by our friendly staff, leaving you only to concentrate on unwinding and enjoying the magnificence of your surroundings. Your private veranda and swimming pool provides a relaxing vantage-point to take in spectacular mountain views, the overwhelming sound of silence, and the truly prolific bird-life. At night the crystal clear sky, and no artificial lights, will spectacularly display the breath-taking canopy of our southern stars. It will simply take your breath away!Our cottages are located far enough from each other so as to provide maximum privacy for our guests. Access to each is via your own private road.If you are looking for a romantic, elegant country setting and personalized service, visit Orange Grove Farm. We look forward to welcoming you to one of our luxurious cottages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Orange Grove Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing