We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quince Cottage a dirty dump.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tierhoek Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robertson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tierhoek Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quince Cottage a dirty dump.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

The cottage was dirty and run down. We were not able or did not want to sit on chair and couch in the living area because it was so dirty.The bathroom also needed a good deep clean. It was really disappointing and spoiled our long planned trip to this beautiful part of our country.

Room Tip: Don't trust the pictures on the web, ask for updated photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beat700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your photographs and the issues you raised regarding Quince Cottage.
We pride ourselves on providing a relaxed, country experience for guests and we apologise that the cottage was not as clean as you expected.
It was unfortunate that you were not prepared to discuss the problems directly with us so that we could resolve the situation before you left. We had re-plastered the shower last year but the materials used have begun to discolour, along with the persistent staining on the shower floor. We have scheduled this area to be re-furbished, as soon as we can, so that it looks more welcoming for guests. Please be assured that it was thoroughly cleaned before your arrival.
Your input has been very helpful in our efforts to provide an enjoyable, cottage experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    36
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
44
117
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This really is a stunning place! The cottages are very cosy and well equipped. Breathtaking scenery from the cottages. Each cottage has its own swimming pool overlooking the mountains. The oy thing I would suggest is some milk with the coffee/tea that were provided.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marliese G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Marliese

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Cottage we appreciate your feedback and your experience at Tierhoek. We have noted your suggestion of milk in the cottages for guests on arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tierhoek in the near future.
Warm regards
Tierhoek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I went with my girlfriend for a weekend to the Peppertree Cottage not knowing what to expect. We were blown away by the place. Well kept, it is equipped with all the essentials, you have no cell reception (big bonus to me) and you are completely alone with nature. It is a must stay and I will be back in the future!! A little piece of heaven!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Stephan
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Pepper Tree and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Tierhoek and look forward to welcoming you back. Perhaps when it is a bit warmer to enjoy the plunge pool.
Warm regards Alison, Bruce, Iona and the Tierhoek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Pepper tree cottage. Very well appointed, amazing views, lots of birds to watch. Was so relaxing sitting on the stoep and just chilling. Lovely braai area and a very comfortable and cosy cottage. We are already planning our next visit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Janet

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Pepper Tree and glad you had such success with bird watching and look forward to your next visit with us - perhaps in warmer times when the plunge pool looks more inviting!
Warm regards
Alison, Bruce, Iona and the Tierhoek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

AMAZING!! What a wonderful time away. Really exceeds all expectations. Stunning view, more than enough space, it has absolutely everything you need in the house, quiet, tranquil, i could go on and on.

Will absolutely be back, Thank you Iona!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKCG, Front Office Manager at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Craig
Thank you so much for your review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Tierhoek and glad we could make you as comfortable as possible during the gruelling Cape Epic. Look forward to your return in more relaxed circumstances.
Warm regards Iona and the Tierhoek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have stayed at Tierhoek before - at Pepper Tree Lodge. This time we opted for Stone Cottage. Really fantastic! In my view the best cottage by far that we have stayed in for a long time. Perfect for couples who want comfort, privacy and a place to relax in peace!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louw C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review and that you enjoyed Stone so much - each cottage has its own character as you are finding when you stay with us and guests do find their favourite one! Look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards
Alison and Tierhoek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Tierhoek Farm is a great place to stay. Tranquil, beautiful and private. Good accommodation and friendly service.
We had a great stay and felt refreshed and recharged.
Save us a space. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review - we are delighted you enjoyed the farm and the mountains and the tranquillity and look forward to your return.
Warm regards
Alison and Tierhoek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
2.0 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 24 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
12.7 mi away
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
#3 of 20 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
16.0 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
9.8 mi away
De Hoop Cottages
De Hoop Cottages
#2 of 20 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierhoek Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierhoek Cottages

Property: Tierhoek Cottages
Address: Tierhoek | Noree, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Robertson
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, romantic, self-catering cottages nestled at the foot of the majestic Langeberg mountains near Robertson. Less then 2 hours from Cape Town you can find peace and privacy.Each cottage is fully equipped and elegantly furnished with a private pool, wide verandahs, indoor and outdoor fireplaces and breathtaking views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing