We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best trip of My life”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tierhoek Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robertson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tierhoek Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“Best trip of My life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The establishmentt was quaint and calm. It was tranquil and really brought one close to nature with spectacular views. The cottages were cosy and well furnished. To me it was un expected environment and i will now make it my holiday spot, particularly for weekend aways.... i think winter holidays will be excellent in that place as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andile N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Andile
Thank you for your review of Tierhoek Cottages and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you back many more times in the future.
Kind regards
Alison and the Tierhoek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    36
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
44
118
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband, son and I visited Tierhoek cottage and the only thing that I could complain about is that it was too short!

Friday afternoon to Sunday afternoon, though short, was still replenishing and I spent several hours soaking in the bath enjoying the incredible view of the valley and mountains and amazing array of birdlife. I even imagine I saw a Narina Trogon one morning!

The pool was a winner with Adam and Alison and Bruce and their boys were kind and hospitable without being intrusive.

I can highly recommend this farm and any of the cottages, but do yourself a favour and go for as long as possible!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanne & Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Joanne
Thank you for your kind comments and we are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Please let us know when you want to take that week break!
Regards
Alison and the Tierhoek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellebosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Welcoming flowers! Appreciated extra Tuppperware, dishwasher and lots of cutlery! Forgot to let you know my son broke the one oil lamp shade (please let me know what I owe) guest toilet broken. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of your time at Fig Tree and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. No worries about the glass lamp and maintenance is onto repairing the toilet seat! Look forward to your return. Warm regards Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

we stayed in the Tierhoek House and the lucky bean cottage behind it as we decided to have the whole family with their husbands/wives and kids.
each couple had their room, and privacy,so there was time and place for romance, but the absolute best is the time together which the Big House allows inside and under the big tree outside. and when it drizzled we gathered in the stoep. our family will never forget this time together in a wonderful setting. Tierhoek owners care about the guests - attention to little details amazed us (such as extra adaptors for plugs/ telephone charges etc). we will be back !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay at Tierhoek House - it is exactly what we wanted the place to be - a gathering of friends and family with space and yet able to be together "bonding" as you said. We really appreciate your comments and look forward to your next gathering- perhaps when it is warmer for the pool! Warm regards Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a wonderful place to switch of from all the city lights and noises. We had a wonderful weekend and relaxed a lot. Very quite and relaxing atmosphere. Will definitely go back again to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaco N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jaco
Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your time with us at Tierhoek and at Stone. We are delighted that you were able to relax and enjoy being on the farm and look forward to your return - perhaps when the plunge pool looks more inviting. Regards Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

As always a wonderful escape from the rat race - now our fifth year at Pepper Tree Cottage. Unfortunately the weather was freezing but we still had a relaxed and enjoyable stay - and got to see the wine farms of the area, plus another visit to Saggy Stone Brewery.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Front Office Manager at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jane Thank you for your review - we are delighted you enjoyed your time at Pepper Tree again and look forward to your return perhaps in the summer when the plunge pools are more inviting! Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Location is wonderful, cottages are delightful. A place to relax and be at peace - no TV, no traffic noise, no cellphone reception (if needed its a 2 minute drive to get some) - go to Tierhoek to recharge! Highly recommend if you are wanting to escape ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Neil
Thank you for your review. We were delighted that you choose us for the 'surprise' time away and were able to 'getting away from it all'. We look forward to your return perhaps when the weather is warmer and the orchards are full of fruit! Warm regards Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
2.0 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 23 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
12.7 mi away
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
#3 of 20 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
9.8 mi away
De Hoop Cottages
De Hoop Cottages
#2 of 20 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
13.0 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
16.0 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierhoek Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierhoek Cottages

Property: Tierhoek Cottages
Address: Tierhoek | Noree, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Robertson
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, romantic, self-catering cottages nestled at the foot of the majestic Langeberg mountains near Robertson. Less then 2 hours from Cape Town you can find peace and privacy.Each cottage is fully equipped and elegantly furnished with a private pool, wide verandahs, indoor and outdoor fireplaces and breathtaking views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing