We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family bonding place”
Review of Tierhoek Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tierhoek Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

we stayed in the Tierhoek House and the lucky bean cottage behind it as we decided to have the whole family with their husbands/wives and kids.
each couple had their room, and privacy,so there was time and place for romance, but the absolute best is the time together which the Big House allows inside and under the big tree outside. and when it drizzled we gathered in the stoep. our family will never forget this time together in a wonderful setting. Tierhoek owners care about the guests - attention to little details amazed us (such as extra adaptors for plugs/ telephone charges etc). we will be back !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay at Tierhoek House - it is exactly what we wanted the place to be - a gathering of friends and family with space and yet able to be together "bonding" as you said. We really appreciate your comments and look forward to your next gathering- perhaps when it is warmer for the pool! Warm regards Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 224 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a wonderful place to switch of from all the city lights and noises. We had a wonderful weekend and relaxed a lot. Very quite and relaxing atmosphere. Will definitely go back again to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jaco N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Jaco
Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your time with us at Tierhoek and at Stone. We are delighted that you were able to relax and enjoy being on the farm and look forward to your return - perhaps when the plunge pool looks more inviting. Regards Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

As always a wonderful escape from the rat race - now our fifth year at Pepper Tree Cottage. Unfortunately the weather was freezing but we still had a relaxed and enjoyable stay - and got to see the wine farms of the area, plus another visit to Saggy Stone Brewery.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Front Office Manager at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Jane Thank you for your review - we are delighted you enjoyed your time at Pepper Tree again and look forward to your return perhaps in the summer when the plunge pools are more inviting! Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Location is wonderful, cottages are delightful. A place to relax and be at peace - no TV, no traffic noise, no cellphone reception (if needed its a 2 minute drive to get some) - go to Tierhoek to recharge! Highly recommend if you are wanting to escape ...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Neil
Thank you for your review. We were delighted that you choose us for the 'surprise' time away and were able to 'getting away from it all'. We look forward to your return perhaps when the weather is warmer and the orchards are full of fruit! Warm regards Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having grown up in Robertson (many years ago) it is with a sense of 'i know it all' that I returned. Well Tierhoek just minutes before you reach Robertson was new to me and wow what a find! Magnificent environment to explore and enjoy and with facilities of a 5 star establishment. Our whole family gathered here in the large house on the hill and loved it! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rael10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Tierhoek - We are delighted that you were able to get together with family and enjoy the valley and the space. We look forward to your return - perhaps to one of the smaller more romantic cottages!! Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a fantastic place to go to get away from it all. Tucked away on a pretty working farm, it is the perfect place for couples to unwind and relax. The views are fantastic, even from the bath big enough for two. I loved that we were left in peace and could just enjoy the romantic weekend away in a spectacular spot. Be advised that it is a little off the beaten track, so come prepared with enough wine and food to keep you going 'cos you will not want to leave the place. I will definitely be back there in Summer when I can skinny dip in the private splash pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Marc

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us recently and glad that you enjoyed your time at Tierhoek with the remoteness and the romance. The plunge pool will definitely look more inviting in the summer and can fit two! Regards Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

When we arrived we were blown away by the setting of stone cottage - remote, beautiful and undisturbed. A great getaway for a couple of days and so many places to visit in the nearby vicinity with great food and wine. Just enjoyable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Paul D
Thanks so much for taking the time to give a review of your stay at Stone Cottage. We know you were only able to get away for a short time but delighted that you made the most of it. Look forward to welcoming you back in the summer when the plunge pool is more inviting! Regards Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
2.0 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 25 in Robertson
375 reviews
12.8 mi away
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
#3 of 22 in Robertson
56 reviews
13.0 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
De Hoop Cottages
De Hoop Cottages
#2 of 22 in Robertson
83 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
14.7 mi away
Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierhoek Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierhoek Cottages

Address: Tierhoek | Noree, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Robertson
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, romantic, self-catering cottages nestled at the foot of the majestic Langeberg mountains near Robertson. Less then 2 hours from Cape Town you can find peace and privacy.Each cottage is fully equipped and elegantly furnished with a private pool, wide verandahs, indoor and outdoor fireplaces and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Tierhoek Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing