We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility Guaranteed”
Review of Tierhoek Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tierhoek Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Tranquility Guaranteed”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Beautifully located. Tranquil and serene, close to nature. Old and yet modern accommodation. No reception of any sorts makes it magic.
Perfect for winter with huge fireplaces. Great get away for anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ursula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your support and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. There is always plenty of firewood available for the winter! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards the Tierhoek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    42
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
49
129
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A perfect place to relax and unwind. Lovely to be in the hills looking onto the mountains. The seclusion suited us perfectly yet it was close enough to the attractions that the area had to offer. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We do appreciate your comments and always love that you had a great stay on our farm. We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at Tierhoek Cottages during April and it was AMAZING! The weather during the day was pleasant enough to take a dip in the private pool and cold enough during the night to be able to light the fireplace!

Opt for Stone Cottage! It has amazing views over the valley and the mountains and is the most private. I loved the outside shower and the front stoep to enjoy the views from! This organic farm is a must visit for all nature loving folk...no...this is a must visit for everyone!!!

I will surely return for a second and third visit!

Thanks to Bruce and Alison!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryFoodieTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the encouraging review. We love sharing our farm and its always great when guests enjoy it as much as we do. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is our umpteenth time at Tierhoek so obviously we love it and we have stayed in all the cottages except Pepper Tree. All have been thoroughly enjoyable and each place is totally unique. We will keep coming!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed the weekend at Pepper Tree Cottage. The cottage has everything you need to relax including a massive bath with stunning views. The view from the stoep and the plunge pool is amazing - looking onto the mountain range and down the valley. The farm itself is fantastic with various fruits grown (jams are sold for a very reasonable price in the cottage) and animals roaming the farm including 3 donkeys and a wild horse. We really didn't want to leave and have promised ourselves to return soon. If you really value your relaxation, I suggest stocking up on supplies before you get there so you don't need to leave. Although if you do need anything, Roberston is only a 20km drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rach_444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in Stone Cottage for 5 nights and we absolutely loved it! The farm is beautiful, the cottage lovely and the sourroundings amazing. Next time we will do during harvest season, that must give the experience something even more spacial.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank letsseethew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I only had one problem with Tierhoek.. THAT I HAD TO LEAVE TO COME HOME! What an incredible weekend spent on Bruce and Alison's farm!
The glowing reviews I read did not even start to do this place justice! The cottage we stayed in (Quince Cottage) was perfectly placed at the foot of the Langeberg Mountains overlooking the valley. The house was incredibly well equipped - Alison and Bruce have made sure that absolutely everything you could need/want is at the house for you. Including a complimentary bottle of wine, chilled in the fridge! As promised on the website, we did not see a soul the entire weekend - just us, the birds, an occasional baboon in the distance and a few sheep grazing in our little garden area. We lit a fire in our "fire pit" got comfy on the outdoor furniture and star gazed for hours on end. I could talk all day about how incredible our stay was - thank you to Bruce, Alison and all the staff who made our stay so comfortable and memorable! I am already busy choosing dates for when we can come back and visit again! Many thanks again - Clair and Mark

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
2.0 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 25 in Robertson
366 reviews
13.0 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
9.8 mi away
De Hoop Cottages
De Hoop Cottages
#2 of 21 in Robertson
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Olive Garden Country Lodge
Olive Garden Country Lodge
#7 of 21 in Robertson
71 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
8.0 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 25 in Robertson
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierhoek Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierhoek Cottages

Property: Tierhoek Cottages
Address: Tierhoek | Noree, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Robertson
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, romantic, self-catering cottages nestled at the foot of the majestic Langeberg mountains near Robertson. Less then 2 hours from Cape Town you can find peace and privacy.Each cottage is fully equipped and elegantly furnished with a private pool, wide verandahs, indoor and outdoor fireplaces and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Tierhoek Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing