We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, quiet & relaxing - will visit again for sure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Die Laaitjie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robertson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Die Laaitjie
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, quiet & relaxing - will visit again for sure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

To start off, what awesome hosts!! Roger, thank you for the stories and for your help over the weekend - and what a weekend it was!!
11 ladies + one hen weekend + torrential rain = FUN GUARANTEED!
The weather was terrible - absolutely pouring buckets, which is not a common occurrence in this area - so all our plans for hiking & swimming went out the window... But let me just say, to 100% relax in such a beautiful part of the world, with only the sound of rain falling and a few brave birds chirping = absolute bliss! Give a group of girls a few bottles of wine, an awesome location and some torrential rain and we WILL make the most of it :D
We all had so much fun and can't wait to go back - this time to explore outside hopefully, I'm dying to hike to the waterfall :D

About the accommodation:
We shared the three 2 bed cottages that overlook the mountains. All are well furnished, with indoor and outdoor fireplaces (amazing indoor fireplaces - they were used a lot haha), each has a well stocked kitchen (just maybe bring a small roasting dish if you plan to use one) & the beds are extremely comfy!! Firewood is available to purchase at the main house, so if you run out of your own don't panic. If you're going during summer, I would advise to maybe take a large beach umbrella as the bamboo shading doesn't provide much protection from the sun... If you're going in winter - take gumboots with... Driving - as the road leading to the farm and the farm roads themselves are all gravel, its best to take a 4X4 if possible. We drove in a Polo and had to park at the top of the drive to avoid getting stuck (though in drier times it might have been fine to drive down...)
Perfect spot for families, romantic getaways and even time for yourself (one bed cottage in the mix). It's also the best place to catch up with friends you haven't seen in ages, especially when you're stuck indoors ;)

All in all, 100% definitely gong to visit again - regardless of the weather!
Loved every minute of our stay, thanks so much Roger & Bev - You have a gem in Die Laaitjie!!
Jeni G

Room Tip: Cottage no.3 has the larger kitchen so could function as the "main" cottage if you are ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeniJube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rheinberg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

For those who are looking for a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of the big city, Die Laaitjie is the perfect place. Situated in the mountains, you really appreciate the quietness of the surroundings. Everything you need is there, a well equipped kitchen, outside braai, pool and lots of space, both inside and outside.
The Main House is really perfect for large groups with plenty of sleeping place (8 people). I'd highly recommend Die Laaitjie for anyone needing to get away for a couple of days in beautiful surroundings.

A big thanks to Bev and Roger for making us feel so at home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nestled in the mountains just outside Robertson is an amazing guest lodge and chalets. We rented the Manor House which sleeps 4 couples in 4 amazing en-suite bedrooms with amazing scenic views. It is self catering and we had braais at night. There are two magnificent walks - one to the amazing waterfalls and another to the rock pools where you can take a picnic, bask in the sun and swim in the pools. There is no internet or cell phone access making it a real getaway. For those interested in wine tasting, it is a quick drive into the Robertson Valley with outstanding estates, none more so than the river cruise at Viljoensdrift. An amazing weekend - you can also hire chalets that sleep 4 in two bedrooms. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: 3 rooms have double beds and one with two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian5659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

After having visited three times to Die Laaitjie, I still haven't got enough! Worth a visit in both winter or summer with a pool, covered braai area and two indoor fire places.

Stayed in the manor house all three times. Decor is exquisite. Two kitchens which allowed for plenty of space for all of us staying there. Perfect place for R&R.

Bev and Roger the managers are also super friendly and will do anything to ensure a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarynElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at one of the cottages for the weekend. The farm is a distance from Robertson and has incredible views of the mountains and a gorge that you can walk to. The serenity of the cottages and the nearby swimming pool was wonderful. Roger and Bev made sure we had everything we needed and introduced us to Patches, the resident pet pig.

The cottages have everything you need, beautiful braai area, indoor fireplace, fully specced kitchen and two lovely airy bedrooms.

We will definitely be back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobynPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I enjoyed such a weekend away at Die Laaitjie with a bunch of friends we did not leave until the Monday instead of the Sunday afternoon. Actually we could have stayed the week, unfortunately they where booked full, if you have not experienced total bliss and tranquility Die Laaitjie is the place to visit. The cottages where extremely clean and well looked after and hot hot water all weekend long. I can't tell you how much we enjoyed the weekend you have to visit for yourself. The weekend was great value for money and can't wait to revisit Die Laaitjie soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

So much character and warmth in the most beautiful, spacious manor. All the bedrooms have the most beautiful views - Had such a great time and felt so at home. Boasting with the most beautiful walking trails! What a delight it was....we can hardly wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
0.0 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
0.0 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 23 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 23 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Randrivier Guest House
Randrivier Guest House
#11 of 23 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
The LemonTree House
The LemonTree House
#13 of 23 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Laaitjie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Laaitjie

Property: Die Laaitjie
Address: Dassieshoek Valley | Dassieshoek, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Robertson
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering accommodation on a beautiful fruit farm in the mountains outside Robertson. Four elegant, two double-bedroomed cottages, one single cottage, and a four double-bedroomed luxurious restored Victorian farmhouse. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing