We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for me...”

Fraai Uitzicht Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Robertson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
688 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Not for me...”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Unfortunately the food portions were very small and the service was very slow. The restaurant was busy, but I will not return.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kardoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    16
    9
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection!!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Fraai Uitzicht during a recent trip to South Africa. The warm welcome we received from Janine (manager) set the scene for a truly 2 night memorable stay. We we shown to our cottage and boy or boy what a class act this was - the highlight for me being one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Dinner that night was interupted by a power cut but this did not stop Sandra (owner and chef) serving up a truly splendid meal.

Being the only guests the following day gave us time to unwind in a really beautiful setting and this was enhanced when Carl (owner and Sandra's husband) invited us to sample his newly bottled wine - life just does not get much better.

Or does it? - our last night we decided to try the six course 'wine and dine' menu which again was cooked and presented with flair and imagination and was just perfection.

What can you say about Fraai Uitzicht - fantastic accomodation, food to die for and excellent service.

Would I go back? - you bet!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CHSAlnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vence, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb lunch!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The surroundings and location were stunning - views to die for; one would almost have accepted mediocre fare to just sit and soak up the view. BUT instead, a superbly cooked and presented lunch, a chance to try local specialities (Smoked Warthog Carpaccio, anyone?) and prepared and served with real flair and imagination. I knew we were heading further down the road to an overnight stay and Dinner already booked, but I couldn't resist going the whole "warthog" at Fraai Uitzicht: so yes, dessert AND cheese courses followed the Sprinkbok fillet....just lovely!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The welcoming sign as you drive in is not applicable to locals. Unless you're Swiss or German, don't bother going. The single most unwelcoming restaurant owner who clearly doesn't speak the local language and seemed to have instructed his staff also to only converse in English. Even after being informed that he, Herr Uwe, was most making us feel completely unwelcome and uncomfortable he did absolutely nothing to try and remedy the situation. In short, South Africans NOT welcome. Won't ever go back and will convince anyone of considering going to rather try Christina's at Van Loveren.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Arthur E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food with a view.”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Simply amazing food whilst enjoying views over the beautiful countryside. Food of the highest standard created by a chef with imagination and originality. The passion of the owners for their food and wines is infectious and we enjoyed some of the best food ever in their company.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fraai Uitzicht Restaurant also viewed

 
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Been to Fraai Uitzicht Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing