We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for lunch when passing through Robertson”
Review of Grand Cafe Robertson - CLOSED

Grand Cafe Robertson
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Diner, German, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place for lunch when passing through Robertson”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a capuccino and a cheesecake this morning when passing through Montagu.It was a little early for lunch.But the place looks really nice and the cheesecake is great.
Wendy uses all fresh and organic products and we also expirienced her cooking skills in the restaurant at the Four Oaks Guesthouse in Montagu, really excellent!
It is worth making a stop in Robertson!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Aukje G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonber123, Owner at Grand Cafe Robertson, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I so glad to read that you enjoyed your visit to the cafe and enjoyed the baked cheese cake.
We look forward to hosting you again when you are back in South Africa

Kind Regards
Simon & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    14
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Low key but excellent food. Great flavours in a small but diverse menu. Also selling local jams and preserves. Owner uses local, organic produce where possible. The chicken & mushroom pie and the lemon cheesecake were particular highlights. The salads are very fresh with baby leaves rather then lettuce. All deserts are home made. This enterprising couple have also recently taken on a local B&B which serves lunches and dinners. Reservations probably not required. A must if you're passing through Robertson. The waiter was very enthusiastic about his role and definitely sold us extra as a result.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonber123, Owner at Grand Cafe Robertson, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi Izzy21

Thank you for the great review, Its great to read that you enjoyed your meal and that Freddie look after you so well. We hope to see you at the Grand Cafe in the future

All the best
Simon & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taste bud tickler”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

As a regular visitor to Grand Cafe I highly recommend them to all passersby and locals in the area. One is always greeted by a friendly smile from the chef and the waiters. The food is extraordinary! A most definite try is the chefs specialty " Wendy's Creation" - my favourite. The food is well presented, after all, one does eat with ones eyes, but not only that, it tastes great and really does tickle the taste buds!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amorev_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonber123, Owner at Grand Cafe Robertson, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi

Thanks for the great review its great to know that we tempt people tastebuds
Look forward to seeing you soon at the Grand Cafe

Simon & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Graeme C”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A very comforting experience within a family run atmosphere. The delicious food was presented in a way which paved a route to a taste experience which was nothing below fine dining in the high street. A very friendly and relaxed environment a must stop for anyone who visits Robertson.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonber123, Owner at Grand Cafe Robertson, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Graeme

Thank you for the wonderful review we are so glad you enjoyed your meal at the cafe.
As I have said before for Wendy and I IT's About the food
hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Simon & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My 'home' from home!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I regularly visit Grand Cafe and know I can always be assured of very tasty meals served by friendly staff in a very relaxing atmosphere. Definately a must visit when in Robertson!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonber123, Owner at Grand Cafe Robertson, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi Bev

Thank you for the positive review. Wendy and I really enjoy your visits to our cafe. You always lighten up our days with your humour
We look forward to your next visit and to share another glass of wine with you.

Regards
Simon & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Cafe Robertson also viewed

 
Robertson, Western Cape
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing