We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh in the country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Robertson Small Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2010

How fabulous to get out of your car in 40 degrees, greeted by a friendly JD and staff, a glass with a spledid drink and a cold towel for your hands!!!! Bliss and then the room, must have been the most unique, yet comfortable room of all the guest housed we have visited, truly beautiful, spacious and calm. The hotel is friendly, relaxed and fun, they all have a good sense for humour and the most striking of it all, they are really keen to get it right and go out of their way. They are not scared to explore and try new things...and most of them work very well. Another bonus, close to a few very good vineyards, definiately worth a visit!!! I will go back....Thanks for great chats JD...

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasana084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 593 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2010

Everything they say in their web site is true. Extras - washing car and offering refreshments after check out. Loved the bank of sockets for international plug requirements at the side of each bed! Would have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamiltonliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

This place was fantastic - the decor was sumtuous and chic and the service was great. We were apprehensive about staying in a boutique hotel with a 12 month old baby but the staff at the Roberston were so helpful providing everything we needed for the little one - nothing was too much trouble. The fact that the baby monitor worked fine in Ruben's restautant was an added bonus and menat that we could enjoy a delicious meal whilst our baby slept soundly - bliss! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we'll certainly pay them another visit next time we're in SA.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

This was a highly comfortable hotel, high tech but unobtrusive. The huge bed, linen, furnishings, big bathroom, big wet room shower and towels were all of the highest standard. The food in their restaurant was good, at times outstanding. The menu was a bit limited, same menu for lunch and dinner so two days and you'd more or less had it. Most rooms face on to a long narrow pool and some rooms you can just flop into the common pool at the end of your deck. The staff are faultless and cannot do enough for you. They even washed my car every day unasked. The town of Robertson seems a safe area (None or very little electrified fences, barbed wire etc) has avenues of purple Jacaranda (hope that's the spelling) trees, has easy access to the wine and fruit growing industry. The trip up the river on a boat with wine-tasting and (buy your own) picnic sounds great but is a total rip-off - bad tempered lady behind the desk was very unhelpful. You must go to Montagu - a fair drive but worth it - to see the Ibis and other birds who sit in this tree near the middle of town and allow everyone to get up close and personal- almost. Another must-visit in same town is the dried fruit farm - well known in SA. You can't see the process but you can buy the products - recommend the dark choc dried fruit centred chocolates. I loved them - wife hated them - so that was good for me!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RestingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Impeccable service, beautifully appointed with all modern conveniences, fabulous staff. Lots of well-thought through special touches which did not go unnoticed. Certainly deserving of it's five stars. Breakfast (great presentation but no substance and inedible croissants!) and coffee disappointing, as was the restaurant for dinner - only the very best chef is worthy of operating there to match the incredibly high standards of the establishment. Reubens is not of that calibre in my view. Food over complicated.... please give me simple food well cooked. Let's hope The Small Hotel sets the standard for great accommodation in the more rural parts of the Western Cape.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifiCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Stayed at RSH for a weekend with a group of friends and it couldn’t have been more perfect. We stayed in the stable room which is the biggest room together with the pool rooms. Interior of the hotel and rooms is absolutely beautiful and luxurious, top of the range bed linen, DSTV, flat screens, beautiful bathrooms in white and grey marble, etc. The most discerning traveler couldn’t find fault here. The grounds and swimming pool are also very beautiful. It is perfect for a romantic weekend, or a fun weekend with friends. And Reuben’s restaurant doesn’t disappoint, especially with their own in-house baker. The bedrooms inside the main building are smaller and better value for money. Oh yes and the beautiful quaint wood paneled bar is perfect for a small gathering or just pre-dinner drinks. Robertson is lucky to finally have such a fabulous establishment. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocktailsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Henning S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
0.4 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
6.2 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
6.5 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 25 in Robertson
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
8.3 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 25 in Robertson
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robertson Small Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robertson Small Hotel

Address: 58 Van Reenen Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: $178 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robertson Small Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Robertson, a favourite tourist attraction spot that’s located along the longest wine route in the world, Route 62, resides the chicly quaint Robertson Small Hotel. The Robertson Small Hotel prides itself on its tranquil picturesque sceneries from the property's simple, yet contemporary architecture. This recently established boutique hotel comprises of ten luxurious guest suites, each rich with character and yet ever so modest making up the perfect home away from home. Clients' comfort and relaxation are of the utmost top priority, it should come as no surprise that each suite is furnished with a king size bed, minibar, and en-suite bathroom. These are just but a few of the standard perks that are accountable in bringing about a warm ambiance in this yet undiscovered haven. The Robertson Small Hotel provides luxury accommodation and fine cuisine all year round. The Small Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily with all bookings by appointment. There is seating both inside the Manor House and on the patio beside the hotel gardens. A classic menu with refined seasonal dishes elevating the best in local produce is served alongside choice wines from the valley. Rose Ashby of the esteemed Spring Restaurant at Somerset House in London wrote the new menu for The Small Restaurant with resident Head Chef Tiaan van Greunen. The pair scoured the valley to source the finest producers of local ingredients and designed the menu to offer simple, sophisticated and strictly seasonal Italian-inspired dishes. Welcome to The Robertson Small Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Robertson Small Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing