We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Travel Experience in the Western Cape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Robertson Small Hotel
Ranked #3 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have stayed the last 3 years at the Small Hotel and each visit they somehow get better and better. Not only are the rooms magically tended and refreshed with an amazing natural attention to detail. My first visit 2011 I met J.D. de Villiers who went far above the call of duty to make the stay embracing and special as well as many on the staff. It is certainly special when staff can so easily connect with guests and read them so well to help plan a wonderful experience. This visit to The Small Hotel for my husband's birthday, we awoke to the Ruben's blackboard changed to a birthday message and all throughout the day the staff was there with little niceties. When you find an accommodation that is world class with world class people working there and giving their all, it's easy to want to keep returning. It's one of my favorite places on the planet. I hope The Small Hotel will be on my list of places to visit again next year. It's a much needed escape from a year living in China.

Room Tip: If staying on a busy weekend, if you want to sleep late, you might request a room not so close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 582 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed there again and as always the setting, the people, the food, the accommodation was simply wonderful. Service was as always extraordinarily good made even better by the professionalism of all the staff but especially JD. Unobtrusive, wonderful concern for our well being. Nothing was too much trouble.......thank you so much to everybody there!

Room Tip: We loved our room but it was just a tad noisy....people walking up and down [Room 2] next time we ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Robertson Small Hotel is without any doubt our special jewel. This place wowed us for the second time. The balance between friendliness, down to earth and professional staff is perfect. We had a great time in the poolside room, having supper on the patio and relaxing throughout the day reading and having wine. The bedroom is excellent, the bed perfect and the bathroom to die for. We enjoyed long hot baths sucking up this luxury.

The only negative point we have is that the light wakes up up to early in the morning, blinds at the top windows would be nice.

Room service at the press of a button without complaints or excuses.

This is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaffRoelofse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I visited Cape Town recently to spend the big "70" with extended family. The family decided to take us to the Small Hotel, Robertson to celebrate the birthday. What a little gem this hotel is. Our room was extremely comfortable, well appointed and stylishly decorated. The staff were welcoming and extremely attentive throughout our stay. Both dinner and breakfast at Reubens restaurant were outstanding. This is a small luxury hotel the likes of which you would perhaps not expect to find in rural surroundings. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms opening out directly onto the pool would be a good choice for summer time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

From the moment of our arrival we were made to feel special when we were welcomed at the car with freshly squeezed fruit juice. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and what a beautiful classy establishment.

Room Tip: All look to be really comfortable, well equipped and well located. Those in the main building may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windflower0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I booked this hotel for my wife and I on our wedding anniversary. When I made the booking I specified the special occasion twice (over the phone and when confirming the reservation via e-mail). On arrival there was no mention of our wedding anniversary and was not acknowledged for the duration of our stay. The welcome letter in our room only mentioned my name and "partner" - a little poor considering I had sent them both our names in writing and these are the little touches one has come to expect from boutique 5 star hotels.
The hotel room was beautiful and immaculately kept as was the entire property, the grounds are very well maintained.
We had dinner in their restaurant, Reuben's and would rate the over all dining experience as very average. My soup arrived cold and when I sent it back it was simply re-heated and sent back, it had not been re-garnished and I suspect simply place in the microwave for re-heating. The rest of the meal was fine but considering I had sent a dish back to the kitchen one would think management would have come to the table but in fact we did not see a manager during the entire time we were in the restaurant.
We went to the bar for a Grappa after dinner and then went back to our room. My wife decided she wanted a second Grappa so I called reception to have one sent to the room only to have my call routed to an automated message service stating that reception was closed (this was at 22h45). This is unacceptable for any property with a 5 star rating - we were unable to get hold of anyone until the next morning, not sure what would happen if one had an emergency.
Breakfast was good. On check-out no one enquired as to whether we had enjoyed our stay - this is standard practise for every hotel check-out.
All in all very disappointing but the hotel itself is beautiful.

Room Tip: The pool suites are beautiful but not very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel19491955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRobertson, General Manager at The Robertson Small Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and review on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate this. We always strive to deliver the best experience and good service to our guests and better our service where we can when relevant. We have a policy in place for any special occasion and if all relevant details are filled out on our prior to arrival guest information sheet during the booking process, both persons name should have appeared on the welcome note unless we only received one name. We also prefer to have our guests name's written on our welcome note as this is much more personal and add to the attention to detail which is very important at The Robertson Small Hotel.
I also recall a mention regarding soup which could have been more spicy according to personal preference and not temperature of soup. If the soup was indeed cold the chef would have dished up a fresh bowl as we do not microwave guests cuisine in a world class restaurant and do not believe in reheating. The lady in the restaurant was indeed the duty manager. We love to keep our service and standards fresh and we therefor always compare feedback hence positive or negative after every service.
All our rooms do have a complimentary minibar for our guests enjoyment and if guests all retired to their rooms at night and past 22h00 hours the restaurant closes and our night porter is then on duty for any emergency during the night on the premises.
To ensure we keep our standards high our reservation system automatically sends out a review questionnaire after your stay to thank you for your support and request to kindly fill out the review specifically for constructive criticism which we never received regarding any of the mentioned concerns raised. Thanks for contributing in order to serve our guests better. Have a wonderful day and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Robertson is a 5* boutique hotel in the Breede River Valley. Guests are accommodated in 10 rooms and pampered by attentive staff. We stayed in the pool suites which give out on a large pool and are lavishly appointed. From check-in to departure in your freshly washed car you are well looked after, sleeping in extremely comfortable beds in large, well-appointed rooms. just to illustrate the level of service; Our room was made up 3 times a day.....There are 2 pools on the premises of which one quite large, so you won't find them too crowded. A bar tendered by Owen, who knows seemingly intuitively what you need and a small spa compete the "facilities": Limited, but sufficient. It is difficult to describe why, but the Robertson and its staff, despite being only 4 years old, manage to relax you and make you feel supremely comfortable. Our favorite hotel in the valley.....A word of caution though, the food at Reuben's, their in-house restaurant, was not up to scratch. The management is trying to fix that problem, though.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the pool suites. Most expensive, but definitely worth the premium. Try to avoid the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
6.2 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
6.5 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 25 in Robertson
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
5.8 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 25 in Robertson
146 reviews
8.3 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 25 in Robertson
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robertson Small Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robertson Small Hotel

Address: 58 Van Reenen Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: $187 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robertson Small Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Robertson, a favourite tourist attraction spot that’s located along the longest wine route in the world, Route 62, resides the chicly quaint Robertson Small Hotel. The Robertson Small Hotel prides itself on its tranquil picturesque sceneries from the property's simple, yet contemporary architecture. This recently established boutique hotel comprises of ten luxurious guest suites, each rich with character and yet ever so modest making up the perfect home away from home. Clients' comfort and relaxation are of the utmost top priority, it should come as no surprise that each suite is furnished with a king size bed, minibar, and en-suite bathroom. These are just but a few of the standard perks that are accountable in bringing about a warm ambiance in this yet undiscovered haven. The Robertson Small Hotel provides luxury accommodation and fine cuisine all year round. The Small Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily with all bookings by appointment. There is seating both inside the Manor House and on the patio beside the hotel gardens. A classic menu with refined seasonal dishes elevating the best in local produce is served alongside choice wines from the valley. Rose Ashby of the esteemed Spring Restaurant at Somerset House in London wrote the new menu for The Small Restaurant with resident Head Chef Tiaan van Greunen. The pair scoured the valley to source the finest producers of local ingredients and designed the menu to offer simple, sophisticated and strictly seasonal Italian-inspired dishes. Welcome to The Robertson Small Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your The Robertson Small Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing