We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Robertson Small Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Have just had our second stay at The Robertson Small Hotel
Wonderful welcome, superb service, simply delicious food, gorgeous room.
Loved every minute

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 609 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

Fellow hoteliers take note: these folk know their story. My fiance and myself were left breathless after a magical stay at this wonderful establishment.
Don't think twice if you are thinking about a romantic breakaway even if it's just for one night.
Oh and do book for dinner @ Rueben's, it's a must.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albert1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Well done to the staff of robertson small hotel that made our stay her one of the best ever for me and my wife. This was the 1st breakaway in 12 months for us,and what an awesome experience, nothing was to much for anyone. We stayed in a poolside suite, which was the best room in any hotel we stayed before. The food at Reubens also was AWESOME at dinner as well as breakfast - the attention to detail in the room was GREAT . This place is must for anybody that is thinking of where to stay in this area0 YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED. The managing couple Stef and Riaan are also great ambassadors for this establishment , ONCE AGIAN , WELL DONE AND KEEP IT UP

Room Tip: the pool suites are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steyn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

From being greeted by the friendliest staff to entering the manicured grounds of this hotel I can not think of one single detail missed by The Robertson Small Hotel. We booked two rooms and were treated like royalty. Dinner at Reuben's did not disappoint and the wine selection was tantalizing. The breakfast/brunch menu offered was of 5 star quality and the attention to detail was unlike anything I have ever seen. Being a world traveler who enjoy the finer things in life when going on vacation I can easily rate The RSH as one of the top 5 hotels visited world wide. A short drive from Cape Town International Airport, this hidden gem is too central not to visit. Surrounded by world class vineyards and breathtaking views, the town of Robertson offers hospitality you expect from a small town you "want to raise your children in". I am adding pictures from our stay at this oasis. *TIP, don't worry about arriving in a dirty car, even that is washed and polished to match the excellence of what The Robertson Small Hotel has to offer! Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite was worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingemey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Exceptional hotel. Definitely the nicest hotel that we stayed at on our South Africa holiday. We have 2 small children and they were well accommodated for. The food was out of this world- highly recommend the steak for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamianRoper1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We are 4 friends (women) that wanted to plan a trip somewhere we have not visited before. Staying in Cape Town region, we always pass through Robertson whenever we go on holidays. We read about The Robertson Small Hotel in magazines. As Rueben"s in Franschoek is known to us all, we knew he would not link his name to something that was not worth while. And how right we were. We shared the rooms that walks out on the pool, fantastic. The whole complex is beautiful, whichever rooms you choose. Breakfast and dinner was excellent. Staff very helful and friendly. One problem. Two days was not enough. With time spending visiting wine farms, we did not spend enought time in the hotel which has a wonderful relaxed atmosphere. We will definitely return.
Suzette

Room Tip: Pool rooms are spacious, although you can see in from the pool deck side, you can close the shutters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Location: situated on a quiet leafy street in virtually the centre of Robertson. Town appears quite nice and interesting. Walk from the hotel (just a few minutes) and it proved quite interesting to see a SA town.

Description: very large house with two rows of low-level motel-style modern rooms built directly onto each of the two pools. Several other rooms are contained within the main building.

Parking: secure within gated area at the rear of the building. When you arrive, park out front to check-in, then drive round to the rear.

Rooms: we booked a luxury room thinking it would be that. It was very nice, but was within the main building. This would have been fine, except it was Room 3 (refuse this!) beside the bar, which in itself was not noisy, but the front door opens onto a terrace which can be noisy. It is a luxury room. We were most disappointed and give the management their due, did offer to move us. We stayed where we were as only a one night stop. Room 3 is not large.........don't take it.
When questioned "what happened to our luxury room"...we were told that the pool side rooms (nice for romantics) were more expensive. Therefore,..when it comes to this hotel,..'luxury' means the cheapest rooms! Bizarre!

Facilities: 2 pools, appeared cold and saw no one swimming in them. Restaurant very nice and part of the main building. The kitchen is open and you can see into it from your seat. Book a table by the windows. The food quality was very good. Breakfast excellent also. Parking as described. No grounds to walk in.

Staff: very nice

Summary: Not a cheap option but a nice place if you wanted to stay in the centre of Robertson. Not sure the pool-side rooms would be worth the money.

Room Tip: Do NOT take Room 3!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
6.2 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
0.4 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
6.5 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 25 in Robertson
148 reviews
8.3 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 25 in Robertson
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robertson Small Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robertson Small Hotel

Address: 58 Van Reenen Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: $180 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robertson Small Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Robertson, a favourite tourist attraction spot that’s located along the longest wine route in the world, Route 62, resides the chicly quaint Robertson Small Hotel. The Robertson Small Hotel prides itself on its tranquil picturesque sceneries from the property's simple, yet contemporary architecture. This recently established boutique hotel comprises of ten luxurious guest suites, each rich with character and yet ever so modest making up the perfect home away from home. Clients' comfort and relaxation are of the utmost top priority, it should come as no surprise that each suite is furnished with a king size bed, minibar, and en-suite bathroom. These are just but a few of the standard perks that are accountable in bringing about a warm ambiance in this yet undiscovered haven. The Robertson Small Hotel provides luxury accommodation and fine cuisine all year round. The Small Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily with all bookings by appointment. There is seating both inside the Manor House and on the patio beside the hotel gardens. A classic menu with refined seasonal dishes elevating the best in local produce is served alongside choice wines from the valley. Rose Ashby of the esteemed Spring Restaurant at Somerset House in London wrote the new menu for The Small Restaurant with resident Head Chef Tiaan van Greunen. The pair scoured the valley to source the finest producers of local ingredients and designed the menu to offer simple, sophisticated and strictly seasonal Italian-inspired dishes. Welcome to The Robertson Small Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Robertson Small Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing