We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superior country establishment with outstanding food and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Robertson Small Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A superior country establishment with outstanding food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Situated in the Cape Winelands, The Robertson Small Hotel is a tastefully-designed establishment with a standard of accommodation, food and service that, although expensive, exceeded our expectations. Our room was generously-sized and luxurious, with a large bathroom and a stoep facing onto one of two pools. The hotel's restaurant is a Rueben's Restaurant (of Franschhoek fame), and all the meals we ate there were outstanding. The staff are very helpful, without being intrusive. WiFi is free.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IkariaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    68
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
36
349
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife took me to Robertson Small hotel for my Birthday in July this year. The experience was amazing all-round. From the food, to the quality of the staff, to the decor and the bedroom. We will definitely be back for more!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

On a recent trip through the Western Cape to familiarise myself with new hotels (we are a tour operator based in Johannesburg) I decided to include this hotel in my itinerary! What a fantastic charming hotel I found in Robertson! The rooms are stunning, modern and very chic with all amenities one needs to enjoy time in the room! Pity it was still a bit winter and we could not make use of the pool!!!! The restaurant, conceptualised and overseen by one of South Africa's finests chefs, is fantastic - the food was really great and beautifully presented! The little Spa at the hotel is a also a nice treat! I could see that some of the international guests who were at the hotel, they enjoyed lying in the sun by the pool, and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet of the garden of this hotel! Wish I could have stayed longer too! Stay here for a few days, enjoy the surrounding winelands, the neighbouring towns ...and you will have some really relaxing days in an area that is probably sometimes overlooked! It is really worth your while!

Room Tip: The Pool suites are lovely, one walks out from the rooms private terrace straight into the pool....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife and I spent the last weekend at this wonderful small hotel. The establishment manages to achieve a feel of relaxed luxury through its quietly efficient staff and thoughtful service. The inside of the rooms are very well designed and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was a definite plus.

The one thing I would change is that the bed was very soft, and I did not sleep well on the first night.

Otherwise a great weekend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cape_Town_Is_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

One of those places, where actually each and every detail is just perfect. FRom a pillow menu to an excellent service, from a great style to stunning food. You pay a bit more for 5-star luxury, but here the value-for-money is perfect. Money well spent.
The pre-dinner snacks will give you a glance on how the dinner, designed by famous local chef Reuben Riffel will don to your taste buds.
This hotel upgrades the entire Robertson Wine Valley. I'll be back.

Room Tip: The four pool suites are great, especially in summer, when you can jump straight from your room into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dieter791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Fantastic little hotel with a very good restaurant, good service and friendly people. Fairly decent wifi (for a small South African town). Worth the visit.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jnel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were looking for a quiet one night getaway with comfort and good service - this matched perfectly. From the time we checked in I cannot fault anything. The service we got here was better than many of the 5* hotels I have stayed at before.

We staryed in one of the stable rooms. Huge room with modern fittings. Tv with satelite and DVD player, bar fridge etc. WIFI in the room was free with good signal. Ipod docking station as well. Nice verandah with coffee table overlooking a small pool. The bathroom was huge with underfloor heating and heated towel rails, walk in shower and all toiletries specially made for the hotel like lavender and olive oil shower gel.

That evening we dined on site at Reubens - WOW ! Great selection of food and wine with nice quiet ambience. Service was excellent and the whole evening was great. When we got back to our room there had been turndown service with a few small snacks in the middle of the bed - not that we needed it after such a great dinner.

No rush to checkout on Sunday morning - Brekkie was hot and cold with good selection of cold meats, cheeses and cereal. Hot brekkie made to order.

After checkout we made our way to the car to find that it had been rinsed of dew and dried off !! Definitely will be back again sometime soon !

Room Tip: Stable rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSteve44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
13.9 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
6.2 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 23 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
8.3 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.4 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robertson Small Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robertson Small Hotel

Property: The Robertson Small Hotel
Address: 58 Van Reenen Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robertson Small Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unsung jewel encapsulates outer-city hospitality at its most refined in an elegant boutique hotel which calls for an unhurried sojourn in the heart of the quaint town of Robertson.The Robertson Small Hotel’s family of three encapsulates the royal Victorian Manor House, a national monument built in 1909; suave yet relaxed Stable Suites and the serene Poolside Suites, flaunting a crisp cool sense of calm at the water’s edge. The same contrast of clean, natural hues and rich organic textures, silhouetted against a monochrome palette of French white, is integrated in ten luxury suites. Each of the spacious air-conditioned rooms is cocooned with its own unique celebration of modern design and fusion of eclectic yet comfortable furnishings. Enhancing The Robertson Small Hotel experience, the Manor House is home to a cosy bar lounge and a state-of-the-art wine cellar which lends a backdrop to the hotel’s signature restaurant, Reuben’s at the Robertson. Relax and revitalize body and soul with a pampering treatment at The Wellness Room.Fringed by manicured gardens and shimmering pools, The Robertson Small Hotel allows guests to relax and interact in a lavish milieu where unparalleled accommodation, a homely ambience and world-class cuisine come standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Robertson Small Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing