We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 24 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Loved everything about our visit. The setting is magnificient, the rooms lovely, the staff very helpful and the food was excellent. It is a bonus that it is a working farm and that one can wander about and observe its running and not feel that one is unwelcome. There is plenty to do and visit in the area but if you just want to relax and chill out, it is the perfect place. Many thanks to Carin for her warm hospitality and also to Emily.

Naomi and David Stern

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    63
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
212
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Ian and I stayed at Excelsior Wine Farm at the end of March 2013 and had a superb rest for three nights. The red wine harvest was in progress and we watched the grapes being handpicked in the enormous vineyards that surround the house, stretching as far as you can see. We also painted watercolours every day from the dam's embankment which gives a wonderful view over the estate's surrounding land towards mountains such as the Langeberg. For bird lovers you will spot various species on the dam water and view the horses, donkeys and aplacas that are kept in fields beside the farm. The big swimming pool with its surrounding deck is beautiful. Many other visitors were staying, a couple from Belgium and a married couple and their wedding guests arrived the day before we left. We are pensioners so appreciate the superb dinners that Carin Visser cooks for anyone who is too tired to go out at night. If you would like to see oil paintings I have done of the house and vineyards do go on to my website at Fine Art America.com which is elinor-fletcher.artistwebsites.com

Room Tip: The rooms with a verandah are attractive in the hot weather. They are at the back of the house but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elinor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in mid-March; our second visit. The welcome is friendly and service throughout is friendly, efficient and very helpful. The traditional building gives a good feeling of life on a wine estate, and the grounds are glorious. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable, and the bathrooms, which include walk-in showers, are practical. Three rooms at the back of the house, including ours, Dancing Duel, have private verandas - an ideal place to sit with a glass of wine. Home-cooked set meal dinners, including estate wines, are good and good value. The large pool deck provides fantastic views, and breakfast is served there in the mornings if you wish. Guests are at liberty to explore the vineyard; a golf buggy is provided to help you get around - great fun!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank judi_lomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreieich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have spent unfortunately only 1 night at this beautiful old house. We had prefered to stay longer. The setted menu was good, the wines excellent. Dont miss to create your own blend in the vinery. Ist real fun!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Imagine yourself arriving at a manor house on a wine estate surrounded by lush green lawns and a beautifully kept garden with big trees. You walk inside to find you've taken a step back in time, to a time when style, charm and sophistication were as common as ... well, breathing. You walk down a long passageway on wooden floors, surrounded by old world charm, and to either side of you is room after room. You suddenly feel part of a large family, a family of friends who enjoy the good things in life. Then you walk into your own room and you know that life's good. Then you go sit on the pool deck overlooking hectare upon hectare of green vineyard and fruit orchards and enjoy one of the estate's many excellent wines as the sun goes down. As the sun sets over the horizon you are called into the small but intimate and friendly dining room for a wonderful meal accompanied by more of that wine. And all the time Carin Visser, the guesthouse manager, is there to ensure that you never want to leave. After a good night's sleep and a refreshing shower you report for breakfast, on the pool deck. And suddenly you realise with a shock, you're only staying one night! Well, what's stopping you from coming back, you think in your sleeve. And we will!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are excellent. After all, you're only going to use them for sleeping and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our stay at Excelsior Manor exceeded our expectations. Which were high to begin with!
It started at arrival, when we hurried to the wine tasting, as it would close. Great wines, and what a view over the lake! At Excelsior you get to blend your own red, a nice twist and even better when we heard we would get our blends for free as we were staying at the manor.

The Manor is beautiful. Amazing views, great pool overlooking lush vines, mountains in the background. Inside is no less beautiful, with nice rooms, and comfortable beds. All in all, highly recommended indeed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimvanderleeuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent the last 2 days of our 16 day Road Trip along the Garden Route at Excelsior Wine Estate and it was a blast.

Location
-------------
- On the Garden Route
- Only 2 hours away from Cape Town Intl, which made it convenient for us to spend the last 2 days there
- Bontebok national park is only 55 minutes away, that offers great sighting of Bonteboks, Zebras, etc

Rooms
------------
- The room we stayed in (Evanthius) was large and spacious
- Superbly decorated, with great furniture
- The Bed was very comfortable and the sleep quality was brilliant
- Room also had a verandah with comfortable sofas and chairs

Facilities / Activities
-------------
- Excelsior is a wine estate, so a range of wine-related activities are available:
-- Wine tasting
-- Blending and bottling your own wine
-- Ride the Golf Cart around the Estate and check out the vines, tangerine trees, etc..
- Go on a river cruise and check out the farms, etc
- Have lunch/dinner at some other vineyards around

Service
----------
- The service was great even before we arrived at Excelsior!
- Very friendly and warm!
- Many thanks to Emily for making our stay a wonderful experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaverdyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
3.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
7.9 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
8.3 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 24 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
7.9 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
3.5 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Manor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Manor Guesthouse

Property: Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Address: C/O Excelsior Estate | R317 Robertson/Bonnievale, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Manor Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse, in the heart of the Robertson Wine Valley, is a Cape Revival manor built during the ostrich feather boom of the early 1900s. Having been recently lovingly restored to its former glory, it offers quiet luxury and personal hospitality. Set in a mature and graceful garden, with shady trees and fragrant roses, the Manor has nine homely bedrooms, with ensuite bathrooms, and exudes old world charm. Generous home cooked country breakfasts and delicious three course dinners are served in the traditional dining room or on the raised deck overlooking the swimming pool with a view over the vineyards to the Langeberg mountains. Excelsior is a working wine farm which has been in the de Wet family for 5 generations since 1859. Guests are invited to explore the 250 hectare farm either on foot or in the golf cart provided. There is a tasting centre, set on the picturesque dam, where guests are invited to try the range of Excelsior Wines and to blend their 'own creation'. Each of the nine unique luxury bedrooms at Excelsior Manor Guesthouse has a history linked to a famous thoroughbred or hackney horse that was previously bred on Excelsior Estate. All the rooms are ensuite and are equipped with the following:•Complimentary water, chocolates and a small bottle of local Muskadel•Towels •Hairdryer •Tea & coffee facility •Bathrobe & slippers •Bathroom amenities •Wireless internet connection is available in the lounge area •Clock radio/ alarm •International plugs Octavius - Octavius Caeser, the first thoroughbred sire introduced to Excelsior, was bought by Koos de Wet in 1873 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Excelsior Manor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing