We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scanner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 23 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scanner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

An absolutely fabulous getaway. THe manor house and furnishings exude charm and reminds one of a grand bygone era. Our hostess Carin was always attentive and helpful. There is much to do in the valley and many wonderful wine estates to visit. Excelsior itself has a very nice range of wines which we enjoyed every day we were there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stratford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    62
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
209
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Excelsior is a colonial home, I would like to live there. Parts are a bit eccentric , like all the old hats hanging about, which we ended up wearing one evening. Unique bathrooms and plumbing, all very wonderful. The owners are so kind and informative. The cook makes one type of meal in the evening, no choice but really fabulous. We used the piano also, no one minded. We had our breakfast by the pool, with the view over the vineyard and the lake, so beautiful. The staff so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We were lucky enough to be staying when the harvest happened, so we could stand out by the pool and watch the fascinating way the teams picked the grapes and threw them in the trailer, which went straight to the wine plant on site. Loved it all.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olive49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Great location, great accommodation, great food and Carin is such a welcoming host. Loved our room leading onto a balcony. The furnishings come with an interesting history of the family of ostrich farmers and winemakers. After a long trip from Knysna the excellent wine was most enjoyable. My favourite spot was sitting on the wooden deck looking over the dam to the mountains.

Room Tip: all rooms lead on to a balcony either at the front or rear of the manor house, the rooms at the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here in November 2011 and have to say it is one of the most relaxing tranquil places I have ever been. As soon as you walk into the house you feel welcome and chilled. The rooms have everything you could want and the pool area is heavenly looking out over the vines and mountains. We stayed 2 nights, eating one night at Excelsior and the other night in Robertson itself.
If you are travelling from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth as we were, you must stay here!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vence, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I knew the winery and owner from my work in the UK wine world but this was a purely pleasure trip and although the pics on the website make the Manor House look enchanting, the reality was so much more! An exquisitely furnished and appointed old Manor House, brimful of history and antiques and needless to say a heavenly and luxuriously large guest room with all the facilities you could ask for, yet still in keeping with the dignity of the place. Carin Visser, the hostess was relaxed and genuinely welcoming (you can tell when a fake smile wishes you good evening - non eof that here!) We settled into the room, then were offered some wine: but not just a glass on the terrace! No, the use of a golf buggy to explore the estate then a bottle of superbly quaffable Shiraz in a picnic basket with glasses, nibbles etc and a suggestion to wobble over to the Tasting Room terrace, a wooden platform on stilts overlooking the lake, the mountains, the birdlife and an amazing sunset. Wasn't the straightest of golf buggy driving back to the house for a friendly, relaxed and thoroughlty delicious and enjoyable supper. I could go on...but lets just say, WOW! On a future trip to SA, I would probably base myself there and go explore further, knowing that the Manor House when you get back each day is the most perfect and relaxing home from home

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Wine tasting of excellent wine including your own personal blending & bottling. Great venue, good honest food & a golf cart drive through the vineyards.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

Excelsior Manor Guesthouse was absolutely lovely. The gardens are beautifully kept, the pool is a sparkling reprieve from the heat, and the decor reminiscent of a time gone by. Carin Visser the hostess is a gem. She was friendly, helpful and very accomodating of our various requests. She was responsible for preparing some outstanding meals accompanied by their lovely estate wines. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay. We look forward to visiting again with our children.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
3.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
7.9 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
8.3 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 23 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 23 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
7.9 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
3.5 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 23 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Manor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Manor Guesthouse

Property: Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Address: C/O Excelsior Estate | R317 Robertson/Bonnievale, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Manor Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse, in the heart of the Robertson Wine Valley, is a Cape Revival manor built during the ostrich feather boom of the early 1900s. Having been recently lovingly restored to its former glory, it offers quiet luxury and personal hospitality. Set in a mature and graceful garden, with shady trees and fragrant roses, the Manor has nine homely bedrooms, with ensuite bathrooms, and exudes old world charm. Generous home cooked country breakfasts and delicious three course dinners are served in the traditional dining room or on the raised deck overlooking the swimming pool with a view over the vineyards to the Langeberg mountains. Excelsior is a working wine farm which has been in the de Wet family for 5 generations since 1859. Guests are invited to explore the 250 hectare farm either on foot or in the golf cart provided. There is a tasting centre, set on the picturesque dam, where guests are invited to try the range of Excelsior Wines and to blend their 'own creation'. Each of the nine unique luxury bedrooms at Excelsior Manor Guesthouse has a history linked to a famous thoroughbred or hackney horse that was previously bred on Excelsior Estate. All the rooms are ensuite and are equipped with the following:•Complimentary water, chocolates and a small bottle of local Muskadel•Towels •Hairdryer •Tea & coffee facility •Bathrobe & slippers •Bathroom amenities •Wireless internet connection is available in the lounge area •Clock radio/ alarm •International plugs Octavius - Octavius Caeser, the first thoroughbred sire introduced to Excelsior, was bought by Koos de Wet in 1873 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Manor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing