We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Robertson Backpackers
Reviewed January 14, 2011

What a place !!!!! I travel a lot. Sometimes with family and friends and sometimes alone.
The ONLY place to stay in this area is Robertson Backpackers.
Great service, clean rooms and really good value for money. Lynda and Kevin (travellers themselves) are the perfect hosts and their passion and experience are evident.
Try the river trip and wine tasting (arranged by the hosts). Brilliant.
I'll go nowhere else in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docd869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2011

WOW - This place is spotless clean... the staff are friendly, direct and well educated in the area. I highly recommend you plan to stay for min 3 days... there is lots to do... I wish we had more time.... River rafting, Wine farms, Awesome mountains surrounding... and such a great place to just rest and relax.... We are very impressed. Its a great pity there is not an exact replica of Robertson Backpackers in every town across the country. Keep us the super work owners Kevin and Lynda (Proves that owner run places are the best)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VespaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Stayed here with friends when it was 38 degress outside during the day, there is no AC or even a fans in the house so be prepared to BAKE at night. No screens on the windows either so if you open them you get eaten by mosquitoes.

Very helpfull staff, nice friedge full of drinks (but no water), reasonably fast internet and food is available at extra cost but it was just so SOOO hot at night we couldn't sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndabes, Owner at Robertson Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

I think Atlantanhaggis review to be rather unfair. It was unfortunate that he happened to stay in Robertson during a heat wave. We do not have AC as we are a Backpackers, charging backpacker rates. They must have being staying in the main house, where the rooms do not come standard with fans. Had he asked, he would have been provided with one.
He would have been paying between R100 – R140 pp sharing ( R200 single ). For an upgrade to the Garden en -suites, would only have cost him R175pp sharing and these rooms come standard with a fan ( heater in winter ).
Atlantanhaggis moved on to a B&B in Robertson and gave them a favourable crit. I hope he felt the extra R200-R290 pp justified a ceiling fan. For that price he could have found a B&B with AC.
With regards to the water - the tap water in Robertson is safe for drinking. We recycle, and do not believe that buying water in plastic bottles is eco-friendly – there is always plenty of ice available.
All the rooms have insect spray, should the mosquitoes become a problem.
I think Atlantanhaggis should be objective & compare apples with apples. We try and keep the prices down, to make it more affordable to backpackers. As our name states - this is clearly the market we are in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed in an en suite room facing the garden, very good bathroom, very clean and pretty spacious although no hanging space for clothes. For a backpackers we were very pleasantly surprised by the high standard.

An excellent web site, whether looking for horse riding, Breede River canoeing, walking or winetasting our hosts Kevin and Linda had the expertise to assist.

They run Breede River canoe trips along a very beautiful 10km stretch. This was expertly run by their guide Faraich who was very safe and informative of both hazards to avoid and the wildlife. I regretted not taking my waterproof camera. Faraich made this one of our best days of our three week trip.

Good secure parking.

Only one negative, their dogs presented little hazards which I managed put my foot in on both the lawn and the gravel drive.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgwdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Tatiana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinG1Cape, Owner at Robertson Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
5.6 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
0.7 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#2 of 25 in Robertson
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Lodge Guest House
Cedar Lodge Guest House
#11 of 25 in Robertson
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Randrivier Guest House
Randrivier Guest House
#12 of 25 in Robertson
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robertson Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robertson Backpackers

Address: 4 Dordrecht Avenue | on Route 62, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Robertson
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quite country backpackers situated in the town of Robertson.Our accommodation ranges from large dormitory and double rooms to luxury en-suite garden rooms. We have 3 communal lounges and a wonderful garden to enjoy so there is always a place to find a quite spot, so it never seems crowded. The kitchen is well equipped and meals may be ordered on request.We also offer River Rafting and Wine Tours which must be booked in advance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing