We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, warm hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
Ranked #8 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Champaign, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value, warm hosts”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

A brief but very enjoyable stay in a large, uniquely decorated room. We're sorry we weren't there on a night when the restaurant was open, but Balbina was a wonderful hostess and recommended a nice local restaurant for dinner. We loved having breakfast served on the patio right outside our room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kww_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    31
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
64
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2011

if you ever have the opportunity to visit robertson, our hosts at gubas de hoek were really extraordinary and made us feel right at home. balbina made sure we knew everything there is to know about the wine farms and the best places to see. what great people to meet! thank you guys and see you next year!

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank igoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

A great place with super friendly hosts and competent staff ! Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beejay80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2010

we stayed two nights at Gubas and found our hosts Balbel and Gunter to be very welcoming , the room was large and very comfortable , we also had secure parking for our car . Balbel was extremly helpful with our enquiries for eating out in Robertson and also planned a wonderful wine route for us around the local wineries , we had a fantastic day which , without her local knowledge , i am sure would not have been soo enjoyable . we woudl definelty reccommed anybody traveling the wine route to spend a day or two here as it was the best experience of our 4 days travel through the wine country .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Great place for couples who are travelling in the beautiful wine route. the managers are welcoming and helpful in advices. we had a great dinner that was cooked by the owner, who's a professional cheff. Elegant, clean and graceful. we've stayed there only for one night, but it turned out to be one of the best places we stayed in South Africa (probabely the best dinner we had!) enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IritTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
0.3 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
5.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
0.4 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#2 of 25 in Robertson
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Randrivier Guest House
Randrivier Guest House
#11 of 25 in Robertson
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
The LemonTree House
The LemonTree House
#12 of 25 in Robertson
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep

Property: GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
Address: 45 Reitz Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep is the place to meet eat and sleep in Robertson in the Cape Winelands, only 180 km from Cape Town. We're an eco-friendly and German owner managed guest house offering a fine dining cuisine. All guests have access to a self catering guest kitchen with a mobile braai, too. The stunning garden rooms have private terrace and the salt water rock pool invites for a swim. The car is parked save and with W-Lan you'll stay connected. We're located in Robertson closed to the golf course and about 50 award winning wine estates in the famous Robertson Wine Valley at the Route 62. More than a guest house - it is home. We're looking forward to see you there. Balbina and Gunther and our dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing