We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing food and lovely hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
Ranked #8 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here in February as a stop over from Kynsna back to Cape Town. We had a lovely time, a dip in the little pool, and Balbina and Gunther were wonderful hosts. The most incredible surprise was that one of the best meals we had in South Africa (and we had some meals!) was here!

Oh my gosh - Gunther is the most incredible chef. I would recommend staying here 100 times over!

Balbina was also wonderful helping us sort out our one year old. He was suffering from the heat a bit and she was so great with him. Only downside was that the rooms in the house, although large and lovely, are actually quite warm and due to the high ceilings and fans (no aircon) it is quite late in the evening before it cools down.

A lovely couple, and a lovely, very central guest house.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astridtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 132 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

A brief but very enjoyable stay in a large, uniquely decorated room. We're sorry we weren't there on a night when the restaurant was open, but Balbina was a wonderful hostess and recommended a nice local restaurant for dinner. We loved having breakfast served on the patio right outside our room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kww_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

if you ever have the opportunity to visit robertson, our hosts at gubas de hoek were really extraordinary and made us feel right at home. balbina made sure we knew everything there is to know about the wine farms and the best places to see. what great people to meet! thank you guys and see you next year!

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
Thank igoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

A great place with super friendly hosts and competent staff ! Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beejay80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

we stayed two nights at Gubas and found our hosts Balbel and Gunter to be very welcoming , the room was large and very comfortable , we also had secure parking for our car . Balbel was extremly helpful with our enquiries for eating out in Robertson and also planned a wonderful wine route for us around the local wineries , we had a fantastic day which , without her local knowledge , i am sure would not have been soo enjoyable . we woudl definelty reccommed anybody traveling the wine route to spend a day or two here as it was the best experience of our 4 days travel through the wine country .

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Great place for couples who are travelling in the beautiful wine route. the managers are welcoming and helpful in advices. we had a great dinner that was cooked by the owner, who's a professional cheff. Elegant, clean and graceful. we've stayed there only for one night, but it turned out to be one of the best places we stayed in South Africa (probabely the best dinner we had!) enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IritTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robertson hotels
5.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
0.2 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
7.0 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 25 in Robertson
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 25 in Robertson
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Oude Opstal
De Oude Opstal
#6 of 25 in Robertson
96 reviews
5.5 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 25 in Robertson
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep

Address: 45 Reitz Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: $84 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a guest house - it is home. Since 2005 GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep is the only eco-friendly, owner-managed guest house offering a fine dining cuisine, headed by a German master chef in the Robertson Wine Valley at the Route 62 on your way from Cape Town – Garden Route or vice versa. Enjoy a sundowner by the pool before the culinary feast will be served in the garden or in the stylish lounge. Guests have the choice between 2 self-catering units, as well as contemporary en-suite guest rooms with private terrace, where old-world charm meets modern comfort. (2 are wheel chair friendly) Local artist are exhibiting their art and the travelling masseur cares for body and soul. Klipdrift, Robertson Winery, Four Cousins, restaurants and shops are in walking distance. The Silwerstrand golf course, various hiking and biking trails and the Robertson Wine Route are only minutes away. With free WIFI you’ll stay connected and your car is parked safe. See you there! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing