We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lodge in beautiful Prince Albert”
Review of Karoo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karoo Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for one night in December on the way to Plettenburg Bay. I am sorry we did not book in for 2 or 3 nights. The town is delightful and so pretty and our hosts Elsabe and George and their daughter are very friendly and make you feel at home. George is an excellent cook and we had a delicious supper and breakfast. The rooms are very tastefully done and the grounds are very nice with a lovely pool to cool down in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 134 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed at Karoo Lodge for three nights in Dec 2013 and couldn't have been more comfortable or more satisfied with our choice. Elsabe and George are gracious hosts who went out of their way to make us welcome. The rooms are large, light, cool and very comfy with all mod cons. The gardens are an added extra and we woke every morning to the sound of bird calls and views of the beautiful gardens. A little oasis in the midst of the main road in Prince Albert.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Spent a night there this month. December 13. Excellent, rooms very large & comfortable & everything works!! Our hosts were very charming & made us feel very welcome. Their restaurant is great, I had the best chicken pie I have ever tasted, thank you George & Elsbeth, if we come back to Prince Albert you are top of our list. jenny Hermanus

Room Tip: Excellent choice in Prince Albert, highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veysey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Jenny,

Wow!! Your review is most pleasing and appreciated.
Thank you for kind words

George & Elsabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Karoo Lodge really knows what good customer service is. They were very accommodating, they adapted to our needs. They were even able to make me a vegetarian meal which was very tasty. They also had wireless internet which as very useful and convenient, especially since my colleagues and I were there on a business trip. I also found the staff to be very friendly and helpful . The room was very spacious and it offered both a bath and shower. It also had a very large bed. Overall a very comfortable and pleasant experience. I would definitely recommend it to anyone going to Prince Albert.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have desks or tables to work on, so if you are there for work and you would like to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Lene,

Thank you for your review from a business persons point of view.!

Your review is really appreciated as we do try to ensure our suites also to be felt "Business Person Friendly" other than only suitable for normal tourist.
Therefore the free WiFi and Desk Space with various types of electrical plug points that can serve the various electronic equipment.

Suite No 2 is the only suite at this moment that do not fulfill the expectation.

Thank you

George & Elsabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I only had one night at Karoo Lodge and found the hosts absolutely wonderful, they could not have been more helpful, and advised me not to drive over the Swartberg Pass the next morning due to weather conditions - thank you for that. The room was large and great value for money, and breakfast was great. Enjoyed my stay as brief as it was. Thank you all. Sandy

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Sandy,

Thank you for taking time to review Karoo Lodge and thank you for the opportunity to host.

The Swartberg Pass is a "Must" when traveling to or from Prince Albert and offer the traveler , other than beautiful scenery, also a geological insight into how this mountain had been formed at the time when India and Australia broke off from the then Gondwanaland.

Although the Pass drain very well and quick,and an amount of R17m having been spent over the past two years to upgrade the pass, it is still not advisable to drive this route during stormy weather.

Alternatively, the route (N12) via the gorge of the Meiringspoort offer different scenery and is a tarmac all the way.

A suggested drive from the Route 62 to Prince Albert and back to the Garden Route is to enter via Meiringspoort (N12) and return via the Swartberg Pass(R328) or in reverse.

George&Elsabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed for one night. Rooms are huge, and have a certain charm with varying decorations etc. Very clean and tidy, which is the main thing. Outside area was in need on some tlc, but you don't need to worry about this because the main garden area and pool is superb. We chose to eat in and ordered the Karoo neck of lamb, which George did a great job in cooking for us!
Great base for driving the local pass, well worth a trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Maurice,

Elsabe and I enjoyed reading your review.

The upkeep of 2.5 acre of garden is a continues operation and whilst there maybe a nook or two which require our attention at any one time, I can assure you that we do get to those places.

I had a walk through the garden this morning and what a wonderful sight.
Every tree covered in green and Apricots ready to be plucked. The garden bees, committed workers, are very busy harvesting their share

George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We loved it. The only reason why we did not rate the lodge as excellent is because we had no water pressure in the shower which means that we struggled to wash ourselves in a normal manner. Washing one's hair was definitely a NO NO. This is a pity because the bathroom itself was great and the room very spacious. We had a superb dinner in their cozy restaurant, chose the Karoo lamb as the main course which was simply delicious. As for our hosts, we could not have wished for warmer and friendly people. We will definitely go back but will make sure first that the water pressure is O.K.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christiane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Christiane

Thank you for your review

Both Elsabe and I are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Sorry about the water pressure but unfortunately that is a recurring municipal problem and beyond our control.
Living in a rural area such as Port Alfred, I am sure that you will understand.

Again our apologies

George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
1.0 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Onse Rus Guest House
Onse Rus Guest House
#6 of 20 in Prince Albert
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swartberg Hotel
Swartberg Hotel
#9 of 20 in Prince Albert
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Lodge

Address: 66 Church Street | P O Box 228, Prince Albert Municipality, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range: $63 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karoo Lodge Bed & Breakfast, Prince Albert, is situated Town Central and surrounded by a hectare (2.5 acres) of lush and tranquil garden with various established Grape Vines, Fruit - and Pecan Nut trees...more than 150 "Old World" fragrant rose bushes....Free WiFi.....Free onsite parking..... Free Breakfast.....Cool swimming pool......Four spacious (45sq m) suites with Lounge Area/Separate Dressing Area... Bathroom with separate shower and bath... Private Entrances off the garden.... One Standard Suite (30sqm) Bathroom with separate shower and bath. Separate Toilet....Private entrance off Pool Deck....All Suites with...Private Deck......King Bed/Twin Bed option...... Modern silent Air Conditioner and Ceiling Fan...... Coffee/tea making facilities......Under-counter Bar Fridge.(not stocked)......International Electric Plug Points....... Hotel Boutique TV Chanels including sport channels....Individual Solar/Electric Hot Water Supply. Fully Licensed in-house Restaurant and Cocktail Bar "At 66".....Serving...Karoo, Cape Traditional and Cape Malay (Halal) Cuisine..... Wide Estate Wine selection from Local, Little Karoo and Breede River Valley....Manicures by professionally trained personnel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Karoo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing