We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"All round lovely"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karoo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karoo Lodge
Ranked #6 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“"All round lovely"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Karoo Lodge really knows what good customer service is. They were very accommodating, they adapted to our needs. They were even able to make me a vegetarian meal which was very tasty. They also had wireless internet which as very useful and convenient, especially since my colleagues and I were there on a business trip. I also found the staff to be very friendly and helpful . The room was very spacious and it offered both a bath and shower. It also had a very large bed. Overall a very comfortable and pleasant experience. I would definitely recommend it to anyone going to Prince Albert.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have desks or tables to work on, so if you are there for work and you would like to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Lene,

Thank you for your review from a business persons point of view.!

Your review is really appreciated as we do try to ensure our suites also to be felt "Business Person Friendly" other than only suitable for normal tourist.
Therefore the free WiFi and Desk Space with various types of electrical plug points that can serve the various electronic equipment.

Suite No 2 is the only suite at this moment that do not fulfill the expectation.

Thank you

George & Elsabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    46
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
58
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I only had one night at Karoo Lodge and found the hosts absolutely wonderful, they could not have been more helpful, and advised me not to drive over the Swartberg Pass the next morning due to weather conditions - thank you for that. The room was large and great value for money, and breakfast was great. Enjoyed my stay as brief as it was. Thank you all. Sandy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Sandy,

Thank you for taking time to review Karoo Lodge and thank you for the opportunity to host.

The Swartberg Pass is a "Must" when traveling to or from Prince Albert and offer the traveler , other than beautiful scenery, also a geological insight into how this mountain had been formed at the time when India and Australia broke off from the then Gondwanaland.

Although the Pass drain very well and quick,and an amount of R17m having been spent over the past two years to upgrade the pass, it is still not advisable to drive this route during stormy weather.

Alternatively, the route (N12) via the gorge of the Meiringspoort offer different scenery and is a tarmac all the way.

A suggested drive from the Route 62 to Prince Albert and back to the Garden Route is to enter via Meiringspoort (N12) and return via the Swartberg Pass(R328) or in reverse.

George&Elsabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed for one night. Rooms are huge, and have a certain charm with varying decorations etc. Very clean and tidy, which is the main thing. Outside area was in need on some tlc, but you don't need to worry about this because the main garden area and pool is superb. We chose to eat in and ordered the Karoo neck of lamb, which George did a great job in cooking for us!
Great base for driving the local pass, well worth a trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Maurice,

Elsabe and I enjoyed reading your review.

The upkeep of 2.5 acre of garden is a continues operation and whilst there maybe a nook or two which require our attention at any one time, I can assure you that we do get to those places.

I had a walk through the garden this morning and what a wonderful sight.
Every tree covered in green and Apricots ready to be plucked. The garden bees, committed workers, are very busy harvesting their share

George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We loved it. The only reason why we did not rate the lodge as excellent is because we had no water pressure in the shower which means that we struggled to wash ourselves in a normal manner. Washing one's hair was definitely a NO NO. This is a pity because the bathroom itself was great and the room very spacious. We had a superb dinner in their cozy restaurant, chose the Karoo lamb as the main course which was simply delicious. As for our hosts, we could not have wished for warmer and friendly people. We will definitely go back but will make sure first that the water pressure is O.K.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank christiane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Christiane

Thank you for your review

Both Elsabe and I are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Sorry about the water pressure but unfortunately that is a recurring municipal problem and beyond our control.
Living in a rural area such as Port Alfred, I am sure that you will understand.

Again our apologies

George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorreesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I'm from the Western Cape and its the second time that I stay at the Karoo Lodge!! Perfect accommodation for anybody who need a good night rest and some good food. The rooms are in excellent condition. A great choice for a great stay!! I will definitely go back for a third time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 878Christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoolodge, Manager at Karoo Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Christel,

Thank you for your pleasant review.

Elsabe and I endeavor to retain the standard which we had set when we started Karoo Lodge B&B some 14 years ago and it is most welcome to be praised for our effort

Thank you!

George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a delightful 5 room lodge run by a family team headed by George the chef and including wife and daughter. The rooms are superb, great bed, creative but functional bathroom, private deck overlooking an olive grove. We decided to have dinner in (although there was at least one option in the small town) and were thrilled with the quality. George found some tuna for my vegetarian wife (the menu was otherwise for meat eaters only) and cooked it to her specifications. The wines were great. Breakfast was superb. And such good value! A real gem in what is a beautiful village with fabulous sunsets and close to the amazing Schwartberg pass.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HofH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Gee !!!

Great to be appreciated!

Thank you

George, Elsabe & Ragnhild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed in Prince Albert for one night with my family (including an almost 2 year old!). Karoo Lodge has been amazing: we were given a HUGE room with private varanda overlooking the garden - perfect if you want to enjoy a drink while keeping an eye on the little one. We asked for a cot to be put in our room, and they very kindly had it ready oln our arrival. I think the most important aspect of our stay was the lovely dinner at Karoo Lodge. Everything is home-made - and delicious! We felt a bit lazy in just staying in for dinner, but it was totally worth it as I remember this as the best dinner in South Africa!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iglook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prince Albert
11.9 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
#9 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Lodge

Property: Karoo Lodge
Address: 66 Church Street | P O Box 228, Prince Albert Municipality, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karoo Lodge Bed & Breakfast, Prince Albert, is situated Town Central and surrounded by a hectare (2.5 acres) of lush and tranquil garden with various established Grape Vines, Fruit - and Pecan Nut trees...more than 150 "Old World" fragrant rose bushes....Free WiFi.....Free onsite parking..... Free Breakfast.....Cool swimming pool......Four spacious (45sq m) suites with Lounge Area/Separate Dressing Area... Bathroom with separate shower and bath... Private Entrances off the garden.... One Standard Suite (30sqm) Bathroom with separate shower and bath. Separate Toilet....Private entrance off Pool Deck....All Suites with...Private Deck......King Bed/Twin Bed option...... Modern silent Air Conditioner and Ceiling Fan...... Coffee/tea making facilities......Under-counter Bar Fridge.(not stocked)......International Electric Plug Points....... Hotel Boutique TV Chanels including sport channels....Individual Solar/Electric Hot Water Supply. Fully Licensed in-house Restaurant and Cocktail Bar "At 66".....Serving...Karoo, Cape Traditional and Cape Malay (Halal) Cuisine..... Wide Estate Wine selection from Local, Little Karoo and Breede River Valley....Manicures by professionally trained personnel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Karoo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing