We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b&b in one of the most quaint towns in SA!”
Review of Karoo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karoo Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2012

George and Elsabie, this is a long overdue review! We visited last August and were welcomed very late at night by a charming Elsabie. They really do enjoy runnign this b&b and it shows in the accommodation. Beautifully furnished rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, luxurious and large beds, spacious bathrooms with a large bath and the best of South African hospitality. George is a rugby fanatic and were excited that 3 Sri Lankans were actually planning on going for the Boks v All Blacks Game. His knowledge of the game is as fantastic as his cooking. Do try his pudding 'junior ellis (sp?). If you are planning on driving through Swartberg Pass, Prince Albert is definitely a town to stop by and Karoo Lodge is great value for money.

Wish we had stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patchy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 136 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

We arrived at the Karoo Lodge in the late afternoon and were lucky to get the last available room that night.  It was a charming room and extremely spacious with all the usual facilities we have come to expect in South Africa.  The sprig of lavendar, on the bed, added a nice touch to the other little touches in the room.  As the guidebook says, the owners, George and Elsabe, are a fountain of knowledge about the area.  Elsabe, in particular, immediately put us at ease and we felt we had met her before.  There are not too many visitors from Canada that make it to this part of the world.
After a sumptuous breakfast and armed with great directions from George, we headed off to tackle the Swartberg Pass.  However, it was an adventure.  Our cheap rental car was not up to the challenge and we had to beat a retreat.  If we ever make it back to this part of the world we will arrive with a 4 x 4 and stay at the Karoo Lodge.  Thank you, George and Elsabe, for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadhusWithiPods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Lovely spacious garden, large, comfortable rooms, excellent food and wonderful hosts (George and Elsabe). George does the cooking and his evening meals are well worth sampling and very good value. He is also a mine of information and will even point out the planets and constellations in what is usually an amazingly clear sky. We chose Karoo Lodge because it appeared to offer better value than its many rivals in Prince Albert and found it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank TimW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I had one night here. It was fine. Rooms are clean and spacious. I ate dinner and had the included breakfast which were both good. Of all the places I stayed in the Western Cape, this one was the most "okay". Can't say anything bad, except that the wine list is pathetic. The owner's were friendly and appear to enjoy running the place which is always a good thing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsOnTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Prince Albert is a charming little town in the Karoo, gaining a reputation for fine restaurants. Karoo Lodge is a lovely b&b on the main Church Street. Run by a very friendly Afrikaner couple. Rooms are nicely furnished.and comfortable. The establishment also runs a restaurant named 66 Church St but was almost empty on the two nights we spent there. Breakfast is average and predictable. Two things most South African b&b's cant get right are coffee and fruit juice. Bland so-called filter coffee and awful, too sweet, blended, packaged juice from a supermarket. This in country that grows some of the best fruit in the world!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reddy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We arrived late and were warmly welcomed by Elsabe and George. The rooms were large, clean and inviting. There is a fridge for perishables, an amazing shower and large bath with smellies, and delicious food - locally sourced - all very welcome after a long day traveling. You could even have your nails done at the pool - which I would have done if there was more time The grounds are filled with fruit and nut trees and roses, and it was lovely to have a wander before getting back into the car. The mountain passes close by have spectacular views and I was again struck by just how diverse South Africa is, and just how much there is to see. Elsabe and George made us so welcome and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauljulieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Very friendly owner, guest house with a large fruit and vegetable garden and beautiful flowers. Delicious dinner (we can recommend the beef bobootie, karoo lamb neck and steak and very much) and very good service. Prince Albert is an idyllic place where time seems to stand still. It's a perfect place to relax.
If we'll visit this area again, we'll most definetely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
1 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swartberg Hotel
Swartberg Hotel
#9 of 20 in Prince Albert
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
#8 of 20 in Prince Albert
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#5 of 20 in Prince Albert
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Onse Rus Guest House
Onse Rus Guest House
#6 of 20 in Prince Albert
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Lodge

Address: 66 Church Street | P O Box 228, Prince Albert Municipality, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range: $72 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karoo Lodge Bed & Breakfast, Prince Albert, is situated Town Central and surrounded by a hectare (2.5 acres) of lush and tranquil garden with various established Grape Vines, Fruit - and Pecan Nut trees...more than 150 "Old World" fragrant rose bushes....Free WiFi.....Free onsite parking..... Free Breakfast.....Cool swimming pool......Four spacious (45sq m) suites with Lounge Area/Separate Dressing Area... Bathroom with separate shower and bath... Private Entrances off the garden.... One Standard Suite (30sqm) Bathroom with separate shower and bath. Separate Toilet....Private entrance off Pool Deck....All Suites with...Private Deck......King Bed/Twin Bed option...... Modern silent Air Conditioner and Ceiling Fan...... Coffee/tea making facilities......Under-counter Bar Fridge.(not stocked)......International Electric Plug Points....... Hotel Boutique TV Chanels including sport channels....Individual Solar/Electric Hot Water Supply. Fully Licensed in-house Restaurant and Cocktail Bar "At 66".....Serving...Karoo, Cape Traditional and Cape Malay (Halal) Cuisine..... Wide Estate Wine selection from Local, Little Karoo and Breede River Valley....Manicures by professionally trained personnel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Karoo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing