We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 6th year of visiting”
Review of Saxe-Coburg Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
Ranked #9 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Our 6th year of visiting”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

As wonderful as ever. Dick and Regina have a lovely guest house in this little town. It's always a must on our 6 week trip of South Africa each year. We usually stay for 5 or 6 nights in The Victoria Room and love every minute. The rooms in the lovely garden are perfect...large, comfortable beds, beautifully furnished ,quiet, birdsong all around, pool with plenty of sun beds, and everything else to make a perfect stay. There are plenty of places to visit around the area and the town has very good restaurants and some interesting shops....all within walking distance. Breakfasts on the terrace are excellent and Dick and Regina are the perfect hosts with lots of knowledge of South Africa and are so friendly and welcoming. We can't wait to stay again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    28
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
98
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Braunton , N. Devon, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our second visit to this delightful guest house. Prince Albert is a wonderful place to visit. Dick and Regina make you feel at home and very welcome. Breakfast is very sociable as the owners take time to introduce the guests to each other. Accommodation is lovely and set in a beautiful garden. Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We just love to stay over @ Saxe Coburg Lodge. We found the place in 2012 and came back twice. The hosts are friendly and entertaining, the cottages cozy and homely and the garden a real oasis in the desert. We love the breakfast - lots to choose from and served with a warm smile.
We'll be back for sure

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This will be our 3rd stay at Saxe Coburg. The property has a lovely garden and pool and our room, a pool room, has a massive terrace, bedroom, sitting room, small kitchen and bathroom. The owners are a delight and we feel like personal friends when we stay with them. The breakfast is good, served on the terrace of the main building where you are introduced to the other guest by name which makes for a very convivial meal. Prince Albert is a delight. There is not much there but it's like stepping back in time. It has several restaurants, The Gallerie being the best in our opinions.When we next visit S.A. we will almost certainly go to Prince Albert and stay at Saxe Coburg.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
328 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

At about $100 American dollars, we found the pool suite to be much more expensive than for similar accommodation (which has averaged $65) during our travels in ZA.

The pretty cottages are clean and the bed comfortable. There are mosquitos and of course no window screens, but mosquito netting over the bed. There is a lovely garden and pool. Security does not seem to be a huge issue in Prince Albert. The typical English breakfast was well prepared, as in all B&Bs here.

What would keep us from ever staying at the Saxe-Coburg Lodge again was the owner's extreme conservative political views and comments against humanity.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrrrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chippy44, Manager at Saxe-Coburg Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
The proof of our popularity is that , for over 20 years we have successfully run our guest house and our occupancy is high. Eighty percent of our guests return again & again.

If you like philosophical conversation then join us in lively discussions. We also love History specifically South African History. You will not be bored at Saxe-Coburg Lodge.

Yours sincerely
Dick and Regina Billiet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

More than anywhere else where I stayed, I felt that I was in a couple's home here. And what charming people. The rooms are at the end of the large garden, past the swimming pool, which makes for an excellent setting. Prince Albert is a lovely small place, with a very plesant air to it. I then went over the Swartberg Pass, then Cango Caves, Oudtshoorn, ostrich farm tour, Calitzdorp, Seweweekspoort Pass, Matjiesfontein

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Prince Albert is a a little gem in the Karoo and what a find in Saxe-Coberg Lodge ,it is situated in the central of the town ,within easy distance of all restaurants,pubs and shops,our garden cottage was was very comfortable ,with comfortable bed and quality linen,overlooking the well kept garden ,the breakfast was great ,as was our hosts ---Regina and Dick ,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johancapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.0 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Karoo Lodge
Karoo Lodge
#7 of 20 in Prince Albert
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Onse Rus Guest House
Onse Rus Guest House
#5 of 20 in Prince Albert
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxe-Coburg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxe-Coburg Lodge

Property: Saxe-Coburg Lodge
Address: 60 Church Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Centre of the village, this beautiful Victorian/Karoo house (circa 1865) invites you to experience true South African hospitality. 5 Luxury air-conditioned en-suite garden bedrooms & 1 cottage. With the convenience of satellite flat screen TV's, sep. Patios & entrances, tea trays, bar fridge, hairdryer, electric blankets, pure cotton linen. Swimming pool set in 1 acre of beautiful secluded garden with stunning views to the Swartberg Mountains.Free WiFi. We are keen hikers and know the surrounding mountain intimately. German and French spoken. Rates from R940.00 To R1280.00 Per room per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Saxe-Coburg Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing