We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Saxe-Coburg Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
Ranked #9 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We hadn't been to Prince Albert before but it turned out to be a great surprise. Saxe-Coburg is a lovely guest house run by the very friendly Dick and Regina. We had the pool suite which was extremely spacious and very peaceful. 3 days weren't really enough in this gem of a Karoo town. It was a joy to walk around with everyone passing the time of day-a lovely atmosphere. There were many houses with interesting traditional architecture and it was worth a town walk just to see the decorated waste bins!
We had a 'once in every 5 year' storm whilst we were there and the main road became a river as there are no storm drains. The huge garden to Saxe-Coburg was like a giant paddling pool. made even more impressive as Dick had flooded the garden the same day by emptying his water tank!
Fruit farms,wine estates, the incredible Swartberg pass coupled with wonderful Karoo scenery make this place a must if you never visited before.

Room Tip: Probably all good as they are in the back garden. We had the pool suite which was very spacious.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Saxe-Coburg Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 141 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived to Prince Albert after drive from Cape Town in pouring rain feeling jaded. Our spirits lifted immediately when we saw the garden and were invited to tea and cake by Regina and Dick.
Both give impression that they LOVE having people in their lodge.They are keen to hear about guests and happily talk about their own interests. The lodge is generously equipped with sun loungers, chairs and tables on patios . Sumptuos breakfast is served on verandah.The hosts introduce guests to one another so there is a party ambiance and information exchanged about the best places to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottishMyszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

my short stay at the Saxe-Coburg was a treat! Looking at the front, you cant believe that it stretches way back in a huge, tranquil garden. My room was at the end of the garden, with every little added touch to make my stay easy and comfortable. Dick and Regina make you feel so welcome, and breakfast was a delight on the patio. Prince Albert is a small country town, with a gem offering at every turn. There are galleries, little craft shops, and great restaurants. This was my first stay at Saxe-Coburg, although I have visited Prince Albert a few times, and it gets better and better every time!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendsanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Nice B&B in this sleepy town which is efficiently being run by Regina and Dick Billiet for over the last 17 years. All rooms have a patio and are well situated in a big garden which also contains a small pool. Enough deck chairs are available to relax under the shade of the trees which we needed with 42ºC and no clouds to be seen. Rooms and suites have everything one needs for a short stay and they are nice and clean. Dick prepares a good and tasty breakfast. One of the best price-quality lodges that we have visited during our 3 weeks stay in the Western Cape.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lex195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

On arrival for our 3 night stay after a disappointing stay at Lord Millner, we thought we would be bored stiff after 30 minutes in Prince A but we were not. The small town grew on us: there are lovely walks, excellent food, a good atmosphere, great views a stunning pass, good art work which we bought and nice people. We found plenty to do during our three day stay

The B&B was very nice, clean and well run by professionals who tried hard and delivered. After travelling for two weeks we had a lot of washing. Regina arranged for all our clothes to be washed and even had them ironed and the charge made probably barely paid for the electricity used.

The only negative was when the owners dog decided to defecate next to me when I was sunbathing on the lawn. This is something non dog owners find difficult adjusting to.

Very close to an excellent grading but then I am a hard marker

max

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the honeymoon suite, was like visiting your mother in law, everything pine wood and filled with bric a brac, am sure alot of people wouldnt mind, would have liked to have a garden cottage, they looked cute but we arrived too late. Location excellent, everything walkable, the steak house across the road was authentic and fun but dont expect haute cuisine. Sleepy town with less to do than expected...regina and dick were lovely and friendly hosts...stay here but opt for the cottages...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patek1518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippy90, Owner at Saxe-Coburg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Patek

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you find Prince Albert boring and nothing to do for young people. I am sure lots of young people will disagree with you as our guests( lots of them young), return year after year. As to our Honeymoon suite being all pine decor we would like to point out the following: The King size four poster bed is custom made from 130 year old Oregon pine with matching side tables and TV cabinet manufactured from same. One antique dresser +- 150 year old (satin wood) one antique wardrobe 110 year old (satin wood) one coffee table (yellow wood).
Upholstered wing back chair and upholstered two- seater couch. Numerous picture reproductions on walls (Manet, Degas, Da Vinci, Modigliano). Beautiful roman style bathroom with corner Jacuzzi bath and large separate shower. The suite has the usual four star accoutrements: fridge,air conditioning, tea and coffee tray, safe, complimentary sherry etc.
We are proud of our guest house. Honeymooners and mother in laws love it. Regards Dick and Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We prebooked Saxe-Coburg for a one night stay in Prince Albert and we were certainly not disappointed. Rooms were spacious and extremely well appointed. Regina and Dick were most genial hosts and assisted with plenty of information. Their garden is beautiful to relax in and the pool was most welcome after the heat of the day. The breakfast spread was excellent. One slight criticism was that I felt that I was rushed at breakfast, had barely sat at the table when I was asked how I wanted my eggs and as I took the last mouthful of cereals and fruit the main course arrived. I was on holiday and was wanting a leisurely breakfast instead it all came one after the other. If passing through again would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.0 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Swartberg Hotel
Swartberg Hotel
#8 of 20 in Prince Albert
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Onse Rus Guest House
Onse Rus Guest House
#6 of 20 in Prince Albert
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxe-Coburg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxe-Coburg Lodge

Address: 60 Church Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range: $68 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saxe-Coburg Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Centre of the village, this beautiful Victorian/Karoo house (circa 1865) invites you to experience true South African hospitality. 5 Luxury air-conditioned en-suite garden bedrooms & 1 cottage. With the convenience of satellite flat screen TV's, sep. Patios & entrances, tea trays, bar fridge, hairdryer, electric blankets, pure cotton linen. Swimming pool set in 1 acre of beautiful secluded garden with stunning views to the Swartberg Mountains.Free WiFi. We are keen hikers and know the surrounding mountain intimately. German and French spoken. Rates from R940.00 To R1280.00 Per room per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Saxe-Coburg Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing