We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely town to visit”
Review of Saxe-Coburg Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
Ranked #9 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg KZN Natal South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely town to visit”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had a very nice suite in the garden with a kitchenette, lounge, bedroom and shower en suite. The en suite was a little on the small side but the other rooms were spacious and beautifully furnished with a mosquito net over the double bed. Off street parking for the car is a great plus. Dinner in a lovely restaurant close by called The Gallery. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobnob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    28
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
98
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is an extraordinary place. The garden rooms are like suites with their own lounges and kitchenettes and lovely bathrooms with patios leading onto the beautiful garden. The owners are charming and helpful and the breakfast excellent. Prince Albert is worth a detour on the marvelous R62 back or from Capetown . It is an old well preserved Karoo town with original buildings. Since there is a spring from the mountains everything is green like an oasis in the middle of hte desert. The restaurant at the Gallery is really world class and inexpensive with friendly charming owners who do everything to help you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our fourth visit to Saxe- Coburg and another wonderful stay. We had The Victoria Room again which we love, with its four poster extremely comfortable bed. We usually stay for 4 nights in Prince Albert on our 6 week trip of SA each year. Its a great little town with good restaurants and lots of walks, galleries to explore etc. We spend quite a lot of our time relaxing in the large garden or sitting on the terrace watching the bird life which is perfect.
Dick and Regina are a charming couple and do everything they can to make your stay an enjoyable one. They have excellent knowledge of the area.
We find it more difficult each year to plan our holiday as we have stayed in such lovely guest houses in South Africa but Saxe-Coburg will always be on our list.
Thank you again and look forward to seeing you both next year ( and also "Chippy - the dog")

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton , N. Devon, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent three nights in this lovely place, even then we found it hard to tear ourselves away. The rooms are set in a beautiful garden and are beautifully furnished with all the amenities that you could wish for. Dick and Regina are lovely people, very hospitable and informative. We enjoyed our leisurely breakfasts on the patio, where we met our fellow guests and chatted to Dick and Regina. Prince Albert is a stunning little town, ideal for a relaxing stay. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Very nice place. Clean, good quality, friendly helpful service. Nice breakfast. Worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Spent 1 night here en route to Cape Town, and was delighted with the lodge, the rooms, careful period detail and our hosts Dick and Regina. Stunning breakfast on the patio and every comfort in the 2-bed cottage which I and a friend used.
Value for money outstanding. Recommended unhesitatingly. The town of Prince Albert is a gem of Victoriana. The whole property is wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furryneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Spent 2 nights in the poolsuite which was very comfortable. Dick and Regina were hospitable and the breakfast was good. Lovely garden. The only thing is that Prince Albert shuts down at 2pm on a Saturday.

Room Tip: Pool Suite has small kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20141125dvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.6 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karoo Lodge
Karoo Lodge
#7 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Onse Rus Guest House
Onse Rus Guest House
#5 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxe-Coburg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxe-Coburg Lodge

Property: Saxe-Coburg Lodge
Address: 60 Church Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Centre of the village, this beautiful Victorian/Karoo house (circa 1865) invites you to experience true South African hospitality. 5 Luxury air-conditioned en-suite garden bedrooms & 1 cottage. With the convenience of satellite flat screen TV's, sep. Patios & entrances, tea trays, bar fridge, hairdryer, electric blankets, pure cotton linen. Swimming pool set in 1 acre of beautiful secluded garden with stunning views to the Swartberg Mountains.Free WiFi. We are keen hikers and know the surrounding mountain intimately. German and French spoken. Rates from R940.00 To R1280.00 Per room per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Saxe-Coburg Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing