We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Find”
Review of Saxe-Coburg Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
Ranked #9 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent three nights in this lovely place, even then we found it hard to tear ourselves away. The rooms are set in a beautiful garden and are beautifully furnished with all the amenities that you could wish for. Dick and Regina are lovely people, very hospitable and informative. We enjoyed our leisurely breakfasts on the patio, where we met our fellow guests and chatted to Dick and Regina. Prince Albert is a stunning little town, ideal for a relaxing stay. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Saxe-Coburg Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

Very nice place. Clean, good quality, friendly helpful service. Nice breakfast. Worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Spent 1 night here en route to Cape Town, and was delighted with the lodge, the rooms, careful period detail and our hosts Dick and Regina. Stunning breakfast on the patio and every comfort in the 2-bed cottage which I and a friend used.
Value for money outstanding. Recommended unhesitatingly. The town of Prince Albert is a gem of Victoriana. The whole property is wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furryneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Spent 2 nights in the poolsuite which was very comfortable. Dick and Regina were hospitable and the breakfast was good. Lovely garden. The only thing is that Prince Albert shuts down at 2pm on a Saturday.

Room Tip: Pool Suite has small kitchenette.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20141125dvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Our second visit to Saxe Coburg Lodge and it's just as perfect. Lovely rooms, lovely garden, super pool, friendly informative hosts, substantial breakfast, nice dogs. What more can I say.
PERFECTION!!!

Room Tip: The pool suite and pool room are the same price so choose the suite it's bigger but all the room...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We treated ourselves to a return stay at Saxe-Coburg Lodge - as before we had a wonderful time in the beautiful garden, luxurious rooms but most of all the welcome of the hosts Dick and Regina is what the place shines at. The breakfasts are long and relaxing with both of them taking time to chat to guests. We were very sorry to leave after 3 nights and look forwards to our next stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchpoodle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We arrived in Prince Albert without a booking because that's the way we like to travel. It was almost 7:00 pm when we rang the bell at the Saxe-Coburg Lodge and I was surprised that no one came to the door. There was a note that the owners stay in a cottage at the back, so that helped to explain why we were greeted by a voice on the intercom.

I asked if they had a room for two people for one night and learned that there was a vacancy in a room with a king-sized bed. At no time did the owner ask us to wait while he came to the door to speak with us.

I told him the room would suit us and asked the price. I had already decided not to stay because of his apparent lack of interest, and though the room was clearly within our price range, I told him it wasn't as an excuse to leave. If he didn't have the courtesy to come to the door, I wasn't interested in giving him any business.

We made our way to the Karoo Lodge and found the hospitality we were seeking, and then some! By the time we left the next morning, we felt like long time friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank SadhusWithiPods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippy90, Owner at Saxe-Coburg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear SadhusWithiPods

We apologize for your inconvenience and would like to explain. Our note on the door says: ” We live in the Cottage in the garden” and not as you stated in the back of the house. Our Garden is 200m long and it takes about 5 minutes to get to the front door.

All our booked guests had previously arrived and we did not expect any more guests so late in the evening. So we retired.

After inquiring about our tariff on the intercom you departed.

We are glad you where be able to secure a wonderful room at the Karoo Lodge in the late afternoon and wish you a happy holiday.

Regards
Regina and Richard Billiet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.0 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Swartberg Hotel
Swartberg Hotel
#8 of 20 in Prince Albert
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Onse Rus Guest House
Onse Rus Guest House
#6 of 20 in Prince Albert
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxe-Coburg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxe-Coburg Lodge

Address: 60 Church Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range: $69 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saxe-Coburg Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Centre of the village, this beautiful Victorian/Karoo house (circa 1865) invites you to experience true South African hospitality. 5 Luxury air-conditioned en-suite garden bedrooms & 1 cottage. With the convenience of satellite flat screen TV's, sep. Patios & entrances, tea trays, bar fridge, hairdryer, electric blankets, pure cotton linen. Swimming pool set in 1 acre of beautiful secluded garden with stunning views to the Swartberg Mountains.Free WiFi. We are keen hikers and know the surrounding mountain intimately. German and French spoken. Rates from R940.00 To R1280.00 Per room per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Saxe-Coburg Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing