We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad, but true”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Onse Rus Guest House
Ranked #6 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We booked one night - friendly service & welcome, but the room smelled like a combination of mildew and thatch and we knew we would not sleep well (we are quite well-travelled but not super-fussy). With no other rooms available we moved to the lovely Dennehof and were much happier [-]. The owner of Onse Rus handled the change very graciously, for which we were grateful. There was no off-street parking available at Onse Rus and it faces onto the main street so could be noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Itchyfeet6224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 113 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had a lovely stay with Gail at Onse Rus. Her breakfasts are fabulous and were enjoyed by the whole family. We had interleading rooms, which are both spacious, but kept the fans on at night to drive away mosquitoes. The rooms had limited wardrobe space but this was ok as our stay was short. We had the place 2 ourselves for the first 2 nights and loved the pool as temperatures were 35 degrees and above, during our visit.

We loved visiting the wine farm, sampling the beautiful nectarines and figs that are grown in the area and most of all the historical tour of the town, at dusk, provided by one of the local tour guide who is also one of the school teachers. She injected the tourwith humorous anecdotes and this meant that we had to go and visit the museum the next day to see some of the items that she had mentioned.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetravel090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

What a little gem! Lisa and her team welcomed us and we fell in love with this charming guesthouse. Lisa's taste in decorating the rooms is evident and the decor really adds to the style and comfort. The little added extras made it so memorable. It was lovely to escape the heat of the Karoo in the shade of the gazebo by the pool - the chocolate cake was a cherry on top. We love Prince Albert: the spirit of the people and the other-wordly feeling of tranquility. But we would never stay anywhere other than Onse Rus.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ_SAlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Onserus - what a stunning place to stay. We stayed there for 5 nights including Christmas with my daughter who is 3, my husband and my parents in law. I could not ask for a better place to have stayed. The breakfast every morning was awesome and Jana truly made the experience memorable. Lisa was very helpful in booking us dinners at all the stunning local restaurants and helping us to see Prince Albert and the surrounds. The pool was great on those hot Karoo days and we had a wonderful time in Prince overall. I will definitely stay here again without question (and I am very fussy). I fell in love with Prince Albert and Onserus.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencechee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We have good memories at Onse Rus and especially Lisa the host/owner from previous visits. At our last stay we have seen less of Lisa and her spirit which makes the difference. Onse Rus is a beautiful location in the hart of Prince Albert, in our view it could be special when that something extra is back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

This is one place that you must stay! The welcome is as warm as you could possibly wish, the accommodation is first class - and fascinating, the breakfast is as good as you can possibly expect. We only stayed for one night but we will be back - and back - and back!! Lisa sent us some superb directions for us to drive from Boulders Beach to Prince Albert (via the Swartburg Pass). Lisa pointed us to a wonderful and very reasonably priced eating place for our evening meal. The whole experience based around Onse Rus was DELIGHTFUL. You must not miss staying at Onse Rus!! Please go there as soon and as often as you can!! It really is that good!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BamboosNorthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We had a three day stay in this lovely guesthouse and the time spent was more than worth it. This is a traditional, listed Karoo house with thatched roof and wooden floors. The place is kept spotless and you are instantly made welcome by Lisa or Di, her mother, who provide you with delicious home made cake on arrival and every afternoon. There is a tranquil garden with shady seating and a refreshingly deep and cool small pool - important as it can get very hot in the Klein Karoo in the summer months.

There are some great eateries in this lovely little town and I would particularly recommend The Gallery, The Karoo Kombuis and , if it is open, (ask Lisa to book) The Olive Branch where you will get a true gourmet experience for about £12 a head.
There is lots to do in the area, besides a trip up/down the Swartburg Pass ( unsealed road - take care). See if Lisa can book the resident story-teller, Ailsa Tudhope to come to the Guesthouse to entertain you with her fascinating stories. Lisa may also be able to book you in for a morning at John Begg's farm where a real enthusiast will tell you all about the local bushmen, show you artifacts collected by him and his wife and take you on a scramble up a nearby gorge to show you the bushman paintings he has discovered.

Above all be sure to stay more than one night at this excellent guesthouse or you will live to regret it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pejayHolmfirthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.7 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#5 of 20 in Prince Albert
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Swartberg Hotel
Swartberg Hotel
#9 of 20 in Prince Albert
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travellers Rest Prince Albert
Travellers Rest Prince Albert
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onse Rus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onse Rus Guest House

Address: 47 Church Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range: $78 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Onse Rus Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will immediately feel at home as you slow down to the relaxed pace of country life and take time to experience simple beauty, the attention to detail, the small unexplained things, the dogs the cat the ducks and the horses - the odd shaped rooms - the garden with quirky stone men - the warm and inviting lounge leading onto a large shaded garden with swimming pool, bedrooms with French doors and shutters opening into the garden - the harshness of the Karoo that gives you grace in the evening and gentleness in the morning. Our guest accommodation and facilities are separate from our own, affording our guests a level of privacy not normally associated with a guesthouse. We accept credit cards (Visa and MasterCard only) and guests are most welcome to use the Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Onse Rus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing