We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Karoo family experience”
other traveler has booked this property
1. front house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1. front house
swimming pool comfortable lounge with fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
1. front house
swimming pool
comfortable lounge with fireplace
kitchen in the house
barbecue at night
view from the barbecue
en suite bathroom
main bedroom with king-size bed and en suite bathroom
twin bedroom
garden and house seen from our dam
outside shower near swimming pool and cottage
kitchen from the cottage
bath in cottage
king-size bed in cottage
From Koppie, Prince Albert
windmill and sunset
game at nearby Weltevrede farm
Prince Albert in spring
horses
Swartbergpass, paradise for cyclists
incredible sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ferreira9...
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic Karoo family experience”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our stay at exceeded all our expectations. We were heartily welcomed by Yolande, who showed us the house. It was spacious with extremely comfortable beds and decorations were of good taste. The kitchen is fully equipped, has an abundance of utensils and a dishwasher. The veranda and braai facilities provide the ideal outdoor sitting to relax in fresh Karoo air.

Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madels_88
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cancellation Request Corrospondence”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I have booked accommodation with 85 On Church for the dates 8&9 April. I have since then had some unexpected family business that needs to be attended to on 8&9 April and have requested to cancel the booking, 3 weeks prior to our arrival. I have read the cancellation policy and are aware and quite happy with the fact that there will be some of the deposit will be lost. I am also part time in the Guesthouse industry so I understand this completely. Mari Claire who does all correspondence from abroad via email confirmed to me that i will be falling in the 2 weeks notice category of loosing 60% op my deposit. I have communicated via email that I am unhappy about this seeing that the cancellation policy only makes provision for the 1 month prior to arrival cancellation (30% loss deposit) or 2 weeks prior to arrival cancellation (60% loss of deposit). I requested her twice via email if it would be possible to recalculate the refund seeing that i was only one week short of a 1 month prior to arrival cancellation period and 1 week to early for the 2 weeks prior to arrival cancellation. Some or other way there must be some exception in instances like this. AFTER SEVERAL EMAILS NO FEEDBACK AS OF YET. I am sure that my requests are being ignored, because bookings can only be made via email, nothing directly via telephone at the guesthouse.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
We sent emails to this guest on the 16 and the 22nd of March asking for her bank details to which we did not get a response till later and the refund was done with notification to her at 3 weeks cancellation on the 23rd. The proof was emailed to her so I have no idea what she is on about! I can forward you all our correspondence should you so wish as proof.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagdaBekk...
Centurion
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Self Catering Accomodation fit for royalty!”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a gem in the lovely town of Prins Albert! Self catering - but so well set-up. Friendly service, great people and a lovely place to stay. We rented the house and the cottage as we were a group of friends that came to Prins Albert for a wedding. Love the rustic feel of the wooden floors and coal stove in the kitchen. When we come back for a visit - we will definitely stay here again!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett U
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Everything you need for a great stay in a peaceful Karoo town”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house is located in the centre of town, so everything is close by and you can walk / cycle from the front door. The house has everything one needs for a short or long stay. We were a group of 7 and there was plenty of room in the house and small cottage out back. Beautiful garden with pool. Well stocked kitchen allows for easy self-catering. Rooms are large and most are en-suite. The only thing missing we felt was electric blankets (it has been a cold winter), although there are wall heaters and a gas heater which kept the house warm.

We have stayed at the house before and will stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy-Lyn...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A True delight, enough said!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This treasure of a home in Prince Albert was the perfect stopover needed before we embarked on fieldwork in the Swartberg. The price was right, the beds plentiful and I have never come across such a marvelously equipped kitchen for a self catering house before, it had everything and more! Fiona was a most gracious host, even letting one of our party who fell ill during the night to rest up at the house the following day while we were busy in the mountains for the morning. Thank you, thank you, we were in awe :D

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen! Packed full of old farmlife memories and every amenity. Four frying pans!
Liked least: Squeaky floorboards but it definitely added to the charm of the whole house :)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangoclow...
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal family rental home”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The house was comfortable and perfect for our needs with a lovely garden, pool and braai area. What more could one need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool and garden
Liked least: no washing facilities. i.e. washing machine locked away
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefkruge...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad Attitude by Manageress”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The manageress has a very unethical and poor customer relationship skills - definitely not interested in dealing with problems or building a customer base.

On entering the house we were almost immediately overwhelmed by the smell and lack of ventilation, due to the house being locked up for some time. Surely, when receiving a guest, ventilating the house on the day of arrival would be standard practice.

Added to the above, we found that the lack of cleanliness(bedding, netting, windows sills) to be poor. The bedding had stains of lipstick and other spatters – definitely not up to standard of a 3 Star Tourism Graded Establishment.

After a long trip, the last thing any guest wants to do is get to their destination of rest and not feel comfortable to sleep there due to the above and then be forced to look for alternative.

Added to we were not met to be checked in and make sure that all was to satisfactory conditions.

On taking this up with the manageress (via telephone), it was our understanding that a refund would be issued - which has been ignored to date and we have been accused of having high standards!

If being clean is having high standards then we are guilty!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and Pool
Liked least: Bad attitude by manageress
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing