We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate artistic treat!”
Review of Villa Kruger

Villa Kruger
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hennie Boshoff, acclaimed artist and curator, conducts on most evenings what is called a magical show tour of Villa Kruger, the Art House and Sculpture Garden (featuring archetypes from the Tarot) that he created, assisted by Rossetta Woolf and Isak Williams. As the tours start at sunset the time varies according to the season, lasting approximately 90 minutes. Entrance fee is R200 p.p. Bookings must be made in advance by SMS or email. It is possible to visit the gardens during the daytime at R50 p.p. by contacting Isak Williams during office hours or Rossetta Woolf at weekends after 11am. Important note: these visits do not include entrance to the Art House and will not be conducted by Hennie Boshoff.No visit to Prince Albert will be complete without viewing the stunning and controversial drums outside the Thusong Centre, which Boshoff and his team created.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Intimate artistic treat!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent a wonderful couple of hours exploring incredible artworks in and around this magical house overlooking the village of Prince Albert in the Karoo dusk. What really made it special though is the fact that we got to do so in the enchanting company of Hennie and Rosetta, who played a hand in bringing them all to life, in partnership with other artists around the world. To understand the stories and people behind art is a privilege and adds so much colour to the experience. Such opportunities are rare, and this is one thing in Prince Albert that shouldn't be missed!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank evandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
2 reviews
“A one-off, once in a Lifetime experience”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went on our first and last trip to attend the annual Olive Festival in PRINCE ALBERT. Be forewarned and if you ever plan this picturesque part of the GREAT KAROO, do not go during the last week in April. The whole town is resembles a flea market, and doesn't know precisely what it is.It is costly too. WHAT an awesome experience it was to come across this amazing show-tour, which is not part of the Festival, but open at other times. The acme of our trip.That you so much to Hennie and his beautiful partner, whose work features in both the garden and the house, Rosetta Woolf.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, South Africa
1 review
“A disgrace”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I went with my wife to see what all the to see what was going on in this Villa Kruger,and too start with the disrespect comes by calling his place after the very important State President, Paul Kruger,who must turn in his grave at the mockery. But that is only the start.Some call it a teater show,they must mean farce.Withiut any shame Mnr Boshoff shows off his obscene paintings, witch includes naked people and even those fornicating.He mocks everything that is precious too us, including blasphemy.He spent a long time overseas, where this kind of thing goes on.But not here, please!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KoosKarooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Villa Kruger - sheer magic”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I atended one of these gigs as the artist Hennie Boshoff is now calling the tours. Because it is more of a performance than a traditional tour. He has called the project of his pilgrimage to South Africa Toorkuns: which means bewitching through art. A mystical, magical mystery tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marais55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some superlative reviews”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We travel tremendously. The crowning moment of our trip to the Republic of South Africa was this theatre show, what the curator calls a Living Museum. The tour exceeded the expectations that we read from other reviewers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuala T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Kruger also viewed

Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 

Been to Villa Kruger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing