We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place, perfect to treat yourself for a weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karoo View Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay very much! The detail and finishes of the cottages are top class! Friendly staff, awesome views of the town and surroundings! The outside stoep is great for sitting, eating, reading books and drinking wine. A lot of extras are included which makes these cottages even more exceptional

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stilletox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Karoo View Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 113 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent a weekend at KAROO VIEW COTTAGES with friends in March 2013.
The Cottages are outstanding , large self contained with all you require , a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable Lounge, and wonderful patio to sit on and look at the mountains while you sip some CAPE GRAPE JUICE !!!!!!!!!! There is an inter leading door to the cottages for families.
A small boma gives you a great outdoors feeling for the traditional braai, also a small plunge pool to cool off in.
The whole property is very well maintained and clean !
A great place for that LAZY WEEKEND!!!!!

Room Tip: Both sets of cottages have a good view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OUTOFAFRICA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I travel a lot in the Western Cape, and I have never found such luxury within this price range. It ticks all the boxes for my liking - friendly, spotlessly clean, spacious, pretty quiet - and then the little extras... The (freshly) ground coffee and the espresso-percolator was the kicker! Just superb.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The most relaxing break away if have ever been on. The surroundings are beautiful with a lovely view from the patio. The accommodation is exceptionally spacious; it was clean and serviced daily and the attention to detail is absolutely amazing. Everyday they replenish the stock of milk, cereal, muesli, rusks and biscuits. They really have thought about absolutely everything. Some of the many highlights - the large fireplace in each suite; the tranquil surrounds; the veggie tunnel guests have free access to; the supply of a braai basket on request and the hosts advice on where to eat and what to see. I really cannot think of any negative aspects.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellex_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

You won't find so much space in a cottage that easily. It's very cleverly done and the equipment is outstanding. We just drove by and luckily we could have a cottage for one night. AND THE VEGGIE TUNNEL!!!!!!!!!!! How original! We took some herbs out of it. Altogether a wonderful spot.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Froukje v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Karoo View Cottages for the second time this year and were just as happy as the first time that we stayed in this wonderful place. The cottages are beautifully clean and well equipped and attention to even the smallest detail is evident in all the things that are on offer. Richard is most helpful and the good thing to see is that ongoing maintenance is being done to all the cottages. We will always choose Karoo View Cottages when in Prince Albert. Thank you for a great visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good and the view from all units is virtually the same.We have stayed in d...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalynneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

One of the nicest self-catering cottages we have ever stayed in. The decor is beautiful and every tiny detail has been thought of - it's almost better than being at home. The cottages are in a stunning setting - set slightly up the hill overlooking the town of Prince Albert and the mountains beyond. We enjoyed our dinner and a glass of wine on our patio, taking in the view. Richard and Julie were both wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make us comfortable. We can't recommend Karoo View Cottages highly enough. Try it, you won't be disappointed. P.S. While in Prince Albert give the Lazy Lizard and the Gallery Restaurant a try.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.4 mi away
Swartberg Hotel
Swartberg Hotel
#8 of 20 in Prince Albert
173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karoo Lodge
Karoo Lodge
#7 of 20 in Prince Albert
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travellers Rest Prince Albert
Travellers Rest Prince Albert
#5 of 20 in Prince Albert
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo View Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo View Cottages

Address: Magrieta Prinsloo Road, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Prince Albert
Price Range: $77 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karoo View Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to our child, wheelchair & pet friendly 4 Star, AA Superior Self-Catering Accommodation. Luxurious yet married with “home from home" comforts, magnificent views overlooking the Swartberg Mountains yet within safe & easy walking distance into the village of Prince Albert only 350m away in the Karoo, Western Cape of South Africa & only 2 hours from the Garden Route. If you are dreaming of wide open vistas, spectacular views, peace, tranquility, sun rises, sun sets & clear starry nights, birding, nature, cycling, hiking or biking we would love to share our special Karoo View Cottages & 3 Bedroom Guest House with you. Our complimentary Home Comforts include the following for our guest’s convenience: • * Welcome sherry & gift pack including interesting information of what there is to see & do in the area • * Health breakfast supplies; 2 cereals, home baked Muesli & Rusks, fresh farm milk, assortment of tea & coffee including coffee grounds for plungers & mocha pots – all replenished daily • * Kitchens stocked with; salt, pepper, toothpicks, biodegradable detergent, spray n cook, serviettes & paper towels, dishwashing swabs & towels, emergency lamps • * Bathroom amenities including Shampoo, Conditioner, Hand Wash, Body Lotion, Soap, Mosquito repellent & Lotions as well as special Bathroom Emergency Pack, Hair dryer, Coat hangers • * Daily servicing & replenishing of the above at no additional cost • * Free self-service laundry including biodegradable detergent & car, cycle or bike washing or alternatively 1 of our friendly staff will gladly do at a nominal cost • * Indoor fireplaces of cottages & House are stocked with firewood & blitz – during the winter months • * Outdoor braai areas stocked with firewood & blitz – all replenished daily • * Unlimited WiFi at no cost. Excellent Cell phone reception • * DSTV Hospitality package including all Sports Channels • * Air-conditioners with heating & cooling in all 4 cottages, 3 bedrooms of House including kitchen • * Wall Heaters in all 4 cottage bathrooms • * Complimentary herbs & vegetables from our organic tunnel, season dependent, please check first • * We will gladly do grocery or refreshment shopping for ease of convenience upon arrival • * Guests are welcome to use our 2 Mountain Bikes at no additional cost Cottages and House are fully equipped with the following: • * Choice of EL King or EL single beds / Twins – Cottages. Double beds & Single beds - House • * En-suite bathrooms with either a bath & Twin Vanities or Walk in Shower • * Poly Cotton Percale Bed linen, 100% Cotton Throws, all weather Duvet & Pillow Inners, Electric Blankets • * Bath Sheets, Hand Towels, Swimming Towels, Mossie nets, Bath Robes, Hair Dryers, Trigger Showers, Electric Shaver points • * Full sized fully equipped kitchens; 4 plate hobs & ovens, microwaves, kettles, toasters, snack which makers including everything to “cook up a storm”, no need to bring anything • * Safe, secure undercover off street parking at cottage front doors & close to the house • * Plunge pool for cottages & private pool at the House Guests are welcome in the cottages for 1 night or more & even though we do prefer a minimum of a 2 night stay in the house we try to be flexible at the time depending on other bookings Children of all ages are welcome Socialised pets allowed by prior arrangement 2 Cottages endorsed for being Wheel-chair friendly, including an off road wheelchair path to the boma 2 Cottages are side by side with double inter-leading doors for convenience for families & friends sharing Braai baskets are available to order prior to arrival at an additional cost Description of our 4 spacious modern fully equipped Karoo cottages: Each of the 4 Cottages are 72sqm with double volume reed ceilings & open plan sleeping, living & dining area in keeping with the Karoo & allowing for the magnificent views from inside & out En-suite bathrooms Full sized fully equipped kitchens Private Stoeps, which lead down into the natural Karoo Gardens Private Entrances Safe secure undercover off street parking at the front doors Description of our Karoo View House: The open plan layout of the house boasts beautiful double volume natural reed ceilings throughout, thus being cool in summer and warm in winter, mock sash windows providing beautiful views in every direction & with North & South facing stoeps which lead off the main living areas. Fully equipped large open plan Kitchen: Smeg 5 Plate gas stove & electric oven, microwave, kettle, toaster, coffee machine, coffee plunger Large fridge with freezer capacity, ice trays, filtered water on-tap & stand-alone water filter Dishwasher, Washing Machine, Crockery, glassware, cutlery, pots, pans, egg boiler, blender, hot tray etc Emergency basket, recycle bins, thus providing all your “home from home” comforts for entertaining Air Conditioner & Hot Art fireplace Bedroom 1: Sleeps 3 Double bed & single bed Lounge area in front of large log fireplace Air-con with remote heating & cooling En-suite bathroom with large walk-in “his & hers” shower, double travertine vanities, wall heater, trigger shower, int. shaver point, leads out to private outdoor shower & garden Walk-in dressing room Opens onto north facing stoep with endless views over the Karoo plains Bedroom 2: Sleeps 3 Double bed & single bed in loft Sitting area in front of log fireplace Air-con with remote heating & cooling En-suite bathroom with shower Leads onto north facing stoep with endless views over the Karoo plains Bedroom No 3: / Private Stoep Suite is 50sqm & sleeps 1 - 5: Private outside entrance offering a spacious en-suite bedroom with beautiful double volume natural reed ceilings thus being cool in summer and warm in winter and mock sash windows providing beautiful views Double bed & single bed & vanity Double STD sleeper couch in living area Air-con with remote heating & cooling En-suite fully tiled bathroom with walk-in shower & bath Including 50sqm south facing enclosed stoep, with lounge & dining areas & large sliding glass windows with magical views overlooking the village of Prince Albert & the Swartberg – same views as cottages Fully equipped self-catering Kitchenette with fridge & freezer, convection microwave, mini oven, 2 plate cooker & induction plate, coffee plunger, toaster, egg boiler, wok, webber braai, crockery, cutlery, glassware, pots & pans, braai grids & tongs Private outdoor braai area North Stoep: Measures 50sqm, overlooks the natural Karoo plains for 100km’s, built-in braai, bar area, pool, enclosed private garden, dining area & lounge area. South Stoep: Measures 50sqm, overlooks the village of Prince Albert & the Swartberg, relaxing lounge area Parking & Security: Safe, covered, off street parking close to the house Property is fully fenced & the house has an alarm with 24 hour arm response Julie & Richard Waterston KAROO VIEW - PRINCE ALBERT – CENTRAL KAROO - WESTERN CAPE – SOUTH AFRICA Look forward to welcoming you to share & experience our True Karoo Destination - Karoo View “the name says it all” In the middle of nowhere, close to everywhere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Karoo View Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing